We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely ... And pet friendly!”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

La Valencia was really ideal. We had a beautiful view from our room, the bed was super cozy (major plus,) and everything was as it should be, relaxing and just lovely. Forgetting about the stately charm,perfect location, et cetera,the coolest thing of all is that they welcomed our sweet poochie with open arms! Bravo la Valencia - your fellow top end hotels in the area are not so smart and savvy. But I forgot all about them them the moment I checked in. Wish I could have stayed longer!

**Oh, and the pool is super-fab/dreamy/quintessential lounging too!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisaDavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
There are newer reviews for La Valencia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

My partner and I were celebrating 37 years and an opportunity to be at La Valencia presented itself. She is known to some as the "Pink Lady", having been built in the 20's. Our room was on the 8th floor (street is 4th) in a newly redecorated wing. The room was a very good size and had a french balcony and window. It appeared geared toward business traveler as it had a soft chair with footrest and desk chair but no table. We didn't mind as we didn't eat in the room. The small couch and cocktail table worked well for coffee in the morning for the two of us. The bath was a jacuzzi tub; shower was a bit awkward but you can see the ocean when you do shower!
The hotel managment welcomed us with a note, champagne and a tray of chocolates, very nice touch, thus they can be forgiven for addressing it to Mr + Mrs; (it is Mr +Mr) . Hotel lounges have Happy Hour and the small plates and drinks are neat and affordable. Dining choices abound: Bar, Lounge, Terrace, Room, Cafe. San Diego is noted for "May grey and June gloom" weather; and it was, but that didn't stop us from being at the pool and ordering a grilled cheese sandwhich.

The hotel stepped up to the plate when I notified them of some house engineering items in the room (remember newly redone). The one lingering issue was the hum and slight vibration from the mechanical system below the bedroom floor for the kitchen below. I just imagined I was on a cruise. The hotel staff did offer to see what they could do; but since we were staying only two nights, I accepted my fate. The hotel manager, however, offered to do something to make our stay better and complemented our food and beverage charges.

The hotel is not inexpensive. The service very attentive and gracious. Excellent food and drink choices, Room was great. View superb! Close to the amenities La Jolla has to offer. Management definitely wants to please you and make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Definitely return for that special occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful place to stay. We had a partial ocean view that's was fantastic. We woke up every morning to the sights of the ocean and a cool breeze as we slept with the windows open every night. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schafer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

From the moment we arrived the hotel staff was very attentive and took care of everything from scheduling massages to restaurant reservations.

We would highly recommend staying at the La Valencia Hotel while in La Jolla.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tluther55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our stay at La Valencia was so much more than we ever expected! We were treated royally, had exceptional service, and the hotel was beautiful. We were upgraded to a lovely room with every amenity, hugh flat screen tv, and a very modern bathroom. The views of the Pacific were spectacular, and the gardens on the grounds were covered with lavish flowers, bushes, and trees.
The food was delicious, and each meal was a treat; we loved having breakfast omelets on the patio. We especially enjoyed lying by the sparkling pool, watching the ocean, and visiting with the guests.
We spent most of our time in and around the hotel, but the town of LaJolla also has much to see and do. I heartly recommend this jewel of a hotel. It is small, has the feel of understated elegance, and the attention to service is unparalled.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachcomer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed for three nights in La Valencia. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. We cannot comment on the restaurants because we dined always out with friends of ours from the area.
Enzo and Margie Pennisi, Rome Italy

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room in the main building on the 9th floor with a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enzo560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My wife and I returned to La Jolla, the location of our wedding and other significant events, for our tenth wedding anniversary. We chose to stay at La Valencia, the multi-storied and much-storied hotel on Prospect Street, on a rise above Scripps Park and the ocean. Good choice. The weather didn't cooperate (gray, gray, gray ... until the day we left) and the hotel was undergoing renovations here and there. But this was more than made up for by the superb staff and kind attention to detail. (Special thanks to Michelle and Brian at the front desk and Bob and other members of the welcoming valet team.) For instance, a wedding reception bumped us from the restaurant (the site of our anniversary dinner), but the management set us up in front of the magnificent picture window overlooking the Pacific, at the end of a dramatic Spanish Colonial Revival lobby that would put a spring in the step of Norma Desmond. The dinner was fantastic, and the champagne complimentary (an apology for making the new wedding more important than our old one -- there were also wine, chocolate strawberries, and a rose in our room). The room itself had been upgraded to ocean view. Plus we got a late check out (due to ear-splitting tile cutting and repair going on for hours around the pool, dissuading us from using the area until the day we checked out and the noise abated). We would definitely return and suggest you check out this nationally registered historic pink pile on the hill. As repairs and upgrades are finished (refurbished elevator, etc.) La Valencia will emerge as a lady of a certain age who's just been "freshened up" a bit to stay in the game -- a familiar enough sight in southern California. Here's an additional tip: overnight hotel parking is pricey at almost $30... but it's possible to park overnight on some nearby streets if you pay attention to signs, including on the curving street behind the hotel that runs down to the park and beach, believe it or not).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wes_SantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £240 - £565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing