We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferrari's Crown Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferrari's Crown Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Discovery Bay, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Awesome is what I have to say about this hotel. If you want to stay on a great beach of Lake Tahoe, and have a pool, and have a spa, and simple breakfast all in 1 place, this is it! Great, kind, & hard working staff. Don't expect luxury, but do expect clean.

Room Tip: Get the room that has what you need, so many different ones. Some have kitchenettes, more beds, clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for the great review! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    101
    49
    11
    9
See reviews for
93
77
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were in room 408. It was old and felt crusty. Will never come here again. Felt ripped off at $150 for the night. Sliding door did not lock. Cont breakfast 8 am to 10 am. Should open earlier. Front desk closes at 10 pm. No answer when called by phone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrab3112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for the time to review and the room number. It always helps.

I will admit that our rooms are older as are nearly all the rooms on the North Shore. The rate of $149 is very competitive for this area for a room with 2 queens. In addition, we provide two pools, two hot tubs and are on the beach and Lake and most of our competitors are not.

This was the first complaint this summer on time of our continental breakfast. We do open earlier in ski season when we have demand.

This guest told me upon leaving the sliding door did not lock. We immediately checked it out. Within a couple hours of this guest leaving we had it fixed. We adjusted the rollers and it turned out door did lock. However, it is a newer type of door that allows one to lock it from the outside so latch pin actually has to to be sticking out to lock the door. I will admit it is not the most user friendly and have a call into the Door Company to see if there is anything we can do.

Being family owned and operated, we live on the premises so do not answer the phone at all hours of the day. However, in emergency or other issue we do have a number on our office door that rings into our bedroom.

We don’t make all our guests happy. However, as we approach our 60th year in business, we are proud of the fact that this time of year, well over 50% of our guests are returning and good number is the 20-40 year range.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Pro's:
Reasonably priced, private beach, friendly staff, nice location, close to kayak & paddle board rentals, plus others. They have 2 pools,hot tub, picnic tables, gas grills, seating on the beach, and larger rooms to rent.
Con's:
The rooms are very outdated and uncomfortable. Wi-Fi barely works. TV's are the old tube style. Continental breakfast was barely more than cereal and bagels/English muffins. A lot of trash was piled/overflowing near our room and not emptied until late afternoon. Etc, etc, etc...
Overall it was ok... we spent very little time in the rooms, and took full advantage of Lake Tahoe. However, the nights were rough...the place has been around since the 1950's, and feels like it hasn't been updated since.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to review. Have to agree we are an old place and some of our rooms are outdated. That being said, nearly all of our mattresses are three years old or less and are Serta brand similar to those used by many upscale resorts.

We also understand that trash collection in the summer is difficult. However, we have made a change to try to keep trash from building up. In the summer, some rooms generate over a big can of garbage so it is a challenge.

In terms of WiFi, we have made many changes from one antennae to 4, new amplifiers and raised our capacity.

As we come into our season including some 4 generation return families, we continue to do our best to offer a clean, comfortable, affordable. place to stay on the Lake.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived at this hotel with the expectation that its aged and that's ok with us. But what I was surprised about was the lack of cleanliness. Don't get me wrong, inside the room was fine, aged but clean and ok. But outside of the hotel there were cobwebs everywhere, windows were dirty, the pool area was really dirty, not sure when it had last been swept. There were soiled towels in the pool area that were not touched the entire time we were at the hotel, on the grown, across chairs etc. The pool also closed really early. It was 7:30pm sun was still shining and a guy came to tell us he's going to close the pool.
You can reserve one of the hot tubs for 30 min and we did that, its inside a little room though and the windows seeing out were really dirty, there were wasps flying in and out from some hole somewhere and there was lots of sand all over, in and around the hot tub.
The continental breakfast was pathetic in today's standards. Old, hard bagels, raisin bread, cheerios and instant oatmeal. I mean this was enough to get our day started but at similar rated hotels/motels I usually see fresh fruit, yogurt and a waffle machine. But the breakfast area was clean, and had lots of room for many people to sit down. Some places I have been at have had only a few tables and when the place is full its a nightmare so that's good they had lots of room.
Our room did not have A/C which was not the end of the world considering the time of year we were there (beginning of June). But despite the fact we had our windows open, it did get hot there the first half of the night. There was a floor fan there we turned on and it helped cool things down a bit. Of course waking up at night to turn the fan on, trying to fall back asleep, and getting up again later to turn it off when it was cooled down again was not really ideal for a good nights sleep.
Checkout was at 11 and we were hoping to stay the day there still but it wasn't too big of deal to leave our room. We were still allowed to enjoy the pool etc and there were bathrooms etc so we didn't really need our room the day of checkout.
Staff was really nice, seemed to be lots of them around too. Overall Ferrari's Crown Resort was ok but needed some really good spring cleaning to for me to rate it a 3. Remember though, I did think inside the rooms were ok and clean, just dated. Looking at the other surrounding hotels these guys did look a little better, and probably are since there seemed to be more people staying here over other places. One really nice thing these guys have going for them is the fact they are one of the hotels right on the water. So you could go to the beach and swim in the lake etc and then walk back up to the hot tub to warm up again. Would I stay here again? Maybe, I wouldn't be against it but I might also try something else in a different location just to see how they are.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms next to the pools, at least on the main floor. These have high traffic and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donmega2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the comprehensive review.

First, I will admit that we were behind on our exterior deep clean this spring. We had unusual and more difficult problems getting our pools up and going for the season and fell behind on some basic tasks. Cob webs and dust have been taken care of and a continuing process with the cottonwood trees now shedding.

We do have AC in 25 of our units. I will caution that there are few places on the North Shore with AC so if a necessity one should call in advance. Most of the North and East Shore accommodations were built without AC.

We have always welcomed guests to stay at the resort after checking out. We were closing the pool earlier in the spring as night temperatures were cold. Our bad if we closed before 8 and someone wanted to swim.

We do endeavor to provide a clean comfortable, affordable stay on the Lake. As this guest has pointed out, we do work hard but sometimes have our bad days.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Great place, right on the beach at Northlake. My family held a reunion here a couple of years ago. Everyone loved the place, so it was an easy choice to stay here on my latest trip to Lake Tahoe. Great amenities and wonderful staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for the review, Daniel! Hopefully we'll see you again this summer!

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is our go-to place when we want to go to Lake Tahoe area. Quite affordable either off or peak season.The rooms are clean and there are two pools and two hot tubs. We specially like staying in the rooms overlooking the lake. Lots of nearby restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickemmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We do our best to keep our property clean and well maintained and give our guests the opportunity to experience Lake Tahoe -- right from the shore!!

Our business depends on return guests. Thank you for coming!

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Beach
0.5 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
20.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
10.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.1 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#4 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Property: Ferrari's Crown Resort
Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing