We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
234
84
14
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
84
14
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee and pastries hear the waves crashing within walking distance continental breakfast watch the sunset perfect location ceiling fan directly across the street restaurants and shops museum of contemporary art the ground floor bedroom suite children's pool view of the ocean no air conditioning downtown la jolla each morning
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This property is literally steps from one of the most beautiful and geographically interesting beaches in California. Go for a long walk on the beach at low tide and watch an incredible sunset. It is also a short walk to the shopping areas and many good restaurants. I had my best burger ever at Smashburger (on Prospect street)!

Our upstairs room was quiet, large and comfy. It had all the necessary amenities, however I found TV channel-surfing to be difficult. Hotel staff were pleasant and engaging. Breakfast was adequat but would benefit with the addition of fruit and yogurt.

We were here with a wedding party who occupied the entire hotel. For any couples considering the same, know that Scripps Inn worked out extremely well for this occasion. I would also recommend it for a romantic getaway with your special someone!

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room upstairs
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This little upscale motel-style inn is right on the beach and is very clean. The rooms are large but can be noisy, especially if you're in a first floor room (you can hear people thumping around above you even if they're being quiet). The other guests seemed to know this and generally the place was quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is not, however, a traditional B&B so don't expect a full breakfast for the price (which is the reason for my 3 stars instead of 4 or 5).

The breakfast was so disappointing, especially for the price you pay for a room. The breakfast was coffee/tea, pastries, granola and single-serving packages of oatmeal. No fruit, no yogurt, nothing really healthy. Even for a continental breakfast it was disappointing. I'm used to B&B's that make their own breakfast and you feel full and healthy and ready to start your day. Unfortunately, this wasn't the case at Scripps.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room if you don't want to hear people walking around above you at night. Plan to go somewhere else for breakfast if you're someone who regularly eats a healthy breakfast.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We loved the Scripps Inn. The location just can't be beat - right on the shoreline. It's within walking distance to the down town area. The walk along the cliffs is great too. We had a regular room and it was very clean and spacious with everything you need right at your finger tips. We especially liked having real coffee cups and glasses in the room instead of Styrofoam and plastic.

The only draw back is that they charge to park in their parking lot.
Also the breakfast could be a little better. It was a continental style breakfast with muffins, cold and hot cereal and danish. The muffin quality was good, but offering some fruit and yogurt as well would have made it much better. For this reason we give it only 4 instead of 5 stars.

We would stay here again and would recommend it as well.

Room Tip: Almost every room has an ocean view, so there is no need to pay more for the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

First time to La Jolla and we found a gem. Within walking distance of most of La Jolla restaurants, La Jolla Cove and other attractions but far enough away to be out of the middle of the hustle and bustle closer to the Cove. The staff was wonderful and David was especially helpful. Woke up to the Pacific at our doorstep which is a special way to start each day. The sunsets alone were worth the reasonable rates. Coming from the East Coast, the Scripps Inn is quintessential Southern California and my wife and I have already decided we will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My graduate school friends and I have been getting together once or twice a year every year for 31 years. We have stayed all over Northern and Southern California and over all those 31 years, we agreed the Scripps Inn ranks among the top five of our favorites! The location is unmatched - walking distance to all of La Jolla, and no more than 25 steps to the path overlooking the ocean. It is such a gorgeous view/setting that we witnessed 3 weddings over the two days we were there. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The bathroom and kitchen were very clean, linens fresh and the room airy and bright. The kitchen is clean and well stocked -- it is retro-1960s and could use some updating but who cares, no one should be cooking meals while on vacation in this amazing setting. The living area was cozy and comfortable for the 4 of us to sit and talk for hours. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area (so pretty quiet) and right next to a fantastic museum (that serves breakfast on weekends!). Highly, highly recommend the Scripps Inn if you are headed to La Jolla! LMU

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a great sunset view!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews