We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
197
62
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
62
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden top floor private onsen luxury ryokan high end lounge area breakfast and dinner large bathroom outdoor bath open air onsen experience tofu female staff average food japanese style suite third floor out of sight
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

The private onsen in room is amazing!! Although, staff cannot speak English but all of them are very attentive and eager to help. We stayed at many onsen hotel in Japan but this hotel is probable the best. Food was great. Room are spacious and comfortable. Will try to come back again. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 3 pm and unlike some of the other reviews here we experienced a very warm welcome, including matcha and red bean cake. The English proficiency in this ryokan is moderate, but we had no trouble communicating with the staff. We stayed at the Japanese style suite which is about 1000 usd for 2 persons and came with its own private bath. We liked that the bath could fit 2 people comfortably. The suite was well designed, with a separate dining area that staff could access without walking through our personal living or bedroom space. Be sure to make a visit to the lounge and enjoy the complimentary coffee and fireside

Food wise, the quality of the food was a very high standard. The cooking style is simpler but the ingredients really stood out. The quantity was also just right and we were not too stuffed unlike some other kaiseki experiences we’ve had. There was an extensive sake menu but be warned that it is entirely written in Japanese! We managed to procure a bottle on the recommendation of the hotel staff. For breakfast, there is only one option — Japanese style breakfast but it did come with some yogurt and fruit. The breakfast had a tofu warmer which was awesome. The Japanese take their tofu seriously.

The onsen is unique because of the sulphur which is reputedly good for skin and lungs. The smell may be a bit overwhelming for some though.

Wonderful visit and we will return again the next time we visit hokkaido

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Blue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Spacious modern decorated room with the touch of Japanese Style. The room was very clean and the service was great. Dinner and Breakfast were served inside the room. Definitely a must visit Onsen place if you have a chance to visit Hokkaido

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Chanop B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

This place is fantastic. Were warmly welcomed when we arrived at the hotel. They served their local red bean cake and tea while waiting for your room. Service was excellent and room was BIG & SPACIOUS. The onsen is peaceful and serene. The breakfast and dinner are YUMMY, served at the comfort of your private dining room. Overall, out of this world.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank JTWK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

My spouse and I stayed at the Takinoya in December 2017. Booking through the Luxury Ryokan Collection, service is always impeccable, emails answered promptly and all details were settled well before our trip, right down to timing for dinner and our height so that yukatas can be prepared by the ryokan beforehand. Since we wanted a private open air onsen, we were booked into a Japanese-Western Suite.

From Sapporo, we took the direct train to Noboribetsu, about 70 minutes away. From the train station, we were informed the ryokan did not provide pick up service, so we took a taxi from the train station to the ryokan, about 3000 yen, 15 minutes away.

Upon arrival at the Ryokan, entrance was very pretty, raked gravel driveway, lovely wooden bridge structure. We were however surprised to find it deserted. For a ryokan of this calibre, we are always greeted with some fanfare and warm welcome, no matter what time of the day it was. Slightly disconcerted, we made our way into the reception area nonetheless.

Wandering into the reception area, we finally caught the attention of someone from within the ryokan. We explained we have a reservation, and we were told to wait by the door while he checked his guestlist. Having finally located us on his list, we were brusquely informed to return at 2 pm for check in ("Check-in, 2 pm!), and we are allowed to leave our small suitcase with them. No invitation to warm up inside, no invitation for a hot cup of tea while we took what we needed from our bag, nothing. My husband and I were left at the front door to repack our small case, so that we could bring our camera with us. He did give us some lunch recommendations and directions, and I should emphasize he was not rude, but nothing of the Japanese hospitality that we have come to expect from a ryokan of this calibre and price range.

We returned at 3 pm for check in. The same gentleman attended to us. When asked to pick a dinner service time, we were asked to have dinner at 5.30, 6 pm or 6:30 pm. This was after booking a 7 pm dinner service with LRC 6 months prior to our stay. He did explain it was because the ryokan was fully booked, but nevertheless, I feel this should not be our problem, we had already made a prior dinner reservation. We had to insist on our original timing, and he finally relented after some persuasion, although he clearly didn't look too happy about it.

We were then handed over to our personal butler, a lovely lady who looked after us the entire duration of our stay. Cheerful and helpful, she showed us to our room, explained how everything worked, and informed us that she would be using a separate service door to access our dining room for meal service. Very nice touch, ensuring that we are uninterrupted at all times.

This property is absolutely beautiful. It's modern, so every comfort was clearly contemplated and provided for. The interior is kept in immaculate condition, beautifully and tastefully decorated.

Our suite was very large, and very comfortable. Bedroom is separated by shojis. Best of all was the outdoor natural onsen, filled with the famous natural hotspring water that Noboribetsu is renown for. Bathroom attached was large, generous toiletries provided. Yukatas are starched to perfection and came in various sizes. Beautiful wool outer jackets were also provided.

We took the time to relax in the room and enjoy a welcome drink of matcha and sweets, prepared by Mari-san.

Dinner was served in the dining room, and promptly at 7 pm. The kaiseki dinner at Takinoya has been much lauded, some of it was good admittedly, some I felt wasn't. Gohan course was simply ochatsuke; some flaked salmon on rice, and dashi broth. For a ryokan of this standard, I found the kaiseki dinner to be rather average. It certainly wasn't a feast of the best Hokkaido had to offer.

Breakfast was a generous spread, and included fresh tofu in a gently heated wooden box.

After dinner, we decided to visit the public onsens. They are mostly empty, since there are private onsens in almost every room. The ground floor open-air rock pool onsen was lovely, as was the infinity onsen on the top floor. Onsens are well-kept, beautiful and clean.

Upon check out, we encountered the same brusque gentleman. There was a bit of a wait since everyone else was checking out at the same time, but everything went without incident. A taxi was procured for us by the ryokan and Mari-san waved us all the way from the ryokan until our taxi went out of sight, standing in the bitter snow and cold.

All in all, it wasn't a bad stay by a long shot, we did enjoy this short respite from the city very much. However, for a ryokan of this standard and price range, we've experienced better. For one, the Ginrinsou in Otaru definitely outranked the Takinoya in terms of service and quality of the kaiseki dinner. One would expect a warm welcome no matter what time guests arrived, be it before or after the appointed check-in time. At the very least an offer of hot tea should have been given, I've received this even at much humbler ryokans. We shouldn't have to feel like we are intruders or random people wandering in asking for directions, not when one is paying US$800 a night for a room. Most ryokans of this price range also provide transfer service from the train station, pre-arranged in advance of course. This is something the Takinoya really should consider providing. We had made a detour to Noboribetsu on the excellent reputation of Takinoya, but I'm afraid they had failed to live up to my expectations. This is not a ryokan I would be rushing to return to, such a pity because it really has everything going for it.

Room Tip: Suites have open air private natural onsens. Worth the splurge.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank WYMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews