We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Ranked #2 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Alta Loma, California
2 reviews
“Friendly comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We went to this B&B to celebrate our 11th anniversary and were overall quite satisfied. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.The room was quite comfortable especially the bed. Though we had a fireplace in ours, never used it, as the temps were higher than normal.
A very nice "perk" was that every day was a small serving of sherry in our room. The only "negative" I have to say was that, we had to leave by 9:30 AM and told them the night before. We were told that it would be OK and we would be served first so we could leave on time. Unfortuanetly this didn't happen and we had to leave before completing our breakfast.
Even with that I would go back. The B&B is close to everything, walking distance to both the beach and to "downtown"

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevmckeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your favorable review and for giving us top marks - "5" out of "5" for all six categories. I am assuming that because of the mix up concerning breakfast you felt we were only deserving of a "4" out of a possible "5" overall rating. We apologize for our failure to fulfill our promise that because of your early departure we would be able to provide you with an earlier than usual breakfast. Regretfully, we fell miserably short of the mark. I know that Margaret and our staff are always willing to go out of her way to provide our guests with over the top service; and sometimes, even with the best of intentions and effort to make it possible, we are unable to meet with the guest's satisfaction.

We never want our guests to go away hungry; and it is our policy to offer and provide those guests who can't stay to enjoy our 3 course gourmet candlelit breakfast a Bon Voyage Breakfast Box filled with fresh fruit, drinks, fresh pastries, granola and yogurt.

Again, we thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to having you back as our guests and friend when you next visit our lovely village by the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    101
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
45
322
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Last stayed here in the late '90s and found it in top condition today, though it's a vintage structure. The draw for us, then as now, is the location, a half-block from the commercial district and across from the Museum of Contemporary Art, yet surrounded by mature trees and shrubs and at the beginning of a residential street. Pleasant decks and patios with bougainvillea, etc. Guests this visit were affluent retirees like the passengers one meets on a river cruise.
Housekeeping was impeccable. As lodgings go in La Jolla, this is hard to beat. Only downside is not enough spaces for every guest to park off the street (five spaces total). This can lead to New York-style car moving to comply with a 2 hour limit at midday (not Sunday). Not an inconvenience during my one-night stay, but ask management for advice on dealing with this longer term. La Jolla also has a hefty bed tax so to avoid surprises get the total before you commit.

Room Tip: This is a quiet location. Some rooms have ocean views, they say, but I had a smaller room on the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firstinline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
We always appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for taking the time to share them with us and future guests. It helps us address issues and correct mistakes so future guests can benefit from your experience.

It is true we do only have 5 spaces for compact cars in the back of the Inn and it is on a first come first serve basis but it is FREE . Normally guest staying at other hotels etc. in the area have to pay for parking if they don't park on the streets. There is also long or short term PAY to PARK parking at the corner of Kline and Fay Avenue just two short blocks from the Inn if other options are inconvenient for you. We also have a loading and unloading zone in front of the inn to facilitate handling of luggage.


Parking is also FREE, but inconvenient, if you park on the street in front of the inn because of a 2 hour limit from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily except on Sundays when you have unlimited time parking until 10 a.m. on Monday Morning. and there is also FREE UNLIMITED TIME PARKING on the streets surrounding the Inn such as Eads Avenue, Draper Avenue one block south of the Inn and Cuvie across from the Inn.

Our Room Tax is 10.5% which is definitely less than some other major cities such as New York. But the City is planning on increasing this as early as the first of next year so it would behove all of those who are planning to visit us in La Jolla in 2013 to make their reservations before then.

Our room rates are based upon more than just the size of the room. We are in La Jolla, one of San Diego's most prestigious costal communities; we are 1 block from the beach in the most ideal location to stroll to everything in the village; our rooms are designer quality with original art, rare antiques, fine furnishings, linens and amenities such as Gilchrist Soames Bath Products and Fine sherry in every room along with spa robes and slippers; and included in the cost of the rooms is a 3 course gourmet breakfast with candlelight and wine and cheese reception served daily. We also provide complimentary unlimited snacks, cookies, bottled water, fresh fruit, and a free beverage bar including soft drinks and Forte Teas. True some of the bathrooms are more compact and designed on the European Model for efficiency rather than spaciousness due constrictions put on an historical building; but if spacious is what you want in a bathroom we do have them available. All 15 rooms are uniquely decorated with no two alike. Amenities such as size, TV, fireplaces, views etc. will vary with the room selected as will the price; and even the most cozy of our rooms are created with your comfort in mind. All the rooms are designed to create an atmosphere that is relaxing and personable, warm and inviting. Our COZY rooms are all in proximity of the garden, the 2nd floor patio and library so you are not limited to the confines of your room but the run of the inn as if you were in your own home.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to address and expound upon some of your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was our first time at this inn. We have stayed at many different B&B's and felt this one was very nice, clean and offered lots of special things such as coffee, tea and cookies during the day, wine, cheese,crackers and fruit at 5:00 like a high tea, a full breakfast, cream sherry in your room for sipping, new clean slippers to wear in the room,(robes as well), a very comfy bed with beautiful sheets, eye make-up removeable moistened pads(so the white towels would stay white!) and a beautifully decorated room. These are just a few of the things we loved about the Inn! The location was perfect; in walking distance to many fine restaurants and we loved the entrance to this B&B. It is very secluded and private. The plants that are everywhere, which we loved , are well maintained and beautiful. It was great talking with Margaret. She was very friendly and humorous. She was also very kind to all her guests. We will surly be back to this wonderful B&B!

Room Tip: We feel all the rooms had their own charm and individual style. We would have stayed in any of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a short 2 night stay and loved every minute. The room was exquisite, very clean, great bed and pillows! We had a view of the ocean (although it was a very limited view) and convenient access to the rooftop deck. Breakfasts were very well prepared and we enjoyed visiting w/ other guests. The location to downtown La Jolla couldn't be beat and it was just a one block walk down to the beach - where we spent most of our time.

Room Tip: be sure to ask about off street parking - there are a few very small spaces located behind the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My sister and I had a delightful visit in La Jolla in large part because we chose the Bed and Breakfast in La Jolla. Our room was charming, we slept well and were able to enjoy time on a small patio attached to our room that overlooked the garden which boasted a beautiful sculpture of a girl with a peacock.

Coffee and cookies greet you in the hall,wine and cheese at 5:00 PM. and a fabulous breakfast greets you at 9:00 each morning.

Be sure to spend some time with Margaret and the staff who are sure to make your trip memorable. Best B&B ever!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebudgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to this wonderful place and we can't say enough good about it. We brought friends this time and they were equally impressed. It is convenient, close to the beach, shopping, and restaurants, yet secluded, quiet, and very private. The staff is always wonderful. Looking forward to next year's visit.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tottenham ON
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Where do I start? The spectacular breakfasts, the cookies and coffee in the front hall? Perhaps with the wine and cheese in the garden, served at 5pm - hummingbirds skirting around the birds of paradise, the soothing sound of water in the background...
We stayed in the Country Village Room, the bed was extremely comfortable, many books were available to read. A decanter of sherry was in the room - and the soaps, shampoo and lotions were lovely. Margaret is wonderfully entertaining and engaging.

And I think the true example of the type of hospitality we received was during one "wine and cheese" when I accidentally splashed some of the (quite good) red wine on my white capris, and the young lady at the front desk went out of her way to find me "spray and wash" so they wouldn't stain. That was so kind and considerate.

It's a lovely, beautiful, comfortable place to spend time in La Jolla. Very welcoming - we will definitely stay there again should we return to La Jolla.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GetnThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Property: The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Address: 7753 Draper Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Luxury San Diego Bed & Breakfast in the heart of La Jolla only a block from the ocean. Relax in our serene gardens or on the sunny deck. Some of the Deluxe rooms at our Inn in La Jolla feature fireplaces, some ocean views, fresh fruit, flowers, and robes for total comfort. Awaken to unforgettable breakfasts and the ideal location to explore beautiful beaches, shopping and dining and all that La Jolla and San Diego have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bed And Breakfast Inn At La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
The b&b Inn At La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing