We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
Review of Historic Requa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Requa Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Klamath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

If you are traveling and staying in the National Redwood Forest in CA the B&B options are limited but the Requa Inn is your best option. Very friendly staff, comfortable and clean room, breakfast and dinner was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river offer the best views but there is traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 684patricka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    100
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
61
274
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Our recent three night stay at the Requa Inn was relaxing and enjoyable and we found the innkeepers and their staff to be welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was a front room overlooking the river and while the furnishings are dated the bed was comfy and the bathroom spacious and well stocked. The front porch rockers are a wonderful spot to watch the wildlife along the river and the living room is great for socializing or spending an hour or so looking through the scrapbooks that chronicle the Inn's history. We had a wonderful breakfasts, two delicious suppers and enjoyed our dinner companions. Janet has a knack for pairing up guests.

As stated on the website the Inn is old and the walls thin. However, old does not mean shabby at the Requa and even at full capacity we found the building to be quiet. Street noise was minimal and we were able to sleep soundly with the windows open.

So, if you find yourself in the redwoods, treat yourself to a couple nights at the Requa Inn. It's a wonderful old inn, it's view of the Klamath is beautiful and the hiking in the area is amazing. And don't miss sunset at the overlook.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We didn't stay here but had read about the dinners and that non-guests could eat here if space was available. We had driven to the overlook and decided to stop and check it out. The staff was wonderful and told us about the next evening's dinner menu as the current evening was fully booked. They also invited us to stay and enjoy the happy hour which we did. It was a good choice as the wines were excellent, a good pour and very reasonable in price. We sat on the front porch and talked with guests that were staying at the inn. Decided to return the next evening for dinner, which was halibut, pork tenderloin with apricot, beet salad and panna cotta (4 course dinners). Each course is small so you are not too full which is fine with us. However, altho the meal was very good, it was not excellent and particularly not for the $45 prefix price. In fact, we had better halibut at a little local restaurant in Yachats, OR (where we are staying now). So I highly recommend stopping in for happy hour but can't recommend the dinners.

Room Tip: My review is only for happy hour and the evening dinner as we did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Bug-369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

booked last minute on a road trip up the coast . great location on the Klamath River. it isnt much from the front but lovely inside. its old, 100 years old and the floors sag and lean. the room we had in the front was warm and beautiful with a view of the river. the king bed was very comfortable and our night was quiet. the spa outside is small, but secluded and can be reserved for privacy with a sign up sheet. we skipped the prix fixed dinner, duck and ling cod was on the menu. breakfast is also limited but offered more choices we found enough options to suit all four of us. the house cats are friendly and offer a warm touch. my wife and i spent the night playing dominos with a glass of wine while our boys found a plug and wi fi connection for netflix. (no tv a the hotel) as long as you know this is an old property it offers a wonderful stay in the redwoods

Room Tip: front rooms could be loud if lots of river activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeinsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Requa in June 2014. It was rainy that day and we were happy to have a place to settle after a long day of driving. The lobby and the chairs in our room were perfect for curling up with a book and a glass of wine obtained from the front desk. We enjoyed the dinner very much and breakfast the next day was also delicious. Sitting out on the porch overlooking the river was very pleasant even in the rain!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunloveny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed one night at Requa Inn. As others have commented it is a charming old building overlooking a peaceful river. While sitting in the front porch we saw a bear swim across the river, as well as fish jumping. The breakfast was great, but we were disappointed by the Dinner. It is very expensive for what it is. It felt as if the chef was trying too hard and the food was OK, but not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This wonderful Inn was recommended by a very nice cashier in Trinidad, after we were unable to find last minute lodging on our "no itinerary" vacation. I called immediately, and reserved a room. Upon arrival, we asked if we could stay 2 nights ... Yes, but in a different room, which was just as great as the first. At checkout, we found that, although there was no room at the Inn when we inquired about yet another night's lodging, a cancellation had occurred! So, we spent our third night in yet another fabulous room. Each room looked out onto the mouth of the Klamath River, and was simply breathtaking! The breakfasts were incredible, gourmet pancakes, fresh fruit or smoothies, the best hot cereal ever, and smoked bacon ... Oh, and chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon in the lobby. The service was GREAT, and we plan on going back yearly, bringing along family/friends for a relaxing and beautiful vacation among the redwoods.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnTheR0adAgain--2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
15.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
430 reviews
15.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
15.0 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
301 reviews
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Requa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Requa Inn

Property: Historic Requa Inn
Address: 451 Requa Rd, Klamath, CA 95548-9373
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Requa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the mouth of Northern California's Klamath River, where the Redwoods meet the sea, the Requa Inn has been a home away from home for over a century. Built from old growth redwood, the 13 room inn features private bathrooms in every guestroom and a sumptuous breakfast cooked to order every morning. Guests also enjoy the best of local organic food in the Inn's restaurant every evening with a fine selection of regional wines and beer. Featuring wi-fi throughout the property, the Historic Requa Inn is the perfect basecamp for a redwood adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Requa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Requa Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing