We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark, Damp & Musty”
Review of Motel Trees

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Klamath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Trees
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Klamath
Lathrop, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dark, Damp & Musty”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was an outdated motor lodge. Stopped Easter night so we could visit the Trees of Mystery the next morning. The restaurant never opened, we had a dinner of snacks from the car, we were pulling a trailer which was not convenient to drive somewhere for dinner or breakfast. New windows, bathroom was clean however, it should have had a fan for all the dampness. Water was orange from all the iron, even in the ice bucket the next day! The WiFi did not work, nor was there any cell service for me to even check trip advisor. Pet friendly. Old blankets and bed cover, kind of gross not knowing if they are cleaned. Carpet was damp and the room smelled musty. I would not consider walking in the room without shoes. The woman that checked us in was not overly friendly but the maid the next morning was kind enough to call across the street to us that we left our pillows! I felt at $91 for a single bed with a roll away for our son was too much for what we got.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GwendaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    37
    31
    5
    11
See reviews for
45
36
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We thought the place was quaint and clean we drove from samuel p taylor state park it was dark when we arrived. Checked in when o got in bed i started geting bit. I ended up sleeping in the car. Jim my husband was exhasted and slept in bed. I am not kidding and would never bad mouth a place but Do Not Stay There

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katfreeborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Klamath hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

One standard room for 2x pax in September 2012. Nice simple spacious motor inn. Chose it because it was directly across the road from Trees of Mystery - and I'm guessing a lot of the trade is from this. Nothing to write home about, but nothing to complain about either. Much happier giving money (a reasonable price too!) to independent operators than the chains. Bed was okay, room was spacious, shower was fine. All you need from a motor inn really.

HOWEVER... The restaurant which is either attached/affiliated/whatever to the motel is absolutely rubbish. It was closed for dinner by the time we arrived - approx 7:30pm - when it seemed quite a few people had just/were at that time/about to check in - silly move which just sent people up to the petrol station/convenience store up the road. That said, it was a blessing in disguise, because we had breakfast the next day, which was awful. I'm not usually one to complain about restaurants, as any cook can have an off day - but it was expensive (probably our most expensive breakfast in three weeks travelling in OR/CA/TX/TN), barely edible, the service was incredibly inattentive, and the restaurant had the "delightful" combination odour of musky/disinfected.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveloctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Was getting dark after a long drive that day decided to stay here.Yes it is clean,good price.Maybe we got a old room the t.v.was old the heat was a wll heater.I was afraid the door may have been to thin could have been kicked in by bigfoot.No one was hardly there 2 other cars.Bed was not comfortable.I would plan next time to not be in the woods after dark and have to stay in the middle of nowhere thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirl13Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We have been staying at the Motel Trees for 30+ years ... and the basic reasons were location and price. With the recent room remodel, I would now add the rooms. The room had two queens with a small dinette table and chairs, dresser, flat screen TV, closet area, and nice roomy modern bathroom with large walkin shower. Next door is a nice resturant with good food ... and across the street Paul Bunyon and his blue ox, Babe, greet you for their Mystery of Trees (kind of hokey but fun for the kids). The location within the Klamath area and between Crescent City and the Del Norte/Prairie Creek redwoods is ideal. The gem that most folks don't know is the beautiful 1/2 trail that commences behind the motel to Hidden Beach. It's a beautiful secluded beach littered with driftwood, giant rocks and sand ... the sunsets are incredible! This is a low-key, family- run motel with few amenities ... so don't compare to corporate run motels ... enjoy for what it offers.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank TravelerPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Newly remodeled motel right across from the trees of mystery. Very clean and nice with satellite TV and free wifi. We've been riding our Harleys from Yuma up the coast without making any reservations and this was the best and most pleasantly surprising find yet. The lady at the desk was very helpful. The attached cafe had a nice dinner but didn't open as advertised in the morning. Backtracked about 5 miles to the log cabin diner for a great breakfast. No hesitation recommending this motel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank imdbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had travelled north from San Francisco without booking a hotel near Fortuna and by the time we were ready to stop for the night we couldn't find a motel in Fortuna or the city north of Fortuna. As it was just turning dark my husband spotted the "Motel Trees". We pulled in and got the last room. We were pleasantly surprised at how big & clean the rooms were. We had a great sleep and would suggest it to anyone travelling through the area. It is definitely a room from the 60's but with updates. We felt extremely safe there amoung the redwoods!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janice1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
12.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
415 reviews
12.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 18 in Crescent City
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
987 reviews
12.8 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
435 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Trees

Property: Motel Trees
Address: 15497 US Highway 101, Klamath, CA 95548
Region: United States > California > Klamath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Klamath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Motel Trees Hotel Klamath
Trees Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing