We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Historic Requa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Historic Requa Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Klamath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

My husband and I drove from Settle to the Red National Forest in late September.
Perfect location to explore the Redwoods. The Inn is lovely, perfect combination of B&B and Hotel, so you don't feel like your staying in somebody's guest room but very charming and relaxed. Our room was large with separate tub outside of the bathroom. Breakfast delicious! Gingerbread pancakes. The hosts, extremely knowledgable and helpful. Hummingbirds surround the place, dogs greet you as you walk around and you can spy seals & sea lions chasing salmon in the river below. I wish I could have stayed in the area longer, so much to explore between the coast and the forest.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    99
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
60
267
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
On the move in Europe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

The Requa Inn is a fantastic place to stay while exploring the Redwood parks in northern California. It's right in the middle of what I consider to be the best hikes and parks in the system. The beds are super comfy and it's only the excellent breakfast they serve each morning that makes it easier to get out each day.

Each room is a bit different and their website has good descriptions and pictures worth checking out. I was in the corner by the road and was concerned about the road noise but it wasn't a problem at all.

As I said, breakfast is excellent with organic eggs, local jam and cheese and different hotcakes each day. The dining area has fantastic views of the river below where you can watch seals, birds and fisherman. Be sure to head up the hill from the inn at sunset for a great way to end your day.

If I knew someone was going to check out the redwoods, I'd tell them not to bother staying anywhere but at the Requa Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roobieroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

We stayed three nights in the Cathedral Room of this historic inn. The room was decorated in reds - feminine but not overly done. I especially enjoyed the clawfoot tub for evening soaks with a glass of wine. Our room had a beautiful view of the Klamath River.
We did have an opportunity to check out some of the other rooms and all were nice, clean, and comfortable.

The best part of this inn however were the innkeepers, Barb and Dave. They are very friendly and helpful. Takling care of the Requa is a labor of love for them and it shows. The downstairs sitting areas and dining room have lots of comfortable sofas, a fireplace, and windows for gazing at the river. We met lots of interesting guests from around the world. There is a computer and TV for guest use, as well as a hot tub outside.

The breakfast was amazing. There is a menu of breakfast meats, eggs, homemade bread, and fruit to choose from and daily specials like omelettes.. Hotcakes are adifferent flavor each day- I especially enjoyed the gingerbread pancakes. Everything is made to order. My boyfriend loved the green smoothie.

I highly recommend the Requa Inn. It proved to be a perfect place to come home to after a day spent hiking, kayaking, and exploring the Redwood National and State Parks.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We are from the UK,and the Inn and climate reminded us of a scenic spot in rural wales, although the wildlife are completely different e.g Bears, Humming Birds etc. The rooms have an Edwardian period feeling about them and the Breakfast is superb. The only drawback is there is no evening meal available and the local alternatives are not exactly top notch. A lovely part of the world, where time stands still. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanleySurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Head Park, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed for four nights on a trip to explore Redwoods National Park after my husband read "The Wild Trees." The location of the inn places you right in the middle of the two best sections of the National Park with the oldest trees to the north and great trails to the south. The building may be historic, but the guest rooms have a clean fresh feeling with comfortable ammenities. I do recommend the rooms facing the Klamath River. Except for a few power lines, we enjoyed watching the fogs roll in and the native fishermen dropping gill nets. The common rooms gave us many chances to meet fellow travelors and share ideas for places to visit. David, the innkeeper, is a wonderful source of info with maps, tide charts, ranger talk schedules, place to eat and more. There are also books available about the local history of the former town of Requa, the life story of the inn, and the Crescent City tsunami of 1964. Breakfast is generous, coffee and tea are always available and cookies appear in the dinning room each afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiltingangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the inn on our trip to play in the redwoods. Accomodations are few and far between in this area, so we were pleasantly surprised by the Requa Inn. It isn't much to look at when you drive up, but the interior is very charming. It is an old inn, but the downstairs is very cozy with a fireplace and a huge dining room where they have coffee and tea and cookies. There is a sitting room off the dining room with a computer and internet access and a piano. Our room was huge with a king sized bed and 2 chairs at a window that looked out over the river. The bed was very comfortable. We skipped breakfast to go hiking in the redwoods. This is by far the best place to stay in the Klamath area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We enjoyed two nights at this historic inn. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. Ours had a wonderful view of the Klamath River. Right up the road from the inn is a breathtaking lookout over the mouth of the Klamath as it spills into the Pacific. The breakfasts were delicious: fresh local food made to order. It is a short drive to the redwoods parks. The only drawback was finding food for lunch and dinner: there is little food available in the area, as the towns nearby are very small. Next time we go we will take our own food for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PearlOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
15.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
15.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
15.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Requa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Requa Inn

Property: Historic Requa Inn
Address: 451 Requa Rd, Klamath, CA 95548-9373
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Requa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the mouth of Northern California's Klamath River, where the Redwoods meet the sea, the Requa Inn has been a home away from home for over a century. Built from old growth redwood, the 13 room inn features private bathrooms in every guestroom and a sumptuous breakfast cooked to order every morning. Guests also enjoy the best of local organic food in the Inn's restaurant every evening with a fine selection of regional wines and beer. Featuring wi-fi throughout the property, the Historic Requa Inn is the perfect basecamp for a redwood adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Historic Requa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Requa Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing