We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in La Jolla” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scripps Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scripps Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Best place in La Jolla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I used to stay at the La Valencia, which is great for a romantic, adult trip, but pricey. The Scripps Inn is so much better in every respect, very romantic, quiter location but still in the heart of the city with amazing views. And much more affordable. The rooms feel like your own weekend apartments and the staff is super friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florianhaertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    70
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
80
141
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basilea, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

What a wonderful place! We spent three days in this wonderful hotel. We (Swiss family) were travelling with our three children (16, 14, 10), and they slept in the living room on the sofa-bed and a rollout bed. And for the parents there was a bedroom with a king size bed. From the living room you have a great view to the pacific ocean - the beach is a couple of steps away. Whenever I go back to the West Coast, I will try to spend some days in this small paradise!

Room Tip: If I remember i right we had Room 12 with direct view to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Two Coloradoans came for only two nights to body surf, smell the sea, hear the gulls and sea lions, and, well, shop! Had a great time- parked the car and walked everywhere, no wheels needed. Room was comfortable and nice, did not notice that it needed any updates. Incredible views and location. Wonderful staff. Agree the breakfast needed yogurt, but whatevah. Really good croissants. Would stay again in a New York minute.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banning, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We recently stayed at Scripps Inn in La Jolla with our grandchildren. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful with reservations for restaurants and kayak tours. The Inn was across from the ocean and our room provided stunning ocean views, especially at sunset. We would certainly stay again and we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The location is definitely great, 5 start location right across from the beach. The staff were great, and very willing to help with anything you needed, including planning the rest of our trip. The room was nice, and I liked the layout and the decor. We had a few chairs set outside our room for us to relax and enjoy the view. Inside the room, I was able to get a nice breeze by opening the windows just right, which was perfect! We had to deduct one star as the cleaning staff left hairs in the tub, and an unopened Smirnoff beer bottle under the bed. The bed was great though, and comfortable, so it was easy to get some much needed sleep. I enjoyed the small continental breakfast held in the lobby. While it was small it served it's purpose just fine. I didn't have to compete with a large number of guests as this is a small hotel. We were only there for one night, but wished we could have stayed the whole week there. It was definitely the best location for a relaxing vacation in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor on the south side. Just loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomiskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purvis, Mississippi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Quaint little inn across the street from the ocean and walking distance from all of the shops in town. I thoroughly enjoyed the view and convenient location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Having stayed at many inns across the country, this was the WORST: a glorified motel with the close proximity to the ocean as its draw! BRING FEBREZE AND YOUR OWN BED PILLOWS!! The 'lobby' is an approximate 10x8 room with a check-in counter and to the side a book shelf where the 'deluxe' continental breakfast is served beginning at 8 a.m. Breakfast consisted of k-cup coffee choices with containers of coffee mate for cream, packages of oatmeal (placed in styrofoam bowl with plastic utensils), large open bowl of their homemade granola, a tray of croissants, muffins and pastries which could have easily come from the local grocery (Vons), and containers of juices - all of which are placed on a tray to eat elsewhere. Air conditioning is not needed, but regardless, windows had to be kept open for the room was stuffy with a some what acrid, old smoke smell. Getting a sound sleep was a challenge with windows open and cars parking 6 - 8 feet from the room, you could not help be awoken by other guests at night. The room was clean, lighting poor for reading, the mattress was okay, but the pillows were horrible - a thick, 2 inch solid fiber style that was better suited for a chair pad and the shams were more like real pillows, but smelled awful. Those on the first floor also had to contend with the noise from the rooms above them. Each room's noted balcony/patio areas were part of the 3 foot wide walkway outside the room where two cushioned, table style chairs were placed - only 2 rooms had an actual patio or balcony. The only thing legitimate for an inn was a comfortable 2 sofa patio area looking out to the water. There was no staff on the premises at night, in an emergency, a phone in a box outside the office door had to be used. Both the bathroom and its towels were small (high school gym towel) of typical motel quality. The room was dark, not open or airy and furnishings where of a typical beach motif, wood style floor with no rugs. A big literary license was used by the owners marketing this place. Beware!

Room Tip: Request end rooms facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjTRAVELER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.4 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scripps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scripps Inn

Property: Scripps Inn
Address: 555 Coast Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scripps Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of Southern California's pristine beaches, Scripps Inn is a charming 14 room inn that offers up one of La Jolla's best kept secrets. A favorite hideaway for both relaxation and romance, we provide stunning ocean views, gentle sea breezes and the relaxing sounds of the rolling surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scripps Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scripps Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing