We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Takimoto Inn
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Sanseikan(Noboribetsu)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mahoroba(Noboribetsu)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Kashotei HANAYA(Noboribetsu)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$941
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$612
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanayura(Noboribetsu)
US$684
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$547
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Takinoya(Noboribetsu)
US$1,108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$592
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
22
72
50
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
72
50
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree accesswithin walking distancethe main hotelconvenient distancehell valleypleasant staybuffet style dinnerbus terminalyen per persononsen wateryukatafacilitieswinterbathsheavenrenovationrates
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Takimoto Inn may be a little faded and basic when compared with the much nicer (and more expensive) hotels around it, but if you're in Noborobietsu, you're there for the onsen baths, and here's the secret - staying at Takimoto gives you access to all the same amazing baths in the pricier places nearby, included! Complimentary and discounted meals at the hotel restaurant aren't stellar, but they aren't bad, either. Central location (baths, downtown, volcanoes, hikes), very friendly staff - you could do a lot worse. I've been here almost yearly since 2007 and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

My only complaint isn't their fault - down the street there's an annoying talking statue that booms loud music and incomprehensible Japanese screaming several times per day, but it's no big deal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skiold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Initially booked a nite, but extended it to 2 nites, as it's too much hassle to carry our luggages up & down Noboribetsu station, with just a nite stay. Hotel is towards the end, passing all the shops & restaurants, slightly uphill. Building is a bit old, but it's what we can afford, decent stay with meal. Also, we can use the baths in Daiichi Takimotokan, the sister hotel across the road.

Had so much fun with the baths & rotenburo there. It was cold & windy, but soak in the hot bath... it's just great feeling. It's easy to access the small Noboribetsu Onsen town, mostly within walking distance. Also, took a day trip to Lake Toya from Noboribetsu too. There's a bus stop just outside the hotel, towards Noboribetsu JR station.

There's few restaurants along the main road. Try the ice-cream.... especially on a cold night after hot bath :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sweat_Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

I can't say we were very impressed with the Takimoto Inn - it seemed very overpriced and poor value. On the good side, the location is excellent, right on the main shopping street, near shops and restaurants, and right across the street from the wonderful baths at the Dai Ichi. Also there is a geyser next to the hotel which was really unique. Parking was a bit of a pain, but the guy at the front desk actually gave us a voucher for free parking at a nearby public lot which I thought was nice. The hallway leading to our room reeked of stale smoke and the carpet was old and stained - not a good introduction. The room was disappointing - old and worn out, small, hot, and stuffy - no AC and the window didnt provide much respite. They didn't have any double or queen beds so my wife and I had to move the single beds together. The micro-ensuite was functional but you had to go outside to change your mind. There was a small fridge and a TV but no English channels. There is no Wifi in the hotel but you are allowed to sit in the lobby of the hotel across the street and connect into theirs. There is also no decent onsen but again you are allowed to use the incredible onsen across the road at the Dai Ichi - an experience not to be missed! This was probably the best onsen we experienced in Japan.

Overall, it wasn't too bad, just average, but poor value at about $150/night. The highlight was using the onsen next door. Not really recommended - you can surely do better in Noboribetsu.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Since the town's pretty small, everything's within walking distance. Just follow the cobbled street towards park entrance, slight uphill climb but manageable with wheelies & backpacks. Inn was on the left, easily spotted by its colorful banners. Else watch out for the majestic Dai-ichi Takimotokan - inn's directly across.

Trudged up a flight of earthy-red steps with luggage to reception at 1st floor. Elderly & physically challenged travellers, those with heavy luggage can do better with the elevator at end of restaurant - walk through on the left towards the kitchen. Party stories on how small Japanese hotel rooms could be can certainly be shared after a stay at Takimoto Inn. Our room was pretty tight with 3 single beds, small TV, small fridge, small table, small wire rack & heater near window. With us & luggage, it was jam-packed. Had to stand aside to allow another to pass, else sit on beds to keep passages free of obstruction :-D Bathroom was, as expected, tiny but functional. Decor tad jaded. As bed comforters looked a little suspect, folded them back for minimal contact. View out of room was of main street & little bit of park - nothing to shout about. Metal room door completed the package.

Spent the afternoon at the park & got caught in a sudden downpour. Visited the inn's indoor onsen to chase away the cold. Water was so hot, felt a little parboiled after a while. As the small tub could discretely accomodate 2-3 ppl max, guests could go next door to Dai-ichi which was the inn's sister hotel ie. access to all facilities were free of charge incl onsen, sauna, jacuzzi, swimming pool, waterslides, video & games arcade. Jap set dinner was substantial, more than other hotels we'd stayed at. Excellent sampler of Jap favorites such as sashimi, teppanyaki, tempura, smoked fish plus a variety of condiments. Dessert of fruits was served after. Inn provided plenty of umbrellas for guests' use - came in handy for after-dinner stroll in the rain & window-shopping.

Following morning, we zipped across to Dai-ichi in our yukatas. Remember to bring along the inn's towel (no need for toiletries as onsens provide shower gels, soaps, shampoos). 7 indoor & outdoor pools of various shapes, sizes, temperatures & healing properties complete with instructions for use ie. which pools to dip in, where to start & end, etc. Some fiery hot, some ice cold. Enjoyed the outdoor pool best as light drizzle cooled us down - would be amazing during winter. Unfortunately a misstep whilst entering the pool caused my shin to have a close encounter with a stony wall & a chafing souvenir to take home. Ouch!

Smaller than average array for buffet breakfast but sufficient to fill hungry tummies. Altho' the inn lacked the fancier facilities, one could easily pop next door to its sister hotel at no extra charge. Probably full occupancy during peak seasons with free access to Dai-ichi, located near park entrance & shops/restaurants on main street.

Room Tip: View of park to lessen view of room
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gr00vyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We went there during winter. The hotel is small but dinner is nice. All meals are provided. Breakfast is always the same, For lunch, you can choose between sandwiches ( comes with potato chips,kids will prefer this ) or curry rice ( curry is actually not spicy, just sweet. Adults may like this ) Dinner is the best! The food change every day. There is also kids meal, which comes with a toy. What i dont like about the hotel is during winter. There can be static shock there. Wear the slippers in the room to avoid that. Apart from that, the hotel is nice, as it is near hell valley. You can go opposite the hotel for the hot spring and swimming pool. No charge. The swimming pool's water is warm and children will LOVE the slide! There is a hotspring outside. Where its cold!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JianHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews