We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, not Rustic”
Review of Kit Carson Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kit Carson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kit Carson Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Kit Carson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We did the living social deal and we went in expecting rustic. Rustic as in no TV, cell reception, etc. We did not know that it is also prohibited to use blowdryers until we got there and read the paper handed to us by the girl at the front desk who hardly said two words to us. If a blowdryer was used in the room and a fuse was blown, they would charge $20. On top of that, every hour you were late on checkout they charged you an outrageous amount of money. None of this is mentioned either, until you read the paper they give you on checkin. When we arrived we saw one staff member yelling at another in front of guests. Totally unprofessional. They also lock the gate to the lodge at 9/10pm so if you aren't in your room by then you are SOL and it pretty much states that on the same paper. Again, none of this was disclosed, we read it on that paper. When we unlocked the door to our room we were severely disappointed. The room was filled with giant flies! I understand a place with no AC you keep the windows open but it was disgusting. I have never seen so many flies in one room. The bathroom was dirty (the toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks) and the bed was uncomfortable. We were not pleased. We promptly left and stayed in Tahoe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RoRo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in a 4 person cabin at Kit Carson Lodge over the 9/6-8 weekend with our Grandkids which are 8 & 4. Booked thru a Travelzoo deal and it truly was a great deal. The place is very quiet and peaceful. No TV's or Wi-Fi in the rooms. The Lake is beautiful and the little cabins are wonderful, come equipped with everything you need to be self sufficient without relying on the lodge for food, Which we ate at and thought was very good. The servers and staff are friendly & willing to help whenever needed.

Room Tip: The single cabins are the best deal for peace and quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

There are some nice things about the Kit Carson Lodge: a quiet location on a big lake, boats for hire, close access to nice hiking at Carson Pass, and extremely friendly servers in the dining room. There is a small, shallow roped-in area for swimming (no lifeguards, shoes probably needed since it's a rocky bottom). The food was mostly fine, although the expensive lamb chops were the worst I've ever eaten (lots of fat and gristle). However, as other people have written, the soundproofing in the fourplex hotel rooms is bad; we were lucky that our neighbors weren't loud. I think the late check-out fees were excessive ($50 for 30 minutes, $100 for an hour late). Since you have to prepay 60 days in advance for the cabins and 14 days in advance for the hotel rooms, this steep late check-out fee seems extreme to me. The worst part of our stay for me, though, was that we were locked in the lodge property from 10 to 8. Since this was fire season, and since there was a fire burning north of us just southwest of Lake Tahoe while we were at the lodge, this seems very dangerous to me. Also, what happens if someone has a heart attack or other medical emergency during the night? I preferred our stay at Sorenson's Lodge (prettier grounds, a prettier room, much better food, and no being locked in at night), even though some of their cabins near the highway suffer from road noise during the day. However, if you rent a private cabin at Kit Carson Lodge, don't check out late, and don't have an emergency during the night, you will probably have a nice time here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We just returned from a road trip to June Lake and environs. I booked this since neither of us had crossed the Carson Pass. Boy, were we surprised at the location on the lake and the rustic character. We had and end room in a quad with a lake view. Lovely room, lovely view BUT NO acoustic soundproof from the adjacent room!!! You could hear their conversations loudly and clearly.

We dined on the deck and had a wonderful dinner albeit the veggies soggy and overcooked. So what! Lovely ambiance and wonderful young international wait staff. The next morning we had perhaps the best breakfast during our road trip. Coffee needs improvement but we are Peets junkies. Expresso and other options would be terrific. All in all, YES we would stay there again but in a separate cabin with kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lckt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were recently married on Carson Pass---we stopped by Kit Carson Lodge for a celebratory beverage at about 4:45pm on a Thursday afternoon.
We were told immediately upon entry that the lodge opened at 5:00pm . The manager then came out and said we cannot in any accommodate you we have fully booked up for dinner and we only serve wine and beer.
This situation could have been addressed in a number of ways that would have welcomed us. One of the easy method since they had a big beautiful deck that was unused. Instead it was no way, we can't, more importantly you are not welcome here. Won't be going back there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MelindahSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at this great lodge for a wedding and loved it. We had a one bedroom by itself cabin. Really charming, quite rustic and in great location. Food was pretty good although they sometimes shut kitchen down long before they advertise so make sure to get there early. Breakfast says 10am but closed at 9:30 one morning and we had to plead to get food. Also can take a long while to get a simple thing so do not be in a hurry. The bed was nice and hard and the room had everything you would want for lodge camping. Would have liked a coffee maker tho. Only 2 outlets but we did not need more. Could have been a little cleaner but we made do. Front staff is a bit crusty so just ignore their attitudes. Kids from exchange program were great but did not speak hardly any English so patience was the key. They were great. The lodges sit on a wonderful clean lake with boat rentals. Beautiful forest with great outside camping down the road a bit. Lots of flies and mosquitoes so bring spray. Beautiful part of California. Great prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

As others have noticed, this 80+ year-old-lodge is a fabulous Sierra getaway, located on the picturesque Silver Lake. We had the strange situation of being at the lodge during three very cold and rainy days in June of all months, but the cottage was so spacious, with lots of wood to have a fire burning, and we had lots of gadgets and games to keep us occupied, that we hardly left the whole time! The floor was starting to buckle a little in places, and the shower was small, but for a few nights, these were not issues.

The only drawbacks on the Snowshoe cabin were the shared common wall with the other cabin and sound issues related to that, and a tricky patio door lock. The Smore packet was cute, but not particularly fresh, and a little microwave would really help in the kitchen. No hair dryers or other heating units can be used, also.

When we did venture out, we enjoyed the art gallery, store, multi-national staff, and Tuesday night wine-tasting, and had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. There are some hiking trails in the area we'd like to explore more of next time, and were sorry not to have been able to get out on one of the kayaks as part of our Living Social package. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kit Carson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kit Carson Lodge

Address: 32161 Kit Carson Road, Hwy 88 at Silver Lake, Kit Carson, CA 95644
Region: United States > California > Kit Carson
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kit Carson
Price Range: £112 - £1,868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kit Carson Lodge is situated on Silver Lake surrounded by granite peaks and tall pines. Located in the California Sierra 45 minutes south of Lake Tahoe and five miles west of Kirkwood Ski Resort. Our Lodge is one of those old destinations. Family oriented, generations of guest have been coming for over 2 decades and family owned. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kit Carson Hotel Kit Carson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing