We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right combination of relaxation, luxury and convenience.”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

7/27 - 8/4/2012 We had visited La Jolla before, but never stayed at La Valencia, This hotel provides exactly what you need to relax on vacation. We have to send out a special shout out to the poolside staff and the valet parking staff. Every one of the young ladies and gentlemen provided great service, were charming, cheerful and very hard working! The location of La Valencia is excellent,with everything within walking distance. The food at the hotel along with the views are outstanding. The partial ocean view room we had was a trifle small but the view from the balcony was just fine .We will just get a bigger room next time we stay at La Valencia. Thank you for making our much needed vacation one of our best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZOZ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Greetings to our NY Guest!

We are delighted that all the right ingredients were in the mix for your La Valencia stay. We have the blessings of a spectacular view and some iconic architecture but I am especially pleased to see that our friendly staff stood out during our stay – they make the difference and we appreciate your wonderful comments.

Please let us know when you’re ready to return and yes, we have a variety of room types, sizes and locations to make each trip a new discovery.

Ciao –

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

We got married on April 07, 2012. The La Valencia Hotel is the perfect place with its breath taking location and the view, to add the friendly welcome you revive from all the staff to celebrate our very special day. The staff from the valley parking to serving the food were perfect. The wedding cordinataor was on top of all the details to support and to make sure our wedding would be seamless. And it was!!! The food is excellent and no surprise there.The rooms are very conformable and clean with all the amenities one would need to make your stay enjoyable. We have been their many times for lunch and dinner and each time you cannot go home disappointed. We will be visiting the hotel to stay and enjoy the superb service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear San Diego Newlyweds!

Many thanks for choosing La V for the start of your exciting partnership; we are truly honored. Our goal is to ensure that the hotel literally your home away from home and I am so happy to see that the staff, accommodations, services and cuisine were on par with your expectations. The La V staff looks forward to welcoming you back for many years to come

Warm regards,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Incredible location, spacious villa and the most comfortable bed ever! Perhaps even better than the Heavenly Bed.... if you can, rent a villa as you'll get more room, fireplace, vaulted ceilings, lanai, large bathroom with large bathtub, two-head shower with a steam feature (ahhhh) and a separate toilet room. The room service is fast, warm and delightful on your private balcony. Staff is kind and friendly and the views from the pool are amazing.

Room Tip: Ask, rent, upgrade to a villa - worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tstangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

A big hello to our LA guest and thank you!

We are delighted that La V created a great experience and even more pleased to see how much you enjoyed our villas; they are our exclusive hotel within the hotel. It looks like you took advantage of the many qualities afforded in the villas not the least of which are the spectacular ocean views. Of all your gracious comments the most appreciated is that of our staff – our goal is a warm and friendly atmosphere.

La V and team look forward to your return very soon; we’ll have a villa or two waiting!

Cheers –

Mark Dibella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

La Valencia is an absolutely wonderful hotel. We were quite late in booking for the 4th of July week so weren't sure what to expect given that the hotel was completely full. Although smaller than we would have liked (simply due to lack of availability), everything was lovely - linens, toiletries. Most important, however, was the helpfulness of the staff. I would like to commend Maureen, in particular. We didn't get to meet her as she is in the back office handling the phones. We had medical issue that required immediate attention (though not 911). Maureen provided the basic info (nearby clinics, ER, etc.), but then on her own made a few inquires in La Jolla and called us back with the name of a doctor a few blocks away who was willing to see us. (Mind you, this was Saturday on a holiday weekend.) We so appreciated the unsolicited extra effort which no doubt saved us hours in an emergency room. That level of service really makes a hotel. We will definitely be back (and book earlier for a preferred room!).

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAQsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear New York Guest –
Bravo for choosing La V for your July 4th holiday plans; we sincerely thank you for making our home yours for the summer holiday and we are especially thrilled that our staffs attentive service stood out. The extra comments you shared about Maureen are most appreciated. She like many of our staff are why the hotel is so special and of course when you add in our spectacular seaside setting and coastal charm it makes for a great combination.
We have many plans in store for the future so please ensure that you make time to return.
Cheers!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed 7/16-7/19/12 for business trip. Was given a Villa room over looking the ocean. The bed was heavenly and I had no problems sleeping. Bathroom with jacuzzi tub and shower with three different sprays was wonderful to relax by after sailing or walks on the beach. Food was arranged as part of group meetings and was excellent - definitely 5 star (although pricy). Convenient to ocean, shops and other restaurants (all with killer views of the ocean).
Staff was polite and accommodating. Little confusing with the amount of steps and different restaurants, but staff went out of their way to walk me to where I was supposed to be.
Loved the early morning/ late evening walks along the beach, seeing the seals and gorgeous sunrise/ sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fhalleran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

As a Wedding coordinator in San Diego had the amazing opportunity to personally plan, on June 23rd a very Posh Wedding.
The Hotel staff was very supportive, professional, and friendly.
Every time I looked around someone was there to help me, and give me an hand in any possible ways.
I would highly recommend this Venue to all my clients. As one of the most luxury timeless Hotel.

Best Regards,

BiancaWeddings.
www.biancaweddings.com
International Destination Wedding planner and coordinator.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiancaWeddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Wedding Guru –

It is absolutely our pleasure to be of service to you and your very special guests in planning their wedding. La V has had the honor of being the first chapter in the lives of thousands of newlyweds over the past 8 decades and we love the tradition. There is something magical about the combination of our diligent staff, cascading coastal gardens and magnificent ocean view that makes a wedding here even more special – we thank you for your comments.

Cheers!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The associates are extremely polite and helpful. The location is simply great but there is room for improvement. The carpets in the halls are dirty and have spots; the carpets in my room was dirty and simply needed some cleaning. The daily room cleaning needs some standardization: sometimes more towels sometimes less; sometimes early sometimes late in the day. Pull down in the evening had the same issues. The bathrooms are extremely small.

All in all good but should be great!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Zurich Traveler –
Many thanks for your gracious comments on our staff – we believe they are the most important part of our La V experience. Please know that your feedback on improvement do not go unrecognized. We can assure you that cleanliness is a top priority and the hall carpets are more a product of age which is on our radar for renovations this year which will also include many new and exciting improvements throughout the property. Our 112 rooms and suites offer exceptional diversity of choice from ocean view villas to more cozy courtyard accommodations so when you consider a return and larger bathrooms are a priority I assure you we have options.
Thank you for joining us and we hope to have you return soon.
Best regards -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,035 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £218 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing