We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
234
84
14
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
84
14
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee and pastries hear the waves crashing within walking distance continental breakfast watch the sunset perfect location ceiling fan directly across the street restaurants and shops museum of contemporary art the ground floor bedroom suite children's pool view of the ocean no air conditioning downtown la jolla each morning
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took our first family vacation with our 3 month baby. As new parents, we were not sure what to expect on the trip as a whole, but were extremely pleased with our stay at the Scripps Inn. The staff was extremely accommodating and even let us check in at 11:30, which was so great since I needed to feed our daughter.

Our king room was very spacious, clean and cozy! The Inn was just a short stroller ride from the shops and restaurants and we just loved our stay. Watching the sunset from the hotel was so beautiful!!

David was especially helpful and friendly and we highly recommend this place to anyone!!!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Had an altogether wonderful but unfortunately short stay at this lovely property located right on a beautiful stretch of beach . The room was large ,comfortable and immaculate. Aveda bath products a nice touch. Bed linens were first rate making for a deep and restful sleep.
I can't say enough about the front desk hospitality . He ( sorry ,I don't know his name) was so helpful , kind , and friendly. We appreciated all of his recommendations .
Location of Scripps Inn is perfect. It's within walking distance to the downtown area , and of course, a stroll along the Pacific-- morning ,noon or night can't be beat. Breakfast could be enhanced with addition of yogurt, but the pastries were delicious,especially the croissants.
Loved the Scripps Inn...would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 913nancyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This property is literally steps from one of the most beautiful and geographically interesting beaches in California. Go for a long walk on the beach at low tide and watch an incredible sunset. It is also a short walk to the shopping areas and many good restaurants. I had my best burger ever at Smashburger (on Prospect street)!

Our upstairs room was quiet, large and comfy. It had all the necessary amenities, however I found TV channel-surfing to be difficult. Hotel staff were pleasant and engaging. Breakfast was adequat but would benefit with the addition of fruit and yogurt.

We were here with a wedding party who occupied the entire hotel. For any couples considering the same, know that Scripps Inn worked out extremely well for this occasion. I would also recommend it for a romantic getaway with your special someone!

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room upstairs
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This little upscale motel-style inn is right on the beach and is very clean. The rooms are large but can be noisy, especially if you're in a first floor room (you can hear people thumping around above you even if they're being quiet). The other guests seemed to know this and generally the place was quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is not, however, a traditional B&B so don't expect a full breakfast for the price (which is the reason for my 3 stars instead of 4 or 5).

The breakfast was so disappointing, especially for the price you pay for a room. The breakfast was coffee/tea, pastries, granola and single-serving packages of oatmeal. No fruit, no yogurt, nothing really healthy. Even for a continental breakfast it was disappointing. I'm used to B&B's that make their own breakfast and you feel full and healthy and ready to start your day. Unfortunately, this wasn't the case at Scripps.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room if you don't want to hear people walking around above you at night. Plan to go somewhere else for breakfast if you're someone who regularly eats a healthy breakfast.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We loved the Scripps Inn. The location just can't be beat - right on the shoreline. It's within walking distance to the down town area. The walk along the cliffs is great too. We had a regular room and it was very clean and spacious with everything you need right at your finger tips. We especially liked having real coffee cups and glasses in the room instead of Styrofoam and plastic.

The only draw back is that they charge to park in their parking lot.
Also the breakfast could be a little better. It was a continental style breakfast with muffins, cold and hot cereal and danish. The muffin quality was good, but offering some fruit and yogurt as well would have made it much better. For this reason we give it only 4 instead of 5 stars.

We would stay here again and would recommend it as well.

Room Tip: Almost every room has an ocean view, so there is no need to pay more for the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews