We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Nearby Hotels
La Valencia Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$281
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$401
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveller rating
342
105
38
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
105
38
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseother guestsgourmet breakfastgarden roomwood burning fireplaceboth morningseach morningshops and restaurantssan diegoocean viewsherrygillparkingirvinepatiotelevision
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 526 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I have stayed there several times. The decor is a little fussy, but that is what one expects. My room on the third floor rear was absolutely quiet. I had the windows open at night and the only thing that woke me was an insomniac seagull. I had a separate living room and sun deck.

The breakfast was good, the garden beautiful. The location is perfect: between a church a a Women's Club, across the street from a park, a block from the beach cliffs, within a few minutes of the downtown with all its stores and restaurants.

Only caveats: the inn has very limited parking, and the parking of the street in time limited, so you have to remember to move your car if it is parked on the street during the day.

Also, my room was on the third floor up a narrow staircase. I could have used help getting my large suitcase upstairs, but the desk attendant was so young and small that I thought it would be ungracious to ask her to help.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We went to this B&B to celebrate our 11th anniversary and were overall quite satisfied. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.The room was quite comfortable especially the bed. Though we had a fireplace in ours, never used it, as the temps were higher than normal.
A very nice "perk" was that every day was a small serving of sherry in our room. The only "negative" I have to say was that, we had to leave by 9:30 AM and told them the night before. We were told that it would be OK and we would be served first so we could leave on time. Unfortuanetly this didn't happen and we had to leave before completing our breakfast.
Even with that I would go back. The B&B is close to everything, walking distance to both the beach and to "downtown"

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevmckeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you for your favorable review and for giving us top marks - "5" out of "5" for all six categories. I am assuming that because of the mix up concerning breakfast you felt we were only deserving of a "4" out of a possible "5" overall rating. We apologize for our failure to fulfill our promise that because of your early departure we would be able to provide you with an earlier than usual breakfast. Regretfully, we fell miserably short of the mark. I know that Margaret and our staff are always willing to go out of her way to provide our guests with over the top service; and sometimes, even with the best of intentions and effort to make it possible, we are unable to meet with the guest's satisfaction.

We never want our guests to go away hungry; and it is our policy to offer and provide those guests who can't stay to enjoy our 3 course gourmet candlelit breakfast a Bon Voyage Breakfast Box filled with fresh fruit, drinks, fresh pastries, granola and yogurt.

Again, we thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to having you back as our guests and friend when you next visit our lovely village by the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Last stayed here in the late '90s and found it in top condition today, though it's a vintage structure. The draw for us, then as now, is the location, a half-block from the commercial district and across from the Museum of Contemporary Art, yet surrounded by mature trees and shrubs and at the beginning of a residential street. Pleasant decks and patios with bougainvillea, etc. Guests this visit were affluent retirees like the passengers one meets on a river cruise.
Housekeeping was impeccable. As lodgings go in La Jolla, this is hard to beat. Only downside is not enough spaces for every guest to park off the street (five spaces total). This can lead to New York-style car moving to comply with a 2 hour limit at midday (not Sunday). Not an inconvenience during my one-night stay, but ask management for advice on dealing with this longer term. La Jolla also has a hefty bed tax so to avoid surprises get the total before you commit.

Room Tip: This is a quiet location. Some rooms have ocean views, they say, but I had a smaller room on the side facing the wall of the building next door. Be sure to inquire if you are staying awhile.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firstinline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

We always appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for taking the time to share them with us and future guests. It helps us address issues and correct mistakes so future guests can benefit from your experience.

It is true we do only have 5 spaces for compact cars in the back of the Inn and it is on a first come first serve basis but it is FREE . Normally guest staying at other hotels etc. in the area have to pay for parking if they don't park on the streets. There is also long or short term PAY to PARK parking at the corner of Kline and Fay Avenue just two short blocks from the Inn if other options are inconvenient for you. We also have a loading and unloading zone in front of the inn to facilitate handling of luggage.


Parking is also FREE, but inconvenient, if you park on the street in front of the inn because of a 2 hour limit from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily except on Sundays when you have unlimited time parking until 10 a.m. on Monday Morning. and there is also FREE UNLIMITED TIME PARKING on the streets surrounding the Inn such as Eads Avenue, Draper Avenue one block south of the Inn and Cuvie across from the Inn.

Our Room Tax is 10.5% which is definitely less than some other major cities such as New York. But the City is planning on increasing this as early as the first of next year so it would behove all of those who are planning to visit us in La Jolla in 2013 to make their reservations before then.

Our room rates are based upon more than just the size of the room. We are in La Jolla, one of San Diego's most prestigious costal communities; we are 1 block from the beach in the most ideal location to stroll to everything in the village; our rooms are designer quality with original art, rare antiques, fine furnishings, linens and amenities such as Gilchrist Soames Bath Products and Fine sherry in every room along with spa robes and slippers; and included in the cost of the rooms is a 3 course gourmet breakfast with candlelight and wine and cheese reception served daily. We also provide complimentary unlimited snacks, cookies, bottled water, fresh fruit, and a free beverage bar including soft drinks and Forte Teas. True some of the bathrooms are more compact and designed on the European Model for efficiency rather than spaciousness due constrictions put on an historical building; but if spacious is what you want in a bathroom we do have them available. All 15 rooms are uniquely decorated with no two alike. Amenities such as size, TV, fireplaces, views etc. will vary with the room selected as will the price; and even the most cozy of our rooms are created with your comfort in mind. All the rooms are designed to create an atmosphere that is relaxing and personable, warm and inviting. Our COZY rooms are all in proximity of the garden, the 2nd floor patio and library so you are not limited to the confines of your room but the run of the inn as if you were in your own home.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to address and expound upon some of your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was our first time at this inn. We have stayed at many different B&B's and felt this one was very nice, clean and offered lots of special things such as coffee, tea and cookies during the day, wine, cheese,crackers and fruit at 5:00 like a high tea, a full breakfast, cream sherry in your room for sipping, new clean slippers to wear in the room,(robes as well), a very comfy bed with beautiful sheets, eye make-up removeable moistened pads(so the white towels would stay white!) and a beautifully decorated room. These are just a few of the things we loved about the Inn! The location was perfect; in walking distance to many fine restaurants and we loved the entrance to this B&B. It is very secluded and private. The plants that are everywhere, which we loved , are well maintained and beautiful. It was great talking with Margaret. She was very friendly and humorous. She was also very kind to all her guests. We will surly be back to this wonderful B&B!

Room Tip: We feel all the rooms had their own charm and individual style. We would have stayed in any of them except one seemed plain compared to the rest of the rooms. The Garden Room where we stayed had its own entrance from the backyard patio. It also had a beautiful fireplace which we did not use since it was not the right season even though the temp in the room was perfect. In the morning, I could hear water running for showers from the various rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a short 2 night stay and loved every minute. The room was exquisite, very clean, great bed and pillows! We had a view of the ocean (although it was a very limited view) and convenient access to the rooftop deck. Breakfasts were very well prepared and we enjoyed visiting w/ other guests. The location to downtown La Jolla couldn't be beat and it was just a one block walk down to the beach - where we spent most of our time.

Room Tip: be sure to ask about off street parking - there are a few very small spaces located behind the building.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews