We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fresh Fish”

El Pescador Fish Market
Ranked #6 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Fish”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Best Swordfish sandwich I have had in a long time, Salmon burgers were really good too. Primarily a fish market (for buying fresh and cooking at home). They will cook the food for you but very limited seating (4 tables), best to pick up to go.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    171
    51
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it, but left disappointed”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We absolutely love fresh fish and were excited to find out what has been fueling all the fuss about El Pescador. It looked awesome when we walked in, tons of fresh seafood on display, a horde of customers waiting in a cramped place and out on the sidewalk for what we expected to be spectacular food. My dining partner's combo sandwich was reportedly amazing, but I didn't have as great a meal. The chowder tasted more like thin cream of celery soup. The salmon burger was on amazingly soft bread, but the salmon itself was bland and overcooked. But maybe I got the wrong things? If there's a next time, I'll instead have to try the combo sandwich or fish tacos and hope for the best.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RunwiththisMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, Ca.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Busy always, but for a reason. Off the beaten tourist path (I am glad) great locals, tiny sit down area, great to take out, always the very best freshest fish, world class chowder and cioppino, and lots of fresh fish choices to take home and cook yourself.
Love this place, and have for years!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul-LaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“As local as it gets”
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Pearl street's El Pescadore fish market is hard to beat. Period. Tables are few but the choices of fresh fish and Mexican jumbo shrimp is amazing! I tried the fish tacos with snapper and was amazed. The yellowtail sandwich never disappointed either. A local mix of surfers and business people make this a must see and experience. To be continued for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaypc6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously Good Seafood”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A retail fish market with a few tables and an extensive menu of sandwiches, salads, entrees to take out or eat in. Calamari steak, not something readily seen any more, was fork cut tender. Salmon sandwich very good. Quick bite when you don't feel like dressing. Take out for a bite by the beach. You'll find, in season, Halibut, Swordfish, Salmon, Mussels, Calamari, shark, Bass, Yellowtail, in addition to shrimp of all sizes, crab, Snapper, clams. A very good place for a casual meal. Tables turn quickly. Speedy service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caferoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Pescador Fish Market also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to El Pescador Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing