We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the ski runs, going downhill...”
Review of Las Panchitas

Las Panchitas
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Kings Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
289 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Like the ski runs, going downhill...”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We've gone to Las Panchitas for years, beginning each vacation at Tahoe with a stop there (in fact I reviewed it sometime back). It was never great but was always tasty and fun. On this recent Friday night, sparsely crowded, it was a shadow of its former self. The cheese enchilada was dry and had no flavor, the machaca in the taco tasted off, and the carne asada in the tostada was tough and flavorless. My companion reported that the machaca plate was dry. The salsa on the table was bland. Even the Dos Equis tasted weak. How sad.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    32
    18
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great mexican food in Kings Beach”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Affordable, quality mexican food with friendly, prompt service. 3 generations of our family frequently dine there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We were pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Well, the place was pretty empty at 7 pm on New Year's Eve, so we were worried that our failure to do any research was going to cost us, but the food was quite good and the portions large. Everyone enjoyed what they ordered and did their best to finish it all. This is definitely a little family-owned hole-in0the wall (I mean that affectionately) rather than one of those big production chain Tex-Mex places. For a reliable and inexpensive meal in Kings Beach, you won't go wrong at Las Panchitas.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyb575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
446 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“OK, but average”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The place was nice, and the food was OK. But if you expect mexican food to be a colorful and at times spicy mix of various items, please rethink. The food here was of a type we have unfortunately encountered elsewhere - it was a mix alright, so you get the impression that all the goodies with beans as the main ingredient have been through some kind of a blender. Well, it actually tasted all right, but we were not inspired to eat more than absolutely necessary

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great inexpensive Mexican food”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Enjoyed the Chile Rellenos combo plate. We were starving upon arrival in Tahoe Vista after a 8 hour drive. Stopping here was well worth it. Happy hour margaritas were half off as well!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guestofthewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Panchitas also viewed

Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Las Panchitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing