We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage in a friendly quiet village”
other travellers have booked this property
Glen Cottage, Exterior photo showing Patio area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glen Cottage, Exterior photo showing Patio area
Lounge showing sofa bed Contemporary gloss white kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Glen Cottage, Exterior photo showing Patio area
Lounge showing sofa bed
Contemporary gloss white kitchen
Bedroom with overhead reading lights
Bedroom with feature bath (and large shower)
Lounge showing Jacqui's Pink wall
Toilet with travertine tiles
The Castle Pub
Fox & Hounds Pub
Village Hall
Doctors Surgery
Carpenters Workshop
Ducks
Duck Pond
Our Church
The Castle Mound
Ducks in the snow
Yew Tree Avenue, Clipsham
Castle Bytham Sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castle Bytham, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Buffy7263
Rhayader, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in a friendly quiet village”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Mike and Jacquie are excellent hosts, providing a warm and friendly welcome to their beautiful cottage. Glen Cottage provides everything you need for a relaxing break. It's presented to a very high standard with high quality fixtures and fittings. It is very clean with good quality bedding, towels, robes and slippers. It has the added luxury of separate shower and bath. The village location provides a very quiet stay with easy walking access to two pubs where good beer and food can be found. We used the cottage as a base to explore Lincolnshire; it is well located close to the main Lincolnshire roads. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, and although we didn't need anything as all was provided, they were always available if needed. We fully recommend this cottage as a quiet relaxing retreat. Many thanks to Mike and Jacquie for making our stay so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent quality of presentation and decor.
Liked least: No issues
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you here, and thank you for leaving our cottage so clean and tidy. Good luck with your house hunting!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Just returning from a weeks stay at "Glen Cottage" and had an absolutely perfect time. The photos are extremely accurate, the owners very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble whilst giving you all the space you need. The actual cottage is ideal, fittted extremely well and everything of a very high and elegant standard.

Highly recommended, many thanks and look forward to seeing you in the New Year!

Take care, James

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Thank you James!
I hope you had a good flight home. Merry Christmas, and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Regards,
Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavharley
gavharley
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed on a short break this week and have to say what a fantastic little cottage this is. Not far from the M1 with dedicated parking spaces and in a terrific little village with a cracking pub.

I was on my own but my wife would have loved the roll top bath in the bedroom in particular.

The fixtures and fittings are to a very high standard and there are flat screen TV's and Blue Ray DVD players in the lounge and the bedroom. All lovely.

Great hosts too - Mike and Jacqui made me very welcome - so what more can you ask for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of fixtures and fittings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thanks Gavin, it's much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Hidden away in the delightful village of Castle Bytham, this recently converted limestone barn is an absolute dream. It offers modern facilities, all on one level, which even the most discerning of travellers would find hard to beat. It would appeal to both young and old.
The hosts, Jacqui and Mike, are two of the friendliest and most helpful people you could wish to meet.
My overall score would be ten out of ten!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet village atmosphere and great hosts.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Thank you for your very kind review, and for recommending us to Debra!
Regards,
Mike and Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandGNort...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is a small, cosy cottage, equipped with everything you need. We were surprised how warm it was in September, without any heating on. The bed was particularly comfy - I liked the duvet so much I've bought one the same for myself! Wifi worked well. Good location for visiting pretty, unspoilt villages in lovely countryside, and several places of historical interest.
Castle Bytham is a quiet village: its shop closed 2 years ago so the nearest store is 4 miles away. Only one of the two pubs was open during our stay, the beer was good and food OK but basic. There was an inconvenient plumbing problem throughout our stay: the owner compensated us and promised it would be resolved when we left, so we felt he'd done his best.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. Apologies for the plumbing problem. It's now completely fixed - I totally bypassed the old pipework so the cistern now fills very quickly! Oh, we've also upgraded our broadband so it is now much quicker in the cottage as well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widdershi...
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My stay at Glen Cottage was a wonderful experience, not just because it is a warm, welcoming space but because Jacqui and Mike are amazingly generous and accommodating hosts. The cottage itself is clean and well stocked and very comfortable and you will be hard pressed to find a more beautiful village in the U.K.
I was very warmly welcomed and Mike makes sure that any questions you have are fully answered as he gives you a tour of the cottage. This is my second stay here and I hope to see beautiful Castle Bytham along with Mike and Jacqui next year! Thanks again for much for everything!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa A
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed here for a weekend on my own,left hubby and kiddies at home. What a treat it was to stay here, such a lovely cottage, the owners have carefully thought about everything, very comfortable bed, the bath was lush, I certainly recharged my batteries here, would highly recommend staying here, whether it be alone, a couples romantic get away or a family break, I for one cannot wait to return :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing