We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the Redwoods”
Review of Ravenwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Klamath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ravenwood Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Klamath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Recommended from a friend we booked our stay here. Im not a fan of motels but we were very comfortable here. Bed and room was very clean. The bed was nice and comfy. Not to firm and not to soft. After a 7 hour drive it was nice to arrive to a waiting room. Total check in time was about 4 minutes. Barbara at the front desk was very nice to us. Full of good information for the surrounding area. Woke up to fresh coffee and lots of fresh fruit. Cereal, teas, hot chocolate, bottled water and more. We will return for our next trip. Plan on fishing the Klamath for our next trip.
We also met many friendly people from around the world. Ravenwood obviously does it right!
Thank you
Bill & Barbara Hirdman

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B-Hirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed at the Ravenwood Motel based on the Tripadvisor reviews. I was a bit disappointed. It was clean and quiet (the most important things for me), but the rooms were a bit small. The continental breakfast was loaded with carbs, and the fruit was canned. At times, the internet connection was quite slow. Still, for the price it was a good value and met our needs. We were out most of the day exploring the redwoods and only needed a place to crash for the night. I would actually rate this as 3 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom_of_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We chose to stay at Ravenwood Motel because of the reviews that we had read on Tripadvisor, but our room was not what we had anticipated. While the room is immaculate, it was also very small, making movement around the room difficult, especially when our luggage was brought in. The bed was also very uncomfortable. The woman working at the front desk was very polite and accommodating.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank travelingmom-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Where to begin.

When checking in the reception lady was a bit impersonal, some might even consider it rude. After a while, she became a bit friendlier. Still, with a Holliday Inn Express opening up next door soon, you'd expect smaller motels would pull out all the stops being friendly and welcoming.

The room (suite 27) was ok. Enough space for 5 people, maybe even 6. Clean, loads of towels, tv, wifi (with rules/limitations) and, close to the Redwood forests! Do remember: the rooms might be alongside US-101, so expect car noises.

Breakfast is ok too. Enough of what you need, but no big feast, but that's to be expected.

Sidenote: there's barely any places to eat nearby, so be prepared! We got some fried chicken from a gas station nearby...purely out of desperation.

Room Tip: Some rooms are next to US-101, so expect road noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CarolusvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stopped here on the spur of the moment. Needed 2 rooms and they were available. Were able to check them out before committing. We asked about laundry and were told it was available for guests which was a plus. Only issue was that the Wifi was down due to a connectivity issue but was fixed by morning. Only restaurant in the area was a bar and takeout at the next door convenience store, but that is not the motel's fault, given that Klamath is a small place. This place had the best towels of any we stayed at in 7 days of traveling! There is a new Holiday Inn Express opening right next door but I'm sure the cost will be double what we paid here, thus out of our league.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank TravelerADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Making our way up through the Redwoods and over to southern Oregon we ended up here for an unplanned stop. We planned to visit Fern Canyon and didn't want to backtrack from Crescent City so we stopped in to see if they had any rooms left. Turns out they had a couple left. They had one queen left and a room with 2 twins. We took both. The rooms were on the smallish side but were nicely decorated and comfortable. The grounds offered many little nooks and crannies to hang out in. There was a glider rocker, patio furniture under a gazebo, and places to set your own grill if you want to prepare your own food. I actually suggest that because the restaurant choices are slim to none. We ended up with the Chesters chicken from the gas station next door.

When we arrived we noticed a sign on the door apologizing for the lack of wifi. They have it, it just wasn't working. She'd called tech support with no resolution. (I'm not sure how long it had been out) Since my husband is an IT guy for our state, I offered to have him take a look at it. (Guys,don't you just love it when your wife volunteers you for stuff like this? :) ) The manager thought for a minute and said she'd talk to "the boss" and get back to me. Later she declined our offer. So we just set up our own 'hot spot' with our phones. The next morning at breakfast I suppose she was desperate and reconsidered our offer. 5 minutes later he was back and it was fixed.

A guest laundry is available, $1. per load wash and dry.

The accommodations were clean and comfortable and we'll stay again if we get out that way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank readyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We made reservations here as part of a road trip, but were a little nervous based on some reviews and our discussion with front desk. On our arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the desk clerk, the cleanliness of the room, and the comfort of the bed. However, the only close restaurant was a bar across the street that served hamburgers. We learned the next day there were some nicer places to eat down the road. In the end, we were satisfied with our stay, and if I was with the guys on a fishing trip I'd probably stay here again. But probably not as a family trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GraniteBayTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
17 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
488 reviews
1.7 mi away
Historic Requa Inn
Historic Requa Inn
#1 of 1 in Klamath
421 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Motel

Address: 151 Klamath Boulevard, P.O. Box 1004, Klamath, CA 95548-1004
Region: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Klamath
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Motel Klamath
Ravenwood Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing