We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Eagle has landed! Iconic "TP course" delights golfers.”

Torrey Pines Golf Course
Book In Advance
More Info
US$118.50*
and up
Private Tour: Southern California Coastal Sights Helicopter Flight from San...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Torrey Pines offers two PGA courses.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 738 helpful votes
“The Eagle has landed! Iconic "TP course" delights golfers.”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Although I don't golf, I have toured this outstanding course a few times with my late Father who was the course's Amateurs Treasurer back in the 80s. Now, with the adjacent hotel offering a unique venue for a golf vacation in San Diego, Torrey Pines is a must-do for serious duffers. Whatever the weather, you won't go wrong playing a few challenging rounds here. Watch out for that 12th hole on the South Course, as Dad used to say!

Its hard not to be distracted by the astounding views and the vast cypress-clothed fairways but handicaps help, and finishing either over or under par, you won't be disappointed. Downsides are very high fees, lots of construction, celebrity privileges and for some, the miles accumulated if you walk the course. However, I advise getting out there early and dress warm if it is foggy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    87
    25
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
509 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“One of the great golf courses in the US”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Torrey Pines, particularly the South Course, is magnificent. The holes are long and are defined either by the ocean or by deep ravines that cut through the property. It was in excellent condition when we played. But this is a public course where the "dawn patrol" of locals spend the night in the parking lot (like Bethpage Black) in order to get an early tee time. Much easier is to stay at one of the two hotels that adjoin the property (the Hilton is nicer) and procure a tee time that way. It's an expensive round of golf, but absolutely worth it. Almost a good as Pebble Beach. Almost.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank johncgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“legendary course...deserves a look”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a stop on the tour provided by Tour Guide Tim.
Very nice golf course, well maintained. When we were there they were in the process of reseeding for winter. Proshop is good with lots of apparel to purchase at a reasonable price. While not an avid golfer it was nice to see the legendary course. Lots of pictures inside of a young tiger woods and phil mickelson. Photo op outside in front of the clock!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank onegameatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Torrey - where the pros play”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

If you are an avid golfer, or golf fan, the history and scenery at Torrey Pines is a definite "bucket list" item!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit dissapointed”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

To be fair they had just completed the fall aeration which surprisingly made the greens really poor but the fairway and rough was also really burned out. Even with a 20% discount I still had to pay $180 to play, plus a $40 booking fee...too steep for the condition. As a serious golfer though I had to check it off my list and don't regret playing. The layout is cool and the many of the views are as spectacular. I'd recommend walking which isn't too bad but you'll probably start to get tired towards the end.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torrey Pines Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing