We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, terrible wifi...”
Review of Days Inn King City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn King City
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in King City
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good room, terrible wifi...”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed at the Days Inn King City on our way to Los Angeles. All we wanted was a place to stay overnight with a decent bed and decent internet access. We got one of the two, as the king size bed in the room was very comfortable. We also made good use of the laundry facilities, the fridge in the room and the outdoor pool. The complimentary breakfast was fairly good, with the waffles being the highlight. The room was spacious, and there was not much road noise.

Our major complaint with the hotel was the abysmal wifi connection. Our room was not that far away from the hotel office, but the connection was so weak that it was almost impossible to maintain a reasonable connection. After multiple attempts, we finally gave up and packed up our laptop.

Overall, we were happy with the room. Just not so happy with the wifi...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryHappyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob a, Manager at Days Inn King City, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you for your review of our property and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    70
    69
    30
    17
See reviews for
82
61
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This is yet another place that pretty much epitomizes the workmanlike mediocrity of the kind of overpriced lodgings you’re apt to find in most any American city or town anymore. The free breakfast (really just bad pastry, generic cereal, dishwater coffee, and unpeeled hardboiled eggs) was ho-hum. (Okay - if we hadn’t been trying to keep an edge on our appetites for lunch at La Super Rica in Santa Barbara, "breakfast" would have been a much bigger disappointment.) The new, suite-like room we rented was spacious and seemed almost opulent at first blush, what with its granite-topped kitchen and wide open spaces. But then we started noticing the little oddities: the sign on the kitchen cabinet that said we’d be charged extra if we actually used the in-room kitchen, the lack of countertops or towel bars in the bath, the lack of a closet. On the upside, the room interior seemed very clean. But the grounds? Hoo boy. I’ve seen cleaner vacant lots in Third-World countries.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buck_Fievre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob a, Manager at Days Inn King City, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel, and we will strive to do our best in the future. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe17
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

The room was large, comfortable and included a fridge. Breakfast was good, and included hard-boiled eggs. Although it was close to a US 101 exit, it was very quiet. Very good value as well.

King City is quite close to Pinnacles National Monument, maybe a 45 minute drive as I recall.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob a, Manager at Days Inn King City, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
We are glad you had a nice experience at our hotel. Our staff works diligently to keep the property clean and offer excellent service. We hope to see you soon and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We ended up here on a road trip up the west coast. Good location, walking distance to restaurants, easy to find. Service was ok, first receptionist was quite nice but the manager was very pushy and wanted us to pay for an upgrade which we werent asking for or wanted. Room was ok, bit dark. bed was comfortable. Compimentary breakfast was adequate.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mel_nz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob a, Manager at Days Inn King City, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel, and we will strive to do our best in the future. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

On a road trip this past weekend we ended up at the Days Inn since the hotels in Paso Robles were full (and were generally older properties). The hotel is right off the 101 (giving some slight road noise), so very easy to find. We were given the choice of non smoking rooms and the lady offered to let us see the rooms before we committed - nice touch. We took one of the "bigger rooms in the new block" - room 217. It was obviously a new room - everything looking only mnths old - so needless to say it was very clean and no problems at all.

The hotel provides good value for money and clean rooms. We only wanted somewhere to stay and we slept well in the comfortable King size bed. For 69 dollars - not bad at all.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SimonandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob a, Manager at Days Inn King City, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property and we appreciate your business. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

In spite of some less than sterling reviews on the internet, we booked a room at this remarkable motel almost in desperation. We could not have been more happily surprised to find a high quality motel - beautifully decorated - clean - amenities thoughtfully provided. ..Staff from our weary phone call until "goodbye" were professional, warm and helpful. I highly recommend this facility. I think you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — high quality overall
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank burnabytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob a, Manager at Days Inn King City, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property and we appriciate your business. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

Me and my Husband got stuck in King City on the weekend of June 29th. The rate was fine only $55 a night. This is a very basic motel. The bed was comfortable but the bathroom was pretty bad. The shower curtain looked like it had not been washed in years. It had mold and dirt on. The toilet looked like it had not been cleaned thoroughly. The room lacked proper lighting and it didn't even supply a notepad or pen that I really needed for this trip since I had to make several phone calls for information. I complained the next day at the Front desk and was greeted by a woman who didn't speak English and then a gentleman appeared and just said, "okay" to my complaint.
Stay away if you can.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Unclean bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slotsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob a, Manager at Days Inn King City, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
We are sorry for the inconvienance and we are already fixing the problems you have stated in your review. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in King City
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 King City
Super 8 King City
#3 of 7 in King City
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Keefer's Inn
Keefer's Inn
#1 of 7 in King City
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Valley Harvest Inn
Valley Harvest Inn
#2 of 2 in Soledad
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Fireside Inn
#1 of 1 in King City
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 King City
Motel 6 King City
#5 of 7 in King City
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn King City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn King City

Property: Days Inn King City
Address: 1130 Broadway St, US 101 & Broadway, King City, CA 93930-3317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > King City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in King City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn King City 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn King City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing