We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Burger Lounge

Burger Lounge
Ranked #13 of 1,240 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Burger Lounge ethos is to create a great tasting burger you feel good about eating - "to do a common thing uncommonly well." It starts with 100% fresh single source American grass-fed beef. We believe that a hamburger should not only taste great, it should utilize healthy ingredients produced in a sustainable environment. We provide a simple menu that appeals to health conscious diners, vegetarians, salad lovers and those simply "hankering for a great hamburger." Burger Lounge is a gimmick free fast casual respite where guests can enjoy real food made from whole food ingredients in a modern and comfortable setting.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ate one hamburger and five pounds of onion rings. Really good food and service.Never ran out of the great ice tea. There were four of us, we all enjoyed it BUT for the hot sun. Could not find a shady spot and that is a shame because I will never do that again. See you after the summer is over. Please isn't there some way to provide more shade? A retractable cover or cute waitresses holding umbrellas. I honestly love your food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    95
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Burger!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I consider myself quite the Burger Specialist, and this one is top notch.
Though the fast food like looking venue, this is no McDonnalds.
It beats most of them fancy shmancy places by a knock out.
The buns however really suck. They fall apart and disintegrate while you're eating that is actually quite annoying.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yoel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love Burger Lounge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were famished upon our arrival at Burger Lounge and it did not disappoint. Great burgers, OK fries, delicious sodas in flavors we do not have on the east coast. The onion rings looked fantastic on our neighbors plates but we didn't have them. I will go back any time I visit La Jolla.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolalemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Went here a couple of times on trip to San Diego. Food was decent quality for what it was. First time took about 15 minutes to arrive, second time took 30 minutes (despite being told it would be 7 minutes by girl at till). Not sure how it takes so long to produce burger and fries. Staff were actually very friendly though. If you're not in a rush, head on in!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Sooo good!!! Turkey burger was juicy. Chocolate shake was tasty. Kids don't usually eat their burgers, but they finished this one. Fries were great too!

Helpful?
1 Thank ramirez587
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Burger Lounge also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Burger Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing