We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect Vacation Hotel"”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our stay at La Valencia was so much more than we ever expected! We were treated royally, had exceptional service, and the hotel was beautiful. We were upgraded to a lovely room with every amenity, hugh flat screen tv, and a very modern bathroom. The views of the Pacific were spectacular, and the gardens on the grounds were covered with lavish flowers, bushes, and trees.
The food was delicious, and each meal was a treat; we loved having breakfast omelets on the patio. We especially enjoyed lying by the sparkling pool, watching the ocean, and visiting with the guests.
We spent most of our time in and around the hotel, but the town of LaJolla also has much to see and do. I heartly recommend this jewel of a hotel. It is small, has the feel of understated elegance, and the attention to service is unparalled.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachcomer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed for three nights in La Valencia. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. We cannot comment on the restaurants because we dined always out with friends of ours from the area.
Enzo and Margie Pennisi, Rome Italy

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room in the main building on the 9th floor with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enzo560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My wife and I returned to La Jolla, the location of our wedding and other significant events, for our tenth wedding anniversary. We chose to stay at La Valencia, the multi-storied and much-storied hotel on Prospect Street, on a rise above Scripps Park and the ocean. Good choice. The weather didn't cooperate (gray, gray, gray ... until the day we left) and the hotel was undergoing renovations here and there. But this was more than made up for by the superb staff and kind attention to detail. (Special thanks to Michelle and Brian at the front desk and Bob and other members of the welcoming valet team.) For instance, a wedding reception bumped us from the restaurant (the site of our anniversary dinner), but the management set us up in front of the magnificent picture window overlooking the Pacific, at the end of a dramatic Spanish Colonial Revival lobby that would put a spring in the step of Norma Desmond. The dinner was fantastic, and the champagne complimentary (an apology for making the new wedding more important than our old one -- there were also wine, chocolate strawberries, and a rose in our room). The room itself had been upgraded to ocean view. Plus we got a late check out (due to ear-splitting tile cutting and repair going on for hours around the pool, dissuading us from using the area until the day we checked out and the noise abated). We would definitely return and suggest you check out this nationally registered historic pink pile on the hill. As repairs and upgrades are finished (refurbished elevator, etc.) La Valencia will emerge as a lady of a certain age who's just been "freshened up" a bit to stay in the game -- a familiar enough sight in southern California. Here's an additional tip: overnight hotel parking is pricey at almost $30... but it's possible to park overnight on some nearby streets if you pay attention to signs, including on the curving street behind the hotel that runs down to the park and beach, believe it or not).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Califorays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Did not stay at the hotel but enjoyed a wonderful lunch in the Mediterranean Room looking out over the Pacific. The setting is perfect, the food excellent, and the service was very attentive without being bothersome. We enjoyed lunch with friends and at no time felt rushed even though the restaurant was quite busy. It appears to be a favourite even of the locals. It's definitely a place we'll visit whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lrovere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just spent a long weekend at the La Valencia Hotel and were very pleased with the entire experience. From the beautiful views,amazing staff, and easy accessable location coupled with fine dining and great rooms, we found a it to be a little slice of heaven.

Room Tip: The Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I with another couple spent two wonderful days and nights at this historic, beautifully maintained hotel. The hotel dates from the early 1920's and has many interesting old photos of the hotel during different eras. Also photos of old movies stars and various famous people who have made the La Valencia their spot in La Jolla.
We had a spectacular view from our room of the ocean and coastline. We could see the seals and surfers riding the waves and hear the seals occasionally barking to each other, funny sounds!
The hotel has a great location in town. So many shops, restaurants to easily enjoy. Thetwo restaurants at the hotel are very good. We ate in the Mediterranean Room one night and had the
loveliest table right at the fireplace. Beautiful views towards the sea and the menu was varied . Two of us choos the Maine lobster and our other two choices were the fresh fish of the day and the authentic Spanish Paella, all we're delicious!
And the beds are so-o--o comfortable!

Room Tip: We like the original building, the rooms are older but not dated. Just has a quainter feel. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenThere4352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is an ideal location. The hotel is 80 years old and an icon of La Jolla. It is a 2-3 minute walk down to the beach where you can either enjoy the beach and a swim or walk the boardwalk and look out over the sea lions on the rocks. The hotel is on the main street of La Jolla so you are central to the shops, restaurants, and galleries. The lobby and restaurant are beautiful. Our room could have used a a refurb but the bathroom was luxurious marble. We really enjoyed our stay. This hotel is a few room refurbs away from being a 5 star in my book.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsp-alisoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,040 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £217 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing