We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mediterranean Room at la Valencia”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Did not stay at the hotel but enjoyed a wonderful lunch in the Mediterranean Room looking out over the Pacific. The setting is perfect, the food excellent, and the service was very attentive without being bothersome. We enjoyed lunch with friends and at no time felt rushed even though the restaurant was quite busy. It appears to be a favourite even of the locals. It's definitely a place we'll visit whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lrovere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just spent a long weekend at the La Valencia Hotel and were very pleased with the entire experience. From the beautiful views,amazing staff, and easy accessable location coupled with fine dining and great rooms, we found a it to be a little slice of heaven.

Room Tip: The Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I with another couple spent two wonderful days and nights at this historic, beautifully maintained hotel. The hotel dates from the early 1920's and has many interesting old photos of the hotel during different eras. Also photos of old movies stars and various famous people who have made the La Valencia their spot in La Jolla.
We had a spectacular view from our room of the ocean and coastline. We could see the seals and surfers riding the waves and hear the seals occasionally barking to each other, funny sounds!
The hotel has a great location in town. So many shops, restaurants to easily enjoy. Thetwo restaurants at the hotel are very good. We ate in the Mediterranean Room one night and had the
loveliest table right at the fireplace. Beautiful views towards the sea and the menu was varied . Two of us choos the Maine lobster and our other two choices were the fresh fish of the day and the authentic Spanish Paella, all we're delicious!
And the beds are so-o--o comfortable!

Room Tip: We like the original building, the rooms are older but not dated. Just has a quainter feel. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenThere4352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is an ideal location. The hotel is 80 years old and an icon of La Jolla. It is a 2-3 minute walk down to the beach where you can either enjoy the beach and a swim or walk the boardwalk and look out over the sea lions on the rocks. The hotel is on the main street of La Jolla so you are central to the shops, restaurants, and galleries. The lobby and restaurant are beautiful. Our room could have used a a refurb but the bathroom was luxurious marble. We really enjoyed our stay. This hotel is a few room refurbs away from being a 5 star in my book.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsp-alisoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you like the old time atmosphere of a grand hotel, this is the place. Food and service is excellent. Although the workout room is cramped and very few weights and no machines other than for cardio. Make sure before you travel to the area, GET A WEATHER REPORT. The coast in this area is often times gloomy, cold and just not pleasant, especially during April, May and June.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, either a part ocean or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlDanaPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 21st Anniversary and are so happy we chose this Historical hotel for our special day. We typically stay at branded hotels where the service standard is boring and rehearsed. We chose this hotel because we heard and saw first hand the many great reviews. I felt compelled to add another great one!

We arrived on a busy Friday afternoon only to be greeted by two valet parking attendants who acknowledged us with the utmost professionalism while making us feel most welcome and comfortable at the same time. They directed us to the amazing front desk staff that awaited us. Michael and two lovely girls at the desk checked us in and explained the many things happening at the hotel that evening as well as the surrounding area. We were excited to share with them that it was our anniversary. Without requesting it they gave us an oceanview room with stunning views of the ocean.

Our first stop of the evening was at the Waling Bar. What a great start to a perfect evening! It's such a rustic, intimate and charming place. It has a great happy hour. The Tapas are to die for!
The bartender was so friendly and helpful and shared with us what La Jolla has to offer. After enjoying some great wine we took advantage of a walk around beautiful La Jolla and took advantage of some great shops and in particular this great Olive store with the most unique gifts and the best olives I've ever eaten. I managed to leave with half the store!

When we returned we went to the room to store our purchases only to find a great bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a beautifully written "happy anniversary" note from the friendly folks at La Valencia. WOW! What a class act!

After a romantic glass of champagne and strawberries we decided to take advantage of the oceanview lounge where a guitar band was playing Spanish music. I never wanted to leave! They were so good I managed to get my husband on the dance floor......That never happens! I just had to take one of their CDs home with us!

After a comfortable sleep on a perfect mattress breakfast the next morning was so enjoyable and relaxing and some of the best food I've ever eaten. Next time I may have to pack the pastry chef and take them home with us!

Anyway, I could go on forever talking about our wonderful our experience was. All I can say is that we wasted the last 20 years in other hotels and will spend our next 20 years staying at this great place EVERY year. My hats off to the management and most accommodating and friendly staff that we have ever experienced. This hotel is a class act from the time you arrive to the time you leave. Thank you for that! We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Just leave it to the front desk staff. They will take great care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

From my check in to my check out the entire experience was amazing. Every room is so different and unique. There are so many options of views for rooms and dining. I had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and was pleasantly suprised that the prices were reasonable. And the food was delicious. It will be perfect once their renovation is over, but it seems like they are almost done. And you really can't get a better location in La Jolla, you are right on the Cove and tons of restaurants/shopping all around you. I just wish I could have stayed longer to really enjoy the hotel amenities and wonderful location!

Room Tip: Talk to the reservations staff direct and let them know your requests. Because there are so many di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenixadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,009 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £219 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing