We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful unique experience in the Redwoods”
Review of Historic Requa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Requa Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Klamath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Everything about this inn was special and charming. A truly unique experience in a restored historic building. The staff was as unique and wonderful as the inn! The river view from our window in the Cathedral Trees room was breathtaking with the sun dancing on the water. The inn has thin walls due to when it was built but we had a very peaceful stay no noise to speak of. We enjoyed the cats and kittens that run around out front and the hot tub out back was nice, even
though you are looking into the back of the kitchen it works because it is part of the off beat charm that made me love the inn. Breakfast was fantastic and the green drink was the best thing I had on my entire trip! I like unique accommodations and this place was a wonderful experience! We enjoyed dinner very much also!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nites at the inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was not river view, but very affordable and comfy. The main living area is charming and complete with knitted shawls for warmth, a fireplace that stays lit, books, games, and picturesque windows overlooking the river. Breathtaking!!! (House binoculars are also provided by the inn.) We enjoyed watching the birds and sea lions right from the inn! All three breakfasts were delicious and extremely filling with a full breakfast menu offered. We had dinner there twice and enjoyed the casual atmosphere among friends after a long day of hiking. Food was uniquely served in small portions and very "organic" ...not for those with hearty appetites or those who prefer your basic meat and potatoes --but if you are up for something totally unique with unique flavors, you will enjoy the gourmet dinner meals. We found the dinners extremely charming and were impressed that they were very attentive to allergies and special dietary requests (as one of our friends is allregic to seafood). We will definitely recommend Requa Inn to our friends! --Gayle & Garrison NC

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent one night at the Requa Inn and it was the experience of a lifetime. A historic building updated for comfort in a unique setting combined with a dedicated and talented staff make for an unforgettable time.

Room Tip: The Requa Inn website has plenty of information on the available room choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at the Requa Inn and for the most part, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Inn is beautifully restored and the people are very accommodating and friendly. The room we had was wonderful, looking out on the Klamath River and very comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic.

Our only negative was the gourmet dinner we had. We made reservations for the 4 course dinner after reading the elegant description of it on their web. We were very disappointed. It's apparent the "Chef de Cuisine" is more interested in attempting to create bizarre and strange items rather than an enjoyable dinner with local foods. Here is the menu: first course was beetroot, carrot and sea lettuce soup, (tasted bland-like beets and water). Second course--lamb loin, fennel, nasturtium and wild ginger. The lamb was served cool, with the strange "foraged" items and was a tiny piece of lamb maybe 2 ounces--very odd. Third course--true cod, quince, parsnip and delicata squash. Again an extremely small piece of cod (odd choice for gourmet dinning) was served with a single tiny piece of parsnip and squash alongside. Finally a dessert--almond cake, blackberry, chèvre, and mint. This was the only part of the meal that was good. We left still hungry and very disappointed. I suggest that the "Chef de Cuisine" take lessons from the breakfast cooks who truly know how to create an excellent meal and one that satisfies your hunger.

If you go, forget the dinner and enjoy the Inn, the people and breakfast and you'll go away blessed!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here in Sept for 2 nights while on a trip to see the Redwoods - checking off items on the bucket list, we're not getting any younger. Hubby forgot to request a room with King bed so we were in a charming river front queen room number 14. After a brief unpacking we were leaving the room when the staff came up with another couple who had asked for a riverfront room but instead had a rear facing king room. Acquaintances were made, we surveyed each others rooms and an agreeable switch was made.

The next day we spent the day hiking and visiting the redwoods and upon our return found out that the clerk forgot to change things in the computer, the room we were in was reserved for someone else, and we had been placed in yet another king room. Our things had been moved while we were gone, we were not in cell range although they had tried to call us. So we enjoyed a glass of wine on the house to make up for the inconvenience but we actually enjoyed getting to experience another riverview king room for our second night. The beds were exceptionally comfortable for us. All of the bathrooms were well appointed with plenty of towels and toiletries.
We thoroughly enjoyed the fantastic breakfasts - the green smoothie is amazing as are the pancakes - I am not a big pancake person but the lemon poppyseed and the almond ones were fantastic!! If you don't wish to partake of the pre fixe dinner in the evening, there is a list of other places to eat in the information in the rooms. I would highly recommend "A Good Place to Eat" just about 2 1/2 miles north. Nothing fancy but very good food. Located in the back of a general store. Fresh Blackberry cobbler for dessert, yummm. I would love to try the pre fixe dinner at the Inn sometime but felt a little uncomfortable needing to make a decision without knowing what was on the menu for the evening. Hubby is a little picky sometimes about food and didn't want to commit to spending almost a Franklin without knowing what we might be eating.

We did not find noise upstairs to be an issue at all. The staff was exceptionally friendly and accomodating. If you wanted to bring something in to eat in the large lounge area there are tables set along the windows and plates, silverware, etc can be requested. The lounge is very charming LOTS of magazines and a great fireplace. The dining room has a small refrigerator where guests can store leftovers - in our case, cheese, salami, and wine for us to nosh on in the lounge. What else can I say we loved it here.

Would not hesitate to rcommend this place for future stays.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a King room if that's important to you, we got the impression there weren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a lovely location. I woke as the sun was rising over the hills and changing the colors of the Klamath River, then dozed back into a lovely sleep in our very comfortable king sized bed. I woke a few more times to watch the birds and sea otters, and by the time I was dressed the sun was causing steam to rise off the river. Quite a way to start your day.
This is an older hotel, with all the charms and mystery of days gone by. Absolutely lovely and comfortable. We slept with the windows open all night (early October) and the temperature was perfect. You can compare this to staying in your favorite aunts comfy home. The linens were great, nice fluffy towels and a boatload of water pressure for the shower. I can't wait to return, will stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Views front he front of the hotel are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Inn stands high above the level of the Klamath River, which our room looked over, a perfect scene. The fifteen or so rooms are upstairs, most in two rows. The building is a hundred years old, there is no elevator and the stairs are steep, but straight and with a hand rail at both sides. I don't think there is handicapped access at all. The room was nicely furnished with a comfortable bed and a good bathroom; but the bath was in a corner of the bedroom behind a screen.

Downstairs was a sitting room/reception area, comfortably furnished, with memorabilia, books and magazines, and the dining room. There is a fixed dinner menu at fixed price and you are seated with other people at tables of four or six, the seating plan according to the whim of the manageress. The food was brought to the table with a gastronomic summary from the chef, who is inventive and talented, and brings a native-American flavour to some of the dishes. Breakfast was the usual, and good.

I left wishing we were staying for more than one night, as I had planned, but I couldn't book a longer stay - it's popular and I can understand why.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and seem to be accurately described on the web site: if it doesn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
15.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
483 reviews
15.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
478 reviews
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
15.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Requa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Requa Inn

Address: 451 Requa Rd, Klamath, CA 95548-9373
Region: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath
Price Range: £92 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Requa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the mouth of Northern California's Klamath River, where the Redwoods meet the sea, the Requa Inn has been a home away from home for over a century. Built from old growth redwood, the 13 room inn features private bathrooms in every guestroom and a sumptuous breakfast cooked to order every morning. Guests also enjoy the best of local organic food in the Inn's restaurant every evening with a fine selection of regional wines and beer. Featuring wi-fi throughout the property, the Historic Requa Inn is the perfect basecamp for a redwood adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Historic Requa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Requa Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing