We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean - basic”
Review of Keefer's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Keefer's Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in King City
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here when attending a convention in King City. The room was very clean, rather basic and nondescript - parking is right next to the room. The night clerk was friendly and recommended a good place for breakfast.

Room Tip: Away from the freeway
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug4887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Keefer's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

I chose this motel based on the reviews and found it to be an excellent place to stay. Hubby checked in and yes he did say the gentleman behind the desk did not appear the most congenial of people.There was instruction of the TV remote ! Later however I had reason to see him to ask for the wifi password and we had a nice chat about the beautiful roses growing on the property.
The room was comfortable and clean, a good bed. Flat screen TV, frig, microwave, iron, coffee and hairdryer.
Location is just off the freeway but I found it quiet. There is a restaurant just across the parking lot and some fast food joints close by. We did not eat breakfast there but it appeared to be coffee, danish and cereal.
The motel is situated next to a residential area so if you need a bit of exercise after driving all day there is about a 15 minute loop around the houses. Left out of the motel to the end of Canal St and left on Rio Vista and it brings you back to Canal St.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hornbeamVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We checked in very late (11pm) on a Friday evening. Front desk person was rude, sharp and seemed very annoyed. Was shown a TV remote and was given instructions on how to operate "Off/On Volume Up/down" then was told to not touch a certain button. When I went to look closer the front desk person shushed me away and began to explain his rules to my husband then hands the TV remote, which we took back to our room. We found it rather odd that we would be given at TV remote at check-in.
The room was large and appeared to be clean. When I pulled the bed cover down, the blanket on my side of the bed had a rather large tear (7-8") in it. It was very thin and warn out. It was chilly in the room and we could not get the heater to work, it ran but continually blew cold air. It being very late and having just dealt with the rude man, we chose to stay warm by sleeping in our sweatshirts/sweatpants.
The "Continental Breakfast" - well let's just say didn't look appealing at all. The motel would be better off doing away with it.
The Jacuzzi was nice to enjoy after a long tiring day of hiking in the Pinnacles NP.
When I went to check out, I brought the TV remote with me to turn in. Immediately the front desk person (same one that checked us in) began yelling at me for bringing the remote to him. I was trying to be polite and said that I would take it back to the room but since he gave it to us at check-in I thought I needed to turn it back in. He adamantly claimed he did no such thing. Then when my husband walked in, he began yelling at him.
I will never stay at Keefer's again not because of the room quality, because the front desk person was rude and not hospitable at all.

Room Tip: Good Luck with the Crazy Counter Person!!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScubaBubbles06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmilly, Manager at Keefer's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We have Direct Tv in all rooms, So channel are changed on Sat Box and not on TV.
Most of the people change the remote from Sat mode to TV mode and than change the HDMI mode to regular TV channel and than TV screen will be blank and No Signal sign.
So when they come for Check in. We do instruct them how to use the remote. sor which we have a demo Remote in Office.
When she came to Check out her husband came behind her with a bad mood with a remote.
So I just said that this remote belong to the room that's all and he got upset and used the bad language. I didn't said anything. so when she left she said something also.
What I was suppose to laugh at his comment or what?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Friendly staff, family owned & operated.Large, comfortable rooms and beds. Mini-fridge and microwave in each room. Our third stay, and place of choice when going down the 101. The breakfast is continental, but fine for a quick bite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egret19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This is such an amazing find! We got a comfortable king bed in a nice size room. With a mini fridge & microwave. It was very clean and quiet. Lastly, it had a brand new flat screen with 500 channels. I would recommend this to anyone on the road that needs a cute place to stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenjorgenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stopped in King City because we were tired and Keefer's Inn was the first place we came to. We couldn't have asked for more. Reception was great. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed. Everything was clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonTraveltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed there for the third time and had a great experience. The lady at the front is very nice and the rooms are just right for a couple of nights. The showers have decent water pressure. The pillow count is a bit low (only four) but they were the good kind to bunch and crash on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King City
0.6 mi away
Days Inn King City
Days Inn King City
#2 of 7 in King City
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in King City
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 King City
Super 8 King City
#3 of 7 in King City
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 King City
Motel 6 King City
#5 of 7 in King City
64 reviews
18.5 mi away
Valley Harvest Inn
Valley Harvest Inn
#2 of 2 in Soledad
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Fireside Inn
#1 of 1 in King City
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keefer's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keefer's Inn

Address: 615 Canal St, King City, CA 93930-3503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > King City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in King City
Price Range: £74 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Keefer's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Keefer's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keefer`s Hotel King City
Keefers Hotel King City
Keefers Motel King City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing