We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Ranked #2 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We recently spent one night at this B & B. The location is perfect as we were able to park our car and walk to everything. The building is charming and quaint. When we checked in the inn keeper reviewed all of the information concerning the inn. We were also given a choice of two breakfast entrees. The innkeeper stressed that we needed to be on time for our chosen breakfast time due to the number of guests. We definately got the impression that we should not be late. We stayed in the ocean breeze room and it was very small. There isn't a lot of space to sit or move around. I would not recommend this room for more than one night. We checked in around 3:15 and the staff was still cleaning rooms throughout the building. As others have mentioned the parking is for three cars at the most in the designated inn parking. We didn't have any trouble finding parking on the street.

The next morning we arrived five minutes early for breakfast so as not to be late. We waited and waited for about fifteen additonal minutes as breakfast was not ready. Once we were seated there were no coffee cups on the table. Eventually someone brought us cups and coffee. (excellent coffee). Breakfast was a HUGE dissapointment. I ordered a sweet breakfast that consisted of a beligian waffle, a few sliced strawberries and some lemon syrup. I could have made this at home in my waffle maker. My husband ordered the savory breakfast which was a slice of quiche on a bare plate. If was very dissapointing as we have stayed in numerous B&B's and always look forward to the breakfasts.

In our room there were several pieces of literature that I had not looked at until it was time for us to check out. I noticed a gratuities envelope on the desk. It basically asked you to place your gratuities in the envelope and deliver it to the innkeeper at checkout. I was a little puzzled and somewhat offended. This reminded me of what you typically do when you are on a cruise. Again, I have stayed in several inn's and had never had this experience. The gratuities were optional and not required but they felt as though they were required.

I do believe many people will enjoy this inn mainly because of it's location. I just feel it could be so much better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast and gratuities
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    102
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
45
323
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We were there for one night, got in late and left before the coffee was ready. However, they "bagged" breakfast for us, so that was very thoughtful. The place is extremely clean and I would have liked to enjoy the Inn by spending more time. My husband and I would definitely stay there again. The Inn is located a couple of blocks after the shops and restaurants in La Jolla end, so it's quiet.

  • Liked — Cute and Clean
  • Disliked — The bathroom in our room was extremely small.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We loved our 3-night stay at the Inn at La Jolla! We needed a place to stay during a family reunion, and this b&b fit the bill exactly. Amazing location just blocks from the beach, easy parking, and a wonderful homey place to retreat to after you've had your fill of actual family but still want a cozy and familial atmosphere with which to surround yourself. The breakfasts were superb, and the staff was efficient, professional and helpful.

We stayed in the Peacock Salon after our preferred room (and more expensive one) was already booked. The receptionist who took our reservation suggested the Peacock Salon, saying that she really loved it. What a great suggestion! The Peacock, while smaller in size, is the only room with its own lovely, lovely outdoor balcony. Because La Jolla has such amazing weather, that outdoor balcony really is like another room, and there wasn't a day that we didn't use it - either to sit and read, eat a snack or to dry our swimsuits and scuba diving gear in the nice sun. We were so happy to stay there, and if we go back - which we certainly will, we will stay there again!

  • Liked — Location and our room's outdoor balcony!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This was a getaway for mother/daughter. We booked one of the only two twin-bedded rooms. It was cozy, nicely decorated, appointed with more than expected items -- including a decanter of sherry. A computer was available from 8:00am to 8:00pm. A library complete with books, TV, video tapes and games was centrally located. Afternoon wine was served, complimented with an ample assortment of cheese, fruit and crackers. Breakfast was a choice of a sweet or savory hot entree, with cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee and tea. The location is ideal for walking everywhere. . .town, beach, restaurants, Museum of Contemporary Art, etc. etc.! All in all an a-1 experience. My only warning would be that parking is extremely limited. Compact cars are almost a must for the five parking spaces.

  • Liked — Closeness to La Jolla
  • Disliked — Tiny parking spaces
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spottswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, Ca.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla is a lovely, immaculately clean B&B with friendly service. The dining room, where a different full breakfast is served each morning, is lovely, as are the sitting room with computer and TV, terrace and garden.

The B&B's proximity to fine restaurants and shops cannot be beat. You could park your car when you arrive and not use it again until you left and still have plenty to do. The coves and beaches within easy walking distance of the B&B are gorgeous, with clear green/blue water and seals galore.

I especially liked that there were no TV's in the rooms. This inn is the perfect place to take a good book or listen to NPR or just day dream. There is a journal in each room and reading the entries of previous guests made me feel like the walls were talking. I looked at my pretty room, "The Ocean Breeze," in a new way as I read entries of visitors from Milan, the Netherlands, West Virginia and every place in between.

Some favorite restaurants in La Jolla are George's, the Crab Catcher, with a wonderful happy hour during which all prices are cut in half, and the dining room at the La Valencia Hotel, a lovely breakfast place if, like me, you are an early riser and don't want to wait until the B&B's 8:00 a.m. breakfast. The La Valencia dining room, George's and The Crab Catcher have sweeping views of the ocean and coastline. Harry's is also a wonderful breakfast place and it opens at 5:30 a.m.

Finally, there are many wonderful places to visit only 15 - 30 minutes from the B&B - Old Town, Del Mar, La Jolla Shores, Coronado, Seaport Village and Rancho Santa Fe.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Margaret019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We loved our brief stay at The Bed and Breakfast Inn, and although the experience of air travel to California is grim at times we are determined to make this sanctuary our regular stop over when visiting family in Australia. Service and a warmth of hospitality, in a gem of a place make it a pleasantly different experience.
Glenis

  • Liked — rooms with character and chance to socilise with other guests
  • Disliked — some noise from weddings being held next door
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2008

The location couldn't be more perfect. The food was delicious and healthy!! A rare and happy combination. The rooms are beautifully decorated, if rather small. There were flowers in abundance. I met the most interesting people there, too.

  • Liked — food, decor, ambiance, gardens, location all 5 stars!
  • Disliked — just too far away, and a little pricey for me... but worth it!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thompsongough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Property: The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Address: 7753 Draper Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Luxury San Diego Bed & Breakfast in the heart of La Jolla only a block from the ocean. Relax in our serene gardens or on the sunny deck. Some of the Deluxe rooms at our Inn in La Jolla feature fireplaces, some ocean views, fresh fruit, flowers, and robes for total comfort. Awaken to unforgettable breakfasts and the ideal location to explore beautiful beaches, shopping and dining and all that La Jolla and San Diego have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bed And Breakfast Inn At La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
The b&b Inn At La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing