We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Ranked #3 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Wonderful place, close to the ocean, great breakfast and very warm hospitality. We would definitely visit the B & B Inn at La Jolla again.

Only complaint - It was our first time in La Jolla, and we found the directions to the Inn were not as clear as they could be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbtoews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in La Jolla and taking the time to write a review. We also appreciate any way we can make your stay more comfortable and stress free, so I will review the directions that are currently posted and attempt to make them easier to follow. See you again when you make your second trip to La Jolla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Spent a wonderful long weekend at The B&B Inn at La Jolla in mid-February 2014 . I proposed to my girlfriend over the weekend, and the staff was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to make our weekend feel special. The facilities and service were first-class, and the location was perfect as numerous activities were walking distance away. My finance and I agreed that we hope to come back in the future.

FYI the rooms are different, but we stayed in Peacock Salon which had a nice private balcony and gorgeous view.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb333bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Manager at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are glad we could make your weekend extra special. It isn;t everyday that one gets engaged. We look forward to your being our guest in the future - perhaps for a honeymoon or babymoon??.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Reality Check - I read the same reviews you may have read, most of which talked about how amazing The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla is. I'm sorry to say that I cannot be that enthusiastic. I have been to several B&B's across the U.S., and so my review is based on how this place compared to others I have visited. This place has the POTENTIAL to be amazing, but...

Here's my opinion of what they did well, and where they could have been better:

What They Did Well/What I Liked:

- The location is convenient to everything you want to see in and around La Jolla - much of it in walking distance if you are able.

- Delicious homemade cookies all day, every day!

- The charm of an old home, lovingly restored

- Friendly staff

Here's what they could have done/be doing better:

- Unlock the front door when guests are arriving (we tried the knob, knocked, peered through the window, and eventually walked around back and entered through the kitchen to try and find someone to check us in.) Compare this to another B&B along the California coast who greeted us by name in the parking lot as we arrived, and escorted us inside for a quick registration and tour of the property.

- Since they keep the door locked, explain how the key works. I embarrassed myself trying to unlock the door, whereupon I was advised that ALL the guests make that same mistake. If ALL the guests make the same mistake, why not address that during checkin?

- Thin walls. It is an old house, after all, and at least in the WindanSea Room, expect to hear a lot of noise from other guests coming up the stairs and even talking in the adjoining rooms.

- You'll be treated like family, but probably not pampered. More than once our requests, while granted with a smile, appeared to visibly bother the staff. And heaven forbid you sit down early for breakfast...you'll be advised that it will be AT LEAST five minutes before you'll be served if they see you sitting there.

- The complimentary sherry, while free and free-flowing, was, well, not very good. It's only a benefit if you can enjoy taking advantage of it.

- Breakfast was acceptable, although we had basically the same thing two days in a row. Oh, and be careful who you ask about substitutions. This seems to upset some of the staff members.

- You can do better for $600 over a weekend.

There's more, but that's enough. I really feel like there is a lot of low hanging fruit here that, with a little more effort, could make this a really great B&B. They are just not there yet.

Room Tip: If you are looking for privacy, ask the management about a quieter, more secluded room. Partial ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, General Manager at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We will make sure that your issues are addressed. We do keep the front door locked when the innkeeper is temporary away from the front desk for security purposes - the door bell is located to the right of the door for guests convenience. I agree keys should be explained at time of check in which is standard procedure. We apologize that our rooms are not sound proof, but it is as you say a home, even if it does have 4" thick lath and plaster walls.
We pride ourselves on our personalized service and apologize that it was less than you expected. Your suggestions will be taken seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This bed and breakfast is wonderful. It is clean, the staff are friendly and provide great service, the bed is very comfortable, and the food is delicious! My boyfriend and I stayed here for New Year's Eve and had a great time. The manager is a charming and friendly Irish woman who makes an amazing three-course hot breakfast. We had fresh fruit, English muffin, eggs on puff pastry with a delicious creamy sauce, bacon, and a freshly made blintz for dessert! It was splendid!

The Inn also serves homemade chocolate chip cookies, hot beverages and soda anytime you want them, and a wine and cheese reception at 5 pm. These small touches make the Inn such a cozy and fun place to stay!

The Inn is also conveniently located. You can easily walk into downtown La Jolla and enjoy strolling around the town.

The room was stayed in was the Ellen Browning Scripps. We loved this room because it was private, quiet, clean, and had a wonderfully comfortable mattress which provided us with a very good night's rest.

I highly recommend this Inn and my boyfriend and I have decided we will definitely come back here and make this our "getaway place," as we live in Orange County and plan to drive down for a weekend again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Manager at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We appreciate your wonderful review acknowledging our international ambiance, and for relishing and describing our 3 course, candlelit, gourmet breakfast in such detail - Our chef thanks you. and our staff thank you. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

As local La Jolla residents, we found our spontaneous stay at the Inn, although prompted by necessity, nevertheless a delight. Rewarded by a nicely furnished room, personable and accommodating service and, above all, a splendid breakfast, we would not hesitate to recommend the Inn to anyone visiting our fair village by the sea. Note to Dorothy: The yellow brick road leads to La Jolla. There is no point to clicking your heals after that. Note to management: Some of us “roughhewn” individuals like to see the local team on television as we approach playoff season but find it frustrating when the minimal cable connection will not permit it (this was after leaving our room with a wood burning fireplace for one with a television but to no avail).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barasurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Manager at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your reference to our B&B as the "Jewel of La Jolla" in spite of the cable glitch regarding the playoffs. We are always thrilled to be able to have members of the San Diego communities visit us. Hope you will drop by to say "Hi" from time to time and join us for wine and cheese. Please let your friends and neighbors know that we make a great "2nd Guestroom" .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stay at The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla whenever I want to treat myself. The rooms are charming and the beds are comfortable. I stayed in the Kate Sessions room - perfect for one. The breakfast was delicious and filling and even came with dessert! A great way to start the day. I especially like staying here as I grew up in La Jolla and the location feels more like staying in a house with an easy walk to the cove, Prospect or Girard for restaurants or shopping. The staff were friendly as well. All in all, I would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: You need to look at the photos on their web site and read the room descriptions to make sure you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Manager at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are proud to be the "home" you choose when re visiting La Jolla and to know that we have succeeded in making you feel comfortable, relaxed and welcome just as you would staying at the home of a dear friend. Please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla is a very charming and warm place to nestle up and relax. The location is within walking distance to many of the shops and restaurants in La Jolla, yet it is tucked away and feels very private and secluded. We were unfortunately not able to stay for the, what I assume was a delicious, breakfast due to an emergency that my husband had to attend to at work that morning. However, when I informed the inn keeper that night that we would not be staying for breakfast she packed two little goodie bags for us to take with us in the morning. What a nice touch. I would certainly recommend this little gem and hope that we can stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Manager at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are so flattered that you referred to us a "Gem", needless to say, we concur. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#12 of 24 in La Jolla
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Address: 7753 Draper Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range: £170 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Luxury San Diego Bed & Breakfast in the heart of La Jolla only a block from the ocean. Relax in our serene gardens or on the sunny deck. Some of the Deluxe rooms at our Inn in La Jolla feature fireplaces, some ocean views, fresh fruit, flowers, and robes for total comfort. Awaken to unforgettable breakfasts and the ideal location to explore beautiful beaches, shopping and dining and all that La Jolla and San Diego have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b&b Inn At La Jolla
The Bed And Breakfast Inn At La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing