We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Del Mar, California
1 review
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 21st Anniversary and are so happy we chose this Historical hotel for our special day. We typically stay at branded hotels where the service standard is boring and rehearsed. We chose this hotel because we heard and saw first hand the many great reviews. I felt compelled to add another great one!

We arrived on a busy Friday afternoon only to be greeted by two valet parking attendants who acknowledged us with the utmost professionalism while making us feel most welcome and comfortable at the same time. They directed us to the amazing front desk staff that awaited us. Michael and two lovely girls at the desk checked us in and explained the many things happening at the hotel that evening as well as the surrounding area. We were excited to share with them that it was our anniversary. Without requesting it they gave us an oceanview room with stunning views of the ocean.

Our first stop of the evening was at the Waling Bar. What a great start to a perfect evening! It's such a rustic, intimate and charming place. It has a great happy hour. The Tapas are to die for!
The bartender was so friendly and helpful and shared with us what La Jolla has to offer. After enjoying some great wine we took advantage of a walk around beautiful La Jolla and took advantage of some great shops and in particular this great Olive store with the most unique gifts and the best olives I've ever eaten. I managed to leave with half the store!

When we returned we went to the room to store our purchases only to find a great bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a beautifully written "happy anniversary" note from the friendly folks at La Valencia. WOW! What a class act!

After a romantic glass of champagne and strawberries we decided to take advantage of the oceanview lounge where a guitar band was playing Spanish music. I never wanted to leave! They were so good I managed to get my husband on the dance floor......That never happens! I just had to take one of their CDs home with us!

After a comfortable sleep on a perfect mattress breakfast the next morning was so enjoyable and relaxing and some of the best food I've ever eaten. Next time I may have to pack the pastry chef and take them home with us!

Anyway, I could go on forever talking about our wonderful our experience was. All I can say is that we wasted the last 20 years in other hotels and will spend our next 20 years staying at this great place EVERY year. My hats off to the management and most accommodating and friendly staff that we have ever experienced. This hotel is a class act from the time you arrive to the time you leave. Thank you for that! We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Just leave it to the front desk staff. They will take great care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    241
    88
    41
    15
See reviews for
227
586
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

From my check in to my check out the entire experience was amazing. Every room is so different and unique. There are so many options of views for rooms and dining. I had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and was pleasantly suprised that the prices were reasonable. And the food was delicious. It will be perfect once their renovation is over, but it seems like they are almost done. And you really can't get a better location in La Jolla, you are right on the Cove and tons of restaurants/shopping all around you. I just wish I could have stayed longer to really enjoy the hotel amenities and wonderful location!

Room Tip: Talk to the reservations staff direct and let them know your requests. Because there are so many di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I are San Diego locals and in need of a break so we planned a "staycation" at this wonderful local classic La Jolla hotel. La Valencia gets it right and treats you as one should be at a high end hotel. From the first greeting to the last farewell, the entire staff was dedicated to our indulgence with pampering, pure relaxation and any wish fulfilled. Anxious ot start our get-a-way we showed up early and checked in…while they were preparing the room, the Whaler Bar was a great place for drinks and a light lunch

We booked an Ocean Villa and were not disappointed with #12. It sits across from the La Jolla Cove Park with wide open ocean views, a spacious private balcony, large bathroom with a steam shower and huge Jacuzzi tub. Oh, we cannot forget the fireplace......charming and quite relaxing looking out at the view from the bed.

Dinner Saturday night was in the Mediterranean room at 7:00 pm, lovely window seat looking out at a stunning sunset. Service from the wait staff was fantastic, we ordered a bottle of Veuve Clicquot Brut Yellow Label to toast to our “staycation” and then started with a couple few tapas , split the beet salad and then for the main course I had a delectable braised short rib served with a creamy polenta and my wife, a fantastic rib eye cooked to perfection drizzled with a wine reduction and mushrooms. We had no room for dessert, so in La Valencia fashion…..they had us order our desserts and delivered them to our room later that evening to enjoy in front of our Villa’s fireplace after stroll along the water, via the hotels private access and walkway.

Sunday morning we awoke after a wonderful rest in their luxury linens and bedding…..ordered breakfast and went for a 20 minute soak in the pools jacuzzi. Upon returning the waiter was at our door with a sumptuous breakfast. My wife desired the local Sunday paper to peruse; they gladly went to the local market and retrieved the paper for us to read while at sipping coffee and mimosas and enjoying our breakfast. We enjoyed our private patio listening to the sounds of the ocean and enjoying the gorgeous day unfolding before us.

Whether one is a local or visiting from out of town, those with discriminating taste and high expectations will not be disappointed with any aspect of this classic boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown La Jolla. Our thanks to Bob, Ryan, Jeff, Enrique, Rey and the rest of excellent staff of La Valencia for a wonderful “staycation”!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfogsndego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Having grown up in San Diego it was wonderful to return for a few days and to be in La Jolla again. We were not disturbed nor see any construction or mess going on. Having a cup of coffee in the morning or a drink in the evening, to sit outside and watch the ocean was very relaxing. The Hotel's location, setting, style and decor was perfect. Walking around the village streets and shops were exactly what our daughters wanted. We hiked Torrey Pines State Beach, the cliffs, and walked Windansea beach, then along Ocean Blvd, to see the seals near the cove, and starting by the Cave store (near the cove), followed the path down to La Jolla Shores. Of course, it is a must to have Mexican food and Su Casa was outstanding. The last night, we celebrated being together at Eddie V's Restaurant, a must go to for sunset.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a colonial hotel in the middle of la Jolla and it is very nice. We liked the feel of this hotel and the location is perfect. this is not a big hotel but we recommend this hotel to everybody. There are restaurants and art galliers very near and also a cafeteria place that serves Arabic delicatessen and coffees and teas and we like it very much.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It's truly a fantastic experience to sit back and enjoy the Pink Lady's history while eating breakfast (gazing out to the sea) or watching the sun set dining on the outdoor balcony. La Valencia also has a spectacular and unique pool area. This hotel is a choice location for special occasion ambience, however I would not recommend it for families. It is awkward guiding children around the labyrinth of stairs, and the atmosphere is quietly and expensively adult. We stayed in a recently renovated room in the West Wing, and while I was skeptical of that area (other reviews), the room was beautiful. Unfortunately the renos were occurring after the 7am-6pm hours promised. We had to request that construction be stopped (including loud music and carpet installation pounding) at 9:30 pm. Street noise on Friday and Saturday is also a problem if you are located near the road. There are a few creepy walkways that you can stumble into, ending in submarine-like metal staircases, but we found exploration was part of the historical experience.

Service is outstanding and consistent throughout the hotel. Parking within a 5 block radius is a living nightmare, unless you spend extra $$ per day for valet service. Otherwise, you must orbit the hotel for 1/2 an hour or plan to take in the stores and restaurants on your way to and from your vehicle every day.

Room Tip: Avoid a room close to the road if you are staying on a weekend. Traffic noise is almost unbearable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JdCana324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

What a delightful place! Lots of historic touches at this charming hotel. Rooms are great - comfortable bed with high thread count sheets, excellent shower (though the bathroom is quite small). Even though we had been told the hotel was undergoing renovation, the only sign of that was the out-of-service (original!) elevator (had been out since November - guess it's hard to get parts for a 1920's elevator). Staff is polite and helpful. Small but welcoming bar. Steps from the hotel to a wide variety of nice restaurants. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickK7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
918 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing