We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Tasty Sea-Fast-Food (not restaurant)”

El Pescador Fish Market
Ranked #7 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fresh Tasty Sea-Fast-Food (not restaurant)”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

12 to 16 may sit inside if lucky, but service is very good and staff very nice. Besides the famous fish-sanduiches there are nice (plastic) dishes too. Next time I'll try a dish. Very worth for a quick lunch or grab and go. Some waiting because it's fresh done.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldwideleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    173
    52
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“had to throw it away”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I love this place but last Friday I brought two salmon salads home and had to throw both away. Dry, tasteless and did not smell right? I asked for the wild king from the case but got pieces that dried out on the grille before they even hit my salad?



Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small fish place”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We decided to carry out dinner from this restaurant one night after we saw the sea lions at La Jolla Cove. The local halibut was just okay and the shrimp cocktail had way too much sauce, as did the shrimp and Dungeness crab cocktail. I rate this restaurant as just okay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ABQ-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good sandwiches”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

went there because of the good reviews on tripadvisor and was not disappointed. they offer deli style fish on sandwiches or salad and make it fresh to your order. there are only few tables but they were all full. food was great but some of the displayed fish did not look fresh so pick carefully

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sportsmed t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Take it and Go to the Beach..”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This La Jolla local hide away fish joint is flat out the Best Fish sandwich, or Fish Stake or Salad place in San Diego. And trust me I've LOOKED.

Its deli style service they have a few chairs inside and out, but this stuff travels great, head down to the beach with your amazing dinner.

Do NOT forget a bowl of clam chowder. This stuff is amazing fresh and o so good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Pescador Fish Market also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to El Pescador Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing