We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Historic Requa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Historic Requa Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Klamath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our stay here was a highlight on our drive from San Diego to Vancouver B.C.It had been recommended to us but we did not know what to expect given its unprepossessing appearance.It still has an old lodge feel(which it is) with rustic but comfortable rooms.The lounge area looks over the river as does the dining room where we had on outstanding meal...the best on our trip.Would highly recommend this place and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    99
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
60
267
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This historic property is well run and well maintained. Our room was actually a pair of rooms separated by a bath which worked great for our luggage since each room separately was small. The bed was comfortable and the common areas spacious with a beautiful view out over the mouth of the Klamath river. Breakfast was expansive with plenty of choices (including a great smoothie even if it was green!).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ms2thdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and 17 year old son recently stayed here while on a road trip up the Californian Coast. It had good reviews and was well situated for our travels. On arrival we were mesmerised by the tranquil and picturesque setting. We were made to feel very welcome and immediately at home. The comfortable reception area had a fire and a beautiful outlook with lots of intriguing history and knick knacks all wonderfully displayed to browse and enjoy, (there was even a multitude of board games to keep us entertained for weeks/months!)
Our room was "The Post Office" room which was well appointed, spacious, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The beds were divine, Every detail had been thought of.
We regrettably didn't book for dinner but would highly recommend that you do, as the food is locally sourced and prepared and cooked on site, the breakfast was superb which was included. The staff were delightful, friendly and very helpful with lots of local knowledge to share.
There is an opportunity for some magical walks in the area and even just waking in the morning to the serenity of The Inn and it's surroundings is enough to want to stay longer, which I wish we could have. It was hard to leave.

Room Tip: The Post Office Room with its own entry and spacious interior with sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights on our honeymoon road trip (we drove from San Fran to Portland on the coastal highway). I did a lot of research on where to stop throughout our trip, and stumbled upon the Historic Requa Inn via TripAdvisor. I didn't know much about the town of Klamath, but it was a good stopping point for us to rest and enjoy a few days of northern California. I have to say that this was one of our favorite stops on our honeymoon. The town of Klamath is small and there is not as much to do, but the Historic Requa Inn was absolutely beautiful! We stayed in room #8, Emerald Ridge, and LOVED it! The room wasn't very big, but we had our own bathroom and the views made the stay. We spent a day hiking in the redwoods, and another day exploring the surrounding area. In our down town we would sit on the bed, windows open, breeze blowing, and seals barking in the distance. It was spectacular! We also found a post card on the check in desk that advertised a canoe nature tour. We called the guy and so glad we did. He took us on his motorized canoe and we explored the Kalmath river, riding up to the "mouth". We got out onto the sandy banks and watched fisherman catch salmon, and watched the sea lions swim about.
Our first night we did not partake in the prix fixe meal, but after enjoying it our second night I sure wish we did. The dinner was elegant, delicious, beautiful, and provided an opportunity for us to meet other guests. We had a great time talking with another couple vacationing from Alaska. My husband and I enjoyed the hot breakfast each morning and everything was absolutely delicious!!!
I am so glad we took a chance on staying here and it was a wonderful surprise. I hope we visit in the future!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

A babbling brook right outside my bedroom window, views of the river from the living room, the most comfortable queen size bed and fluffy quilts, amazing Lemon poppyseed flapjacks & coffee for breakfast, a warm cozy fireplace in the main living room with hot chocolate in the evening. All this and a friendly game of catch with Snapples every morning.

My only regret is that I didn't book an extra night when my business concluded. I will be back strictly for fun!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MandyMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 4 nights at this lovely Inn. Our room was spacious and very clean; crisp sheets and a down comforter kept us cozy! Breakfast every morning was delicious; smoothies, fresh fruit, cooked to order eggs and pancakes. The view was spectacular looking out on the Klamath River, a short drive to the beaches was not a problem. Dinner was wonderfully presented and very tasty. My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jck142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We passed this inn on a driving trip to Palm Springs and made a point of staying a night on the way back, and enjoyed it very much. We had a large, bright room with a spectacular view of the river, at the front, but the smaller rooms at the back looked very nice too. The only concern that we mentioned at the time, though too late to do anything about it, was that on investigating why we were so hot at night, we found two duvets, two blankets and a quilt on our bed. So check whether your bedding is on the over-generous side!
The location is wonderful, and we were lucky enough to see whales near the mouth of the river when we drove up to the nearby look-out point.
The dinner was very good - the cod was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas6186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
15.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
15.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
15.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Requa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Requa Inn

Property: Historic Requa Inn
Address: 451 Requa Rd, Klamath, CA 95548-9373
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Requa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the mouth of Northern California's Klamath River, where the Redwoods meet the sea, the Requa Inn has been a home away from home for over a century. Built from old growth redwood, the 13 room inn features private bathrooms in every guestroom and a sumptuous breakfast cooked to order every morning. Guests also enjoy the best of local organic food in the Inn's restaurant every evening with a fine selection of regional wines and beer. Featuring wi-fi throughout the property, the Historic Requa Inn is the perfect basecamp for a redwood adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Historic Requa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Requa Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing