We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Historic Requa Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Trees(Klamath)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Jade River Lodge(Crescent City)
View Hotel
Crescent Beach Motel(Crescent City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Beach Inn(Crescent City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Curly Redwood Lodge(Crescent City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Crescent City(Crescent City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Inn(Crescent City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
270
105
34
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
105
34
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhot tubklamath riverother guestsfamily styleview of the riverpancakesfront porchpost officehomemade breadcourse mealclaw foot tubliving roomcorner roomporkthe pacific oceana wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed at the Requa Inn in February of 2012 for three nights. The management at the Inn was so friendly and helpful informing me about the local places to visit. The Inn was clean and neat and beautifully designed with rest and relaxation in mind. I spent a good deal of time watching wildlife on the river from the rocking chair on the front porch and reading a historical book in a large size chair in the main living room next to the fireplace. The breakfast was delicious with many options to choose from. One of the nights i had the family style dinner and although it was a bit pricey it sure was worth it. I will be staying there again next year but for five nights cause there is so much to do in the area. I recommend the Requa Inn highly.

Room Tip: The larger rooms overlook the river and are beautiful. The rooms at the back of the Inn overlook parking lot and hill with neighboring homes. One doesn't spend much time in their rooms though. I was in a corner room in the back of the Inn and cars on Requa Rd where audible but rare.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaCrzy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We spent three relaxing days at the Requa Inn during October. It is right in the heart of the Redwood National and State Parks so we enjoyed hiking in the forest, where we felt as if we were the only people there. We came across a large herd of elk in a meadow on Davis Road - be sure to check it out as we understand it is a common place for them to roam. A short walk up the road from the inn took us to a bluff from which we could see whales and seals or sea lions below. On the third day it was rainy so we thoroughly enjoyed just relaxing in our room napping and reading. The dinner offered by the inn is a wonderful way to meet fellow travelers and the food was amazing! Contrary to some reviews, we felt there was plenty to eat. We even had food left over. If they are offering the lemon poppyseed pancakes for breakfast, be sure to try them - yummy!

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 20 are the largest and have the best bathrooms. They also have lovely sitting areas that face the river.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daydreamingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We traveled from our home in Eureka for an organizational event at the Inn in the early afternoon. Several of us also booked rooms for the night. We had a wonderful relaxing afternoon reading, walking, and visiting with friends after the Inn had emptied out and things had quieted. We ate dinner in the restaurant, which was wonderful. The chefs specialize in local foods and wines and tell you about what you are eating. One small caveat: You might not enjoy this if you are not at least a moderately adventurous eater, but we did enjoy it, although my husband bypassed the clams. A cook-to-order breakfast is included and was also wonderful. I had the bacon and eggs with whole wheat toast and a fruit cup. The eggs were cooked perfectly, and I am fussy about my eggs, and the toast is made from their home-made bread--really good. I was tempted just to lie in my bed and look at the river and read my book in the morning, but then I smelled the bacon cooking! The Inn is comfortable and homey with lovely views of the river from the front windows and the porch. Our bedroom was large with a reading alcove and also had a view of the river. There are no TVs or telephones in the room, but there is some wifi access, if this is important to you. For us, it made more of a getaway. They do have a collection of DVDs if you wish to watch them on your computer, and of course they have a library of books, puzzles, and games. Ownership and management of the Inn is a family affair, and everyone you deal with is friendly and helpful. We will return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front facing the river are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrstuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The Requa Inn is located about a mile from the Pacific Ocean on the north bank of the Klamath River just west of the tiny town of Klamath, California. From chairs on the front porch or through the large picture windows on the main floor (when the weather is cold or rainy), you can watch bald eagles, ducks, grebes and other birds either flying by or swimming on the river. (There were binoculars to use but they didn't work well so bring your own). Redwood forests surround the town of Klamath and you're only a 10-20 minute drive from some of the best view spots and hiking in the redwoods.

The rooms are clean and charming with antique or period furniture: beds with quilt coverings and wooden dressers. Claw-foot tubs are in at least two of the bathrooms along with modern showers. Rooms are all up a wide staircase above the main floor. No elevator. Half of the rooms have windows overlooking the Klamath River. Most beds look to be full-size but queens and at least one king bed are available.

Breakfast is at individual tables in the dining room overlooking the river. It is a choice of as many of the menu items as you'd like: fluffy pancakes (flavors change daily), eggs, toast from homemade bread, jam (made locally), oatmeal/porridge, fresh fruit, yogurt, bacon or sausage (it can change daily), health drink (it looks green and is made to order).

Dinner is a set four-course meal and costs extra. Reservations are required. The chefs announce the nightly menu after you've been seated family style. Dishes during our 3-day stay included salmon caught from the Klamath River, roast duck, seared albacore, grilled cauliflower, carrot soup, Kobe beef, a polenta-like bean dish, roast potatoes and among the desserts, a tart and a light carrot cake topped with candied carrot. Vegetarian meals available if requested ahead.

Coffee, tea and iced water are available all day. You can also order a glass of wine during the day to sip while you lounge on one of the couches in front of the fireplace or sit and look at the view. Books, games and puzzles are stacked in bookcases in the main room. A limited amount of locally-made beaded jewelry, jams and other items are available for sale.

Bring your bathing suit to use the outdoor hot tub (there's a sign-up sheet to reserve your time and towels are provided).

Lastly, make time to talk to Janet, one of the engaging owners, about the Yurok people. Her stories about the local culture and growing up Yurok will enrich your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing river have a better view but get some street noise early in the morning; rooms facing the back slope are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Requa Inn while we were touring the Pacific North West. It was the ideal place to stay to see the redwood forests.
Although some reviewers said their rooms were small, the room we were allocated was quite large. It was one of the front rooms, and I could see the river without moving my head from the pillow in bed in the morning. The view of the river from the inn changes continuously and is never boring.
We found the inn completely charming, with lovely and helpful hosts. In fact, all of the staff were really delightful. We enjoyed all the meals we ate at the inn - breakfasts and dinners. We especially enjoyed the dinner party feel of the dinners, where we met some real kindred spirits.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front corners seem to be quite a bit larger than those at the back. And have fabulous views of the river.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheridan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews