We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet location”
Review of Scripps Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scripps Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our family of four recently had our first stay at the Scripps Inn and will definitely be back. This was our first visit to La Jolla. The location was perfect for us since it was located in a quieter area of the road. The Inn is small and cozy, but the rooms are nice and roomy. We had a king bed with sofa bed, good sized bathroom with tub/shower and two sinks. David at the front desk was awesome in letting us know our room was ready a little earlier as we were on our drive over-and the kids needed that extra time. It's conveniently located across the beach and a nice walk to La Jolla's shops and food. You pay for parking, but it is a little less than what we had been charged at other places in San Diego. Although we didn't hear anything from the rooms adjacent to us, we could hear the people in the room above us walking around, so I will probably bring earplugs for the nighttime the next time. It was a lovely visit and we hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtbiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took our first family vacation with our 3 month baby. As new parents, we were not sure what to expect on the trip as a whole, but were extremely pleased with our stay at the Scripps Inn. The staff was extremely accommodating and even let us check in at 11:30, which was so great since I needed to feed our daughter.

Our king room was very spacious, clean and cozy! The Inn was just a short stroller ride from the shops and restaurants and we just loved our stay. Watching the sunset from the hotel was so beautiful!!

David was especially helpful and friendly and we highly recommend this place to anyone!!!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Had an altogether wonderful but unfortunately short stay at this lovely property located right on a beautiful stretch of beach . The room was large ,comfortable and immaculate. Aveda bath products a nice touch. Bed linens were first rate making for a deep and restful sleep.
I can't say enough about the front desk hospitality . He ( sorry ,I don't know his name) was so helpful , kind , and friendly. We appreciated all of his recommendations .
Location of Scripps Inn is perfect. It's within walking distance to the downtown area , and of course, a stroll along the Pacific-- morning ,noon or night can't be beat. Breakfast could be enhanced with addition of yogurt, but the pastries were delicious,especially the croissants.
Loved the Scripps Inn...would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 913nancyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This property is literally steps from one of the most beautiful and geographically interesting beaches in California. Go for a long walk on the beach at low tide and watch an incredible sunset. It is also a short walk to the shopping areas and many good restaurants. I had my best burger ever at Smashburger (on Prospect street)!

Our upstairs room was quiet, large and comfy. It had all the necessary amenities, however I found TV channel-surfing to be difficult. Hotel staff were pleasant and engaging. Breakfast was adequat but would benefit with the addition of fruit and yogurt.

We were here with a wedding party who occupied the entire hotel. For any couples considering the same, know that Scripps Inn worked out extremely well for this occasion. I would also recommend it for a romantic getaway with your special someone!

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This little upscale motel-style inn is right on the beach and is very clean. The rooms are large but can be noisy, especially if you're in a first floor room (you can hear people thumping around above you even if they're being quiet). The other guests seemed to know this and generally the place was quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is not, however, a traditional B&B so don't expect a full breakfast for the price (which is the reason for my 3 stars instead of 4 or 5).

The breakfast was so disappointing, especially for the price you pay for a room. The breakfast was coffee/tea, pastries, granola and single-serving packages of oatmeal. No fruit, no yogurt, nothing really healthy. Even for a continental breakfast it was disappointing. I'm used to B&B's that make their own breakfast and you feel full and healthy and ready to start your day. Unfortunately, this wasn't the case at Scripps.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room if you don't want to hear people walking around above you at night. Pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We loved the Scripps Inn. The location just can't be beat - right on the shoreline. It's within walking distance to the down town area. The walk along the cliffs is great too. We had a regular room and it was very clean and spacious with everything you need right at your finger tips. We especially liked having real coffee cups and glasses in the room instead of Styrofoam and plastic.

The only draw back is that they charge to park in their parking lot.
Also the breakfast could be a little better. It was a continental style breakfast with muffins, cold and hot cereal and danish. The muffin quality was good, but offering some fruit and yogurt as well would have made it much better. For this reason we give it only 4 instead of 5 stars.

We would stay here again and would recommend it as well.

Room Tip: Almost every room has an ocean view, so there is no need to pay more for the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

First time to La Jolla and we found a gem. Within walking distance of most of La Jolla restaurants, La Jolla Cove and other attractions but far enough away to be out of the middle of the hustle and bustle closer to the Cove. The staff was wonderful and David was especially helpful. Woke up to the Pacific at our doorstep which is a special way to start each day. The sunsets alone were worth the reasonable rates. Coming from the East Coast, the Scripps Inn is quintessential Southern California and my wife and I have already decided we will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.4 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scripps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scripps Inn

Address: 555 Coast Blvd S, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range: £186 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scripps Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of Southern California's pristine beaches, Scripps Inn is a charming 14 room inn that offers up one of La Jolla's best kept secrets. A favorite hideaway for both relaxation and romance, we provide stunning ocean views, gentle sea breezes and the relaxing sounds of the rolling surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scripps Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scripps Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing