We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waking with the river...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Historic Requa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Historic Requa Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Klamath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waking with the river...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a lovely location. I woke as the sun was rising over the hills and changing the colors of the Klamath River, then dozed back into a lovely sleep in our very comfortable king sized bed. I woke a few more times to watch the birds and sea otters, and by the time I was dressed the sun was causing steam to rise off the river. Quite a way to start your day.
This is an older hotel, with all the charms and mystery of days gone by. Absolutely lovely and comfortable. We slept with the windows open all night (early October) and the temperature was perfect. You can compare this to staying in your favorite aunts comfy home. The linens were great, nice fluffy towels and a boatload of water pressure for the shower. I can't wait to return, will stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Views front he front of the hotel are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    99
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
60
267
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
174 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Inn stands high above the level of the Klamath River, which our room looked over, a perfect scene. The fifteen or so rooms are upstairs, most in two rows. The building is a hundred years old, there is no elevator and the stairs are steep, but straight and with a hand rail at both sides. I don't think there is handicapped access at all. The room was nicely furnished with a comfortable bed and a good bathroom; but the bath was in a corner of the bedroom behind a screen.

Downstairs was a sitting room/reception area, comfortably furnished, with memorabilia, books and magazines, and the dining room. There is a fixed dinner menu at fixed price and you are seated with other people at tables of four or six, the seating plan according to the whim of the manageress. The food was brought to the table with a gastronomic summary from the chef, who is inventive and talented, and brings a native-American flavour to some of the dishes. Breakfast was the usual, and good.

I left wishing we were staying for more than one night, as I had planned, but I couldn't book a longer stay - it's popular and I can understand why.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and seem to be accurately described on the web site: if it doesn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our recent stay exceeded our expectations. We booked two months in advance and selected our room through the online reservation system which very accurately describes the size of the room, type of bed and bathroom . We were disappointed that a river side room was not available but were very happy with our corner room on the backside. Fellow travelers on the river side told us that they did not enjoy the early morning traffic on the road in front of the Inn as fishermen headed out for the day in the wee hours. Breakfast was outstanding on each of the two mornings we were there and I expecially enjoyed the lemon almond pancakes! We had dinner at the Inn on our first night and I highly recommend that experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This Inn is beautiful and very quaint. It was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast style logging and we loved it. The view of the river is beautiful, and the staff were very charming and welcoming. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilme43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coepnhagen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Inn is beautifully set on the Klamath River, common areas and river-side rooms have splendid view, backside rooms have, yes backside view.

We had reserved months in advance, but were given the smallest and least comfortable back room with one small queen size which was completely inadequate for us and not in accordance with our confirmed reservation. The staff/host were not helpful, not at all helpful, in solving the problem. In the end we found a solution was found directly with another couple, who could spare a room for one of us (they had a suite).

The breakfast was very good indeed.

The dinner was clearly prepared by a chef with ambitions, each course was beautifully presented, however, when the main (albacore) was not fresh but had a strong unpleasant smell all that serves no purpose.

Room Tip: Choose room with river-view (note however, that a road runs just in front of the hotel), be very spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangent, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We met friends here for two nights at the end of a week-long camping trip in Redwoods National Park. This is a terrific old hotel with character and comfort and a fantastic place to top off a Redwoods stay. (If you don't like stairs that tilt a bit, you probably shouldn't be in the Redwoods anyway.) It's accessible to lots of trails and near wonderful views of the mouth of the Klamath River and ocean.

Best of all was the food, as good as we've ever had anywhere and very reasonably priced for the quality. Fresh ingredients, perfectly prepared and nicely presented; the salmon and albacore we had on successive nights was incredible. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwailocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I found the place on the internet. It was a good place to stop between Mendocino and Ashland, Oregon. There were only two rooms left when we called and they were over the kitchen. The price was good and the room was adequate. The inn overlooks a river and the lobby with a warm fire going was an ideal place to sit and compare notes with other travelers from the US and foreign countries. We opted not to do dinner, but it would have been fun. The breakfast was very good with many items to choose from and the option of ordering more. The weather turned foggy so we didn't take many pictures here.

Room Tip: Book early to get a selection of rooms. Our room was good and a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugTampaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
15.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
15.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
15.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Requa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Requa Inn

Property: Historic Requa Inn
Address: 451 Requa Rd, Klamath, CA 95548-9373
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Requa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the mouth of Northern California's Klamath River, where the Redwoods meet the sea, the Requa Inn has been a home away from home for over a century. Built from old growth redwood, the 13 room inn features private bathrooms in every guestroom and a sumptuous breakfast cooked to order every morning. Guests also enjoy the best of local organic food in the Inn's restaurant every evening with a fine selection of regional wines and beer. Featuring wi-fi throughout the property, the Historic Requa Inn is the perfect basecamp for a redwood adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Historic Requa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Requa Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing