We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
232
82
14
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
82
14
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee and pastrieswithin walking distancehear the waves crashingcontinental breakfastwatch the sunsetlocation is amazingdirectly across the streetrestaurants and shopsmuseum of contemporary artthe ground floorbedroom suitechildren's pooldowntown la jollabeautiful oceanrooms are largeeach morningliving area
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Spent labor day weekend at Scripps Inn. It was a great stay, nice room with kitchen, living room and two bedrooms. Our room looked right out onto the ocean, had no problem with parking and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. Everything was in walking distance. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I used to stay at the La Valencia, which is great for a romantic, adult trip, but pricey. The Scripps Inn is so much better in every respect, very romantic, quiter location but still in the heart of the city with amazing views. And much more affordable. The rooms feel like your own weekend apartments and the staff is super friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florianhaertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

What a wonderful place! We spent three days in this wonderful hotel. We (Swiss family) were travelling with our three children (16, 14, 10), and they slept in the living room on the sofa-bed and a rollout bed. And for the parents there was a bedroom with a king size bed. From the living room you have a great view to the pacific ocean - the beach is a couple of steps away. Whenever I go back to the West Coast, I will try to spend some days in this small paradise!

Room Tip: If I remember i right we had Room 12 with direct view to the ocean
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Two Coloradoans came for only two nights to body surf, smell the sea, hear the gulls and sea lions, and, well, shop! Had a great time- parked the car and walked everywhere, no wheels needed. Room was comfortable and nice, did not notice that it needed any updates. Incredible views and location. Wonderful staff. Agree the breakfast needed yogurt, but whatevah. Really good croissants. Would stay again in a New York minute.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We recently stayed at Scripps Inn in La Jolla with our grandchildren. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful with reservations for restaurants and kayak tours. The Inn was across from the ocean and our room provided stunning ocean views, especially at sunset. We would certainly stay again and we would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews