We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, average motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ferrari's Crown Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view, average motel.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Pro's:
Reasonably priced, private beach, friendly staff, nice location, close to kayak & paddle board rentals, plus others. They have 2 pools,hot tub, picnic tables, gas grills, seating on the beach, and larger rooms to rent.
Con's:
The rooms are very outdated and uncomfortable. Wi-Fi barely works. TV's are the old tube style. Continental breakfast was barely more than cereal and bagels/English muffins. A lot of trash was piled/overflowing near our room and not emptied until late afternoon. Etc, etc, etc...
Overall it was ok... we spent very little time in the rooms, and took full advantage of Lake Tahoe. However, the nights were rough...the place has been around since the 1950's, and feels like it hasn't been updated since.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to review. Have to agree we are an old place and some of our rooms are outdated. That being said, nearly all of our mattresses are three years old or less and are Serta brand similar to those used by many upscale resorts.

We also understand that trash collection in the summer is difficult. However, we have made a change to try to keep trash from building up. In the summer, some rooms generate over a big can of garbage so it is a challenge.

In terms of WiFi, we have made many changes from one antennae to 4, new amplifiers and raised our capacity.

As we come into our season including some 4 generation return families, we continue to do our best to offer a clean, comfortable, affordable. place to stay on the Lake.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    104
    49
    12
    10
See reviews for
97
78
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived at this hotel with the expectation that its aged and that's ok with us. But what I was surprised about was the lack of cleanliness. Don't get me wrong, inside the room was fine, aged but clean and ok. But outside of the hotel there were cobwebs everywhere, windows were dirty, the pool area was really dirty, not sure when it had last been swept. There were soiled towels in the pool area that were not touched the entire time we were at the hotel, on the grown, across chairs etc. The pool also closed really early. It was 7:30pm sun was still shining and a guy came to tell us he's going to close the pool.
You can reserve one of the hot tubs for 30 min and we did that, its inside a little room though and the windows seeing out were really dirty, there were wasps flying in and out from some hole somewhere and there was lots of sand all over, in and around the hot tub.
The continental breakfast was pathetic in today's standards. Old, hard bagels, raisin bread, cheerios and instant oatmeal. I mean this was enough to get our day started but at similar rated hotels/motels I usually see fresh fruit, yogurt and a waffle machine. But the breakfast area was clean, and had lots of room for many people to sit down. Some places I have been at have had only a few tables and when the place is full its a nightmare so that's good they had lots of room.
Our room did not have A/C which was not the end of the world considering the time of year we were there (beginning of June). But despite the fact we had our windows open, it did get hot there the first half of the night. There was a floor fan there we turned on and it helped cool things down a bit. Of course waking up at night to turn the fan on, trying to fall back asleep, and getting up again later to turn it off when it was cooled down again was not really ideal for a good nights sleep.
Checkout was at 11 and we were hoping to stay the day there still but it wasn't too big of deal to leave our room. We were still allowed to enjoy the pool etc and there were bathrooms etc so we didn't really need our room the day of checkout.
Staff was really nice, seemed to be lots of them around too. Overall Ferrari's Crown Resort was ok but needed some really good spring cleaning to for me to rate it a 3. Remember though, I did think inside the rooms were ok and clean, just dated. Looking at the other surrounding hotels these guys did look a little better, and probably are since there seemed to be more people staying here over other places. One really nice thing these guys have going for them is the fact they are one of the hotels right on the water. So you could go to the beach and swim in the lake etc and then walk back up to the hot tub to warm up again. Would I stay here again? Maybe, I wouldn't be against it but I might also try something else in a different location just to see how they are.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms next to the pools, at least on the main floor. These have high traffic and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donmega2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the comprehensive review.

First, I will admit that we were behind on our exterior deep clean this spring. We had unusual and more difficult problems getting our pools up and going for the season and fell behind on some basic tasks. Cob webs and dust have been taken care of and a continuing process with the cottonwood trees now shedding.

We do have AC in 25 of our units. I will caution that there are few places on the North Shore with AC so if a necessity one should call in advance. Most of the North and East Shore accommodations were built without AC.

We have always welcomed guests to stay at the resort after checking out. We were closing the pool earlier in the spring as night temperatures were cold. Our bad if we closed before 8 and someone wanted to swim.

We do endeavor to provide a clean comfortable, affordable stay on the Lake. As this guest has pointed out, we do work hard but sometimes have our bad days.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Great place, right on the beach at Northlake. My family held a reunion here a couple of years ago. Everyone loved the place, so it was an easy choice to stay here on my latest trip to Lake Tahoe. Great amenities and wonderful staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for the review, Daniel! Hopefully we'll see you again this summer!

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is our go-to place when we want to go to Lake Tahoe area. Quite affordable either off or peak season.The rooms are clean and there are two pools and two hot tubs. We specially like staying in the rooms overlooking the lake. Lots of nearby restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickemmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We do our best to keep our property clean and well maintained and give our guests the opportunity to experience Lake Tahoe -- right from the shore!!

Our business depends on return guests. Thank you for coming!

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Ferrari's Crown is the best place to stay when visiting Lake Tahoe. We have stayed at five star hotels/motels at various places on South Shore and North Shore and none compare to Ferrari's over all experience.
My wife and I stayed at Ferrari's in 1968, the first time we came to Lake Tahoe. We have since visited Lake Tahoe several times and have stayed at Ferrari's every year since 1990. Our children and grandchildren have spent endless hours in their two pools, jacuzzi and on their beach.

Any room at Ferrari's is fine but we have been able to stay on the Lake View front for the past several years with a beautiful view of the lake from our room, with the beach twenty feet beyond the deck. There are many nice restaurants and shops near by. We also enjoy cooking dinner on the deck using their barbecues while enjoying the lake view. Their continental breakfast is just right to start the day off.

Ferrari's is centrally located on North Shore at Kings Beach with the State line and Incline Village a few miles further south. To the right you have Tahoe City twenty minutes away. Safeway and Old Brockway golf course are a five minute walk from the motel. Fishing charters for big macs are ten minutes away.

Ferrari's rooms are always clean and comfortable. Their pools, grounds and buildings are always kept clean and maintained well. The staff and service are awesome. Best rates around for a top notch resort. There are only a handful of beach front motels anywhere at Lake Tahoe and this is the best.
Baese family from Salt Lake

Room Tip: Front lakeside view rooms are great. Beautiful view of the lake while relaxing reading a book. Fif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you, Richard. We look forward to seeing your family again this summer.

-Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Rim, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Ferrari's is my "go to" hotel for all visits to North Lake Tahoe. The location is perfect, with private beach access, being in the heart of the North Lake region and being close to great restaurants (including Hiro's Sushi across the street), grocery stores and all sorts of options for fun in both summer and winter. I have stayed at Ferrari's countless nights over the last five years and always feel like I am coming home. They have hot tubs by a reservation system, which I really like so that I am not sharing hot tubs with a stranger. I normally get a room with a full kitchenette, but I have also stayed in other rooms which were well equipped. The staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and really comfortable. They also have a breakfast room. Free wifi is a plus. Incline Village and Tahoe City are only about 10-15 minutes away, in each direction and I love the central location. You cannot find a better value in all of North Lake Tahoe. Ferrari's might not look like much from the highway side, but it is a true gem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for the kind review, Holly. Hopefully we'll see you this summer!

-Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We planned a last minute trip to Tahoe when the snow dropped and was able to book a decent deal on Hotels.com. The motel/hotel was close to the ski slopes we wanted to go (Homewood, Sugar Bowl and Diamond Peak).

We got there a couple hours early and were able to check in without any problems. We had one of the rooms facing toward the road, so no view of the lake. The room is dated (old carpeting and bed spread), but fine for a place to stay in during a ski trip. The heat worked well and warmed up pretty quickly. The room was decent sized with a small table for two, coffee maker, fridge and TV (about 20 channels, no HBO or movie channels). There are some drawers and area to hang clothes. The sink is separate from the shower/toilette. Shower had decent pressure. The bed was pretty comfortable, on the firm side. The pillows are somewhat soft and flat, but we were able to get extras. The free wifi worked for the most part, but sometimes was really slow. The grounds had an outdoor and indoor hot tub. The breakfast room is open 8-9:30ish and had a decent spread - hot chocolate, tea, coffee, raisin bread toast (with butter and cream cheese), bagels, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal.

The location was conveniently located near Safeway, the pharmacy, several restaurants, the lake, as well as the Crystal Bay Casino.

Pros: location, free breakfast, good shower pressure, hot tub
Cons: dated rooms, slow wifi

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltsao01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay at Ferrari's Crown and taking the time to give us a thoughtful review. We are not the newest place but endeavor to be clean, comfortable and provide a nice visit to the Lake.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Beach
0.5 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#8 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
62 reviews
20.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
868 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
1.3 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Property: Ferrari's Crown Resort
Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing