We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price, but be aware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
APA Hotel Karuizawa Ekimae Karuizawaso
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location and price, but be aware”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you just need a place to crash, this is probably one of the best ones in the area. The train station is right in front of it, and there is a huge outlet mall within walking distance. Parking is usually included and it's convenient for road trippers too (not sure when it's busy though). There is a restaurant on-site and the breakfast there was pretty good (buffet that has both Japanese and non-Japanese food). Rooms are kept pretty clean and hotel staff was polite as well.

One thing to keep in mind that this is not an American hotel chain; meaning that rooms are rather small and their "double beds" are not really for two people (well, if we talk about the American standard). I strongly recommend that you check before making your reservation.

For those who stay for the first time: I think they give away a free ticket for late check-out. With this ticket, you can extend your check-out time by one hour for free. So I actually used it and checked out at 12 at no cost (check-out time is 11am otherwise). I don't know if this is some type of special offer during a slow period, but I thought I'd share.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building (新館) is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    93
    80
    28
    25
See reviews for
61
85
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It was the worst value for our 2 week stay in Japan. The staff were aloof and not very friendly.
My overall rating is due to the fact that it was the most expensive hotel we stayed in. It was the kind of hotel that had no facilities for sitting down and talking to other guests. It had a drinks dispenser in the lobby and nothing else. The place was soulless.
The rooms were small and again were very poor value for the price they charged.
The hotel did not cater for non Japanese speakers. All instructions were in Japanese and no English channels on the TV.
Another aspect I found disturbing and somewhat insulting is that the hotel demanded payment on arrival.
Overall not a very satisfactory experience. We would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The hotel is near the railway station but is far from the centre of Karuizawa. Find ahotel in the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClonmelCorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

For foreign visitor, staying near JR Station is more convenient. The hotel is next to the JR Karuizawa Station and also bus stops. The famous large factory outlet is just at the other side of JR Station.
I stayed (solo) 2 nights there on weekday with two buffet breakfasts (have Japanese and. Western choices) and one 5 courses dinner set that only costs Yen 16500. It really good value for money and the cost will be 40% higher in weekends.
The facilities are appropriate, having TV set, fridge and free WiFi access. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is the type of hotel where the regular travellers will term as "business hotel", and its very near to the Karuizawa train station.
Hotel and rooms are very clean, rooms are of course small (this is Japan) but efficiently laid out.There is a large shopping complex south of the train station and its a less than 10 minute stroll from the hotel. North of the train station are some eateries and restaurants. North of the hotel is a lake and its good for morning or evening walk to de stress, especially if you are here for business.
There is a very large ski area short distance from this hotel. In summary this hotel is located in a very strategic location in Karuizawa.
The only "complain" is the breakfast is somewhat plain, but its healthy!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wong1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location - 2 min walk from the train station and about 5-10 mins from the outlets. Room was extremely small, however for the price and location - I wasn't complaining. Note - after 7pm the town is very quiet - so book a dinner reservation around 530/6 or catch the train somewhere. Nagano is a short train ride away. Overall the hotel was fine and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpandsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Chanced upon this hotel's official website and found out price was half cheaper than the usual online booking portals. Location is very near to Karuizawa train station, from north exit it's about 2 mins walk (hotel building can be seen from station). It's located right next to the tracks, but surprisingly I didnt notice the noise throughout 2 nights stay. English level here is below average, so any tourist queries will be tricky. But the usual checkin/out and hotel questions, it's ok. Seems there are 2 blocks/wings here, I stayed in the main wing where the reception was. The laundromat, microwave oven, etc. is in the next wing which seems to be newer though. Our semi-double bedroom is really small, hardly space for 2 persons to walk by at a time. Bearable considering its price is 3 times cheaper than the popular Prince hotel / ski resort. Heating is centralized and can be quite hot throughout, most of time we opened the windows. Noticed other rooms opened the room doors for more ventilation too. Free wifi is provided at hotel lobby.

Karuizawa is a sleepy winter town, most of everything closes at 7pm, even restaurants. So after the daily skiing ends at 5pm, it's rush hour for factory outlet shopping and dining. There's a good tourist info office at the train station, so all queries about the town can be addressed there.

There are free shuttle buses at the south exit bus station to ie. one goes to/fro main ski resort / prince hotel east and another goes to/fro the quieter far east ski area at regular intervals.

Room Tip: Choose the north facing window view, if worried about railway noise else south facing view is the ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

It is near to the JR Karuizawa station and Ohga Hall. You can also buy the bus ticket to Tokyo in the hotel. Room is small but clean. There is also complimentary internet in the room.
Staff can speak little bit of English.
Nothing much to do in Karuizawa after 6pm.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karuizawa-machi hotels
1.3 mi away
Chisun Inn Karuizawa
Chisun Inn Karuizawa
#11 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karuizawa Prince Hotel West
Karuizawa Prince Hotel West
#5 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cypress Karuizawa
Hotel Cypress Karuizawa
#12 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Vert Kyukaruizawa
Hotel Grand Vert Kyukaruizawa
#9 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karuizawa Elegance
Karuizawa Elegance
#22 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karuizawa Asama Prince Hotel
Karuizawa Asama Prince Hotel
#17 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Karuizawa Ekimae Karuizawaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Karuizawa Ekimae Karuizawaso

Property: APA Hotel Karuizawa Ekimae Karuizawaso
Address: 1178-1135 Karuizawa, Kitasaku-gun, Karuizawa-machi 389-0102, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitasaku-gun > Karuizawa-machi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels / Ryokan in Karuizawa-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Karuizawa Ekimae Karuizawaso 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your APA Hotel Karuizawa Ekimae Karuizawaso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing