We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderfully charming get-a-way with great inn-keepers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Ranked #2 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Hamburg
1 review
“A wonderfully charming get-a-way with great inn-keepers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed in the Windansea guest room. The view of the ocean was nice with a wonderful breeze all day and night. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings tasteful. The proximity to all that LaJolla has to offer was amazing. Nice restaurants, a great little pizza shop around the corner, and an easy ride to San Diego.
The wine and cheese in the afternoon was refreshing and it was wonderful to take your glass and plate outside to sit in the beautiful garden.
The most remarkable part of our 3 day stay was the helpful suggestions and directions from Jenna and Cooleen. They were wonderful inn-keepers! Jenna's banana pancakes and mushroom and bacon quiche were out of this world too. Thanks to Cooleen we even had a little to go package of fruit and mini muffins to take on the plane since we had to leave before breakfast.
We hope that we will be able to head back there in our travels some day. These two young women made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tfk0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    101
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
45
322
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

I enjoyed my time at the Inn -- it's SO much better than a hotel! Jenna is friendly and helpful, Colleen was adequate. The small room was cute and clean, nicely decorated and bright -- perfect for one person (but probably tight for two). Location is fantastic, within walking distance of all the shops and beach of La Jolla, across the street from the Contemporary Art Museum and a park, and easy to get around.

I found the breakfast a bit limited. . . good coffee, fresh juice and fruit, one served hot dish or granola. No homemade breads or rolls, jams, cheeses, etc as I've had in other bnbs. Coffee is to be available at 7:15 and some days it was not. Parking is easy. Internet worked some days, not others. Suggest they find a more conscientious gardener, since it was a shame to have those beautiful plants in that adorable site somewhat neglected. Also need to fix the hole in the back with the orange, unattractive cones -- it's too good a place to have that!

I'd definitely stay again --

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Manager at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review, 29 May 2009
Our regrets for the the upgrading that we are in the middle of doing on the back deck. When you visited with us we had just recently cut down two very old, over grown trees ( one of which was located on the deck ) due to serious root invasion into the foundation etc. Our plan is to put in a hot tub where the tree was located. We are still in the process of doing that. It takes a minimum of 4-6 weeks to receive the spa and we were reluctant to finish off the deck until the spa arrived so we could make certain that it was all going to fit together properly. There never seems to be an ideal time to take care of these kinds of projects and again we apologize that you were presented with a less than charming area in which to relax. The cones etc. are required by our insurance company to guarantee the safety of our guests. We were directing our guests to use the lovely 2nd floor patio instead of the deck for sun and relaxation, and I am sorry if you were not so informed. Next time you visit with us the Hot Tub will be available for your pleasure with our compliments. Thank you for bringing my attention to the morning coffee. I have personally been attending to the coffee in the morning and it is definitely getting out on time now. I also appreciate your evaluation of our breakfast, in addition to the morning muffins we will also include a sweet bread on the pastry tray. We will also be adding cheese to our afternoon reception starting in June-September, in lieu of serving it in the morning. We are in the process of redoing the garden area as some of the plants have become old and woody. We are installing stronger wifi relays to hopefully take care of the weak signal. Again thank you for your comments and your chose to stay with us on your travels, both are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

Inn at La Jolla is a wonderful place to stay. The decor and atmosphere are wonderful, the beds comfortable with lovely crisp sheets, plus views of the Pacific from the aptly named Pacific View Room. Parking makes things very easy if you're driving. The Breakfasts are outstanding and the people delightful. Top tip recommendation - don't stay in an Hotel stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzbie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

My Dad and I were in La Jolla to find an apartment and instead of staying at the big impersonal hotels, we opted for the B&B experience. Also, the big hotels tack on hefty fees for parking your car overnight and the value at the B&B seemed higher as well. Choosing this B&B ended up making a potentially stressful trip into an absolute pleasure. The manager, Jenna, was lovely. From the first moment we stepped in, any difficulty or inconvenience that is typically placed on the visitor's shoulders or wallet, was made into an easy, convenient solution. We were made to feel right at home, and Jenna immediately offered help and interest in our housing search, spending lots of time explaining the neighborhoods, drawing details on a map, offering all this information without our even asking. I felt like I was in a good friend's home. There was tea and biscuits always ready, with a cute sherry and chocolates/treats at 5pm every day. The breakfasts were delicious, high quality, and inventive. The other guests also seemed to be having a wonderful time as well, and we enjoyed chatting with them at breakfast. Our room was off of the gated courtyard, that was the most lovely secret garden. Bouganvillia (sp?), lovely flowering plants, sculptures, a fountain set the mood. And we were located right down the way from downtown La Jolla, but in a quiet, less busy part of town. We walked down to the beach at the end of the day, and Jenna gave us beach chairs, towels for our comfort. The beach is unbelievably close and we happened upon a cove where harbor seals have their babies. Just amazing. The room was adorable, as were the other rooms Jenna showed us. The mattresses were comfortable, the temperature just right, and when we got a bit chilly, we turned on the fireplace at night. There were many lovely touches in the room, an interesting architecture (not just a rectangular room), which added to the charm. At the end of our stay, we had a late night flight, and they held our baggage and made us still feel at home, even though we technically had checked out of the B&B. The usual bits that make traveling stressful, irritating rules, fees, parking, etc...were non-existent. I hope the B&B is paying Jenna enough, as the place would not be the same without her. She's responsible, kind, appropriate, funny, a fantastic cook, and warm personality. I'm sure it's not an easy job, and she makes it look easy.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

Beautiful B&B, romantic room, friendly staff that welcomed us and made us feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

Every room has its own characterful old-fashioned furniture and style. Mine had a four-poster bed and a writing bureau. Not enough drawer space, though. Service had nice touches like communal breakfast with everyone brought into the dining room conversation who wanted to be, sherry and chocolates in the room. Lovely garden, close to shops, generally a delight.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed in Garden Room w/king bed which was comfortable. Very close to the beaches and walking distance to nice restaurants. First night was quite; second was bad due to an apparent Irish step dancer above. Grounds are ok, but near the wooden patio is a construction hole with cones...very unappealing. Needs a hot tub. If you are going to use their parking spaces, bring your Smart Car as the spaces are VERY narrow. Their "business center" would not allow my laptop to connect to the internet even though they are supposedly wifi.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billthehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marvelme_7, Owner at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
It seems your stay was during the period we were doing some reconstruction on the deck . We were in dire straits and had to remove two very large and invasive trees which were creating a hazard. Their removal created some damage to the deck and the cones were for the guests protection. As I explained to the other guest we are so sorry for the inconvenience and would have given guests a heads up if we had been able to forsee the problem and plan ahead for it. We were also hoping to put in a hot tub on the deck as you suggested and were awaiting shipment. Unfortunately prior to the hot tub's arrival, we were informed that the city of San Diego had put extra restrictions on the type of hot tub one could intall. The type required did not fit into the space we had available. As a result , we are sorry to inform our guests that it is not likely at this time that there will be a hot tub on the premises.

We inform our guests that there is limited parking , We agree the spaces are definitley tight,. The spaces were established in 1984 for smaller, standard & compact cars and not for trucks or SUVs. If the spaces are full or getting in and out is just too unnerving, there is unlimited parking on the side streets adjacent to the Inn.

At the time of your visit we were indeed having issues with the wireless routers in our complimentary business center; but these have since been solved. We do appoligize for the inconvenience this may have presented to you or other guests.
We have also increased our complimentary amenities to include unlimited amounts of bottled watet, soft drinks and an expanded wine and cheese reception. This is in addition to our unlimited supply of fresh fruit, cookies and our house favorite-Jay's Biscotti. Fine Sherry is still available in all the guest rooms with our compliments as well . We want your visit to be special and we thank you for letting us know how we can improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Property: The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Address: 7753 Draper Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Luxury San Diego Bed & Breakfast in the heart of La Jolla only a block from the ocean. Relax in our serene gardens or on the sunny deck. Some of the Deluxe rooms at our Inn in La Jolla feature fireplaces, some ocean views, fresh fruit, flowers, and robes for total comfort. Awaken to unforgettable breakfasts and the ideal location to explore beautiful beaches, shopping and dining and all that La Jolla and San Diego have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bed And Breakfast Inn At La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
The b&b Inn At La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing