We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent venue for business meeting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, California
1 review
“Excellent venue for business meeting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I recently asked La Valencia to host my Area Sales Meeting. From room accommodations to meeting accommodations to food - everything went PERFECTLY. La Valencia made my out of town attendees/presenters (many were first-timers to San Diego) feel very welcomed and 100% of my attendees and presenters have asked to have our venue at La Valencia again. The coordination of my event with Leo Lopez was very easy and he attended to every single detail, and called my attention to ones that I even overlooked! La Valencia created an environment that was conducive to learning, networking and relaxing - all at the same time! My team felt refreshed, motivated and appreciated!! The menu was healthy and very tasteful! Many of my attendees extended their stay through the weekend and noted the consistency of the top notch customer service throughout their stay. The new remodeled rooms were very comfortable and quiet for all of my guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear La Jolla Business!
WOW and thank you; we are most grateful for the spectacular compliments on La V for your recent meeting and I am especially delighted to know that Leo and the team made such a difference. Your recognition of our staff services means a great deal as we know that renovations alone to not make a hotel great; it is the staff.
Thank you again, we hope to see you back for many more years to come.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    231
    79
    38
    13
See reviews for
219
557
29
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Upon arrival at La Valencia we were unexpectedly upgraded to a villa, which proved quite wonderful. I know others have been critical of some of the outdated and smaller rooms, but there are (I think) about 21 villas, each one seemingly different (from the outside anyway). Ours (#21) was perhaps the least desirable because it had no terrace or balcony, but we were thrilled with the room nonetheless. It was very large and well appointed, and the bathroom was huge, with a large shower with spigots both on the wall and the ceiling, as well as a jacuzzi tub. Even from this ground level villa near the street, we still had a view of the ocean over the park across the street. All the villas are near the swimming pool, which we found very convenient. We found the staff helpful and courteous. The hotel is old and there are some drawbacks as compared to an ultra-modern hotel, but we found the location perfectly central to everything we needed in downtown La Jolla (we walked everywhere we needed to go) and the beach. (Note that the beach is not one long continuous beach as one might find in other Southern California locations, but a few small unconnected cove beaches. Accordingly, we found that we did our oceanside walking along the path above the beaches rather than on the sand.) We did find that our iron didn't work and one lightbulb was out in the room, but both problems were rectified very quickly and graciously. The fitness "center" is very small with limited equipment, and not all of what was there worked. There is no spa, but massage appointments are taken and provided in a small, comfortable room adjacent to the fitness room. However, despite these various limitations, we really enjoyed our stay, and would certainly consider staying here again if we could get a villa (or be assured of a good sized renovated room in the main hotel building).

Room Tip: Reserve a villa if the cost is within your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfjon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear SF Guest –
I am delighted that our Villas were a hit – each is unique and offers its own set of features but all include some generous bathrooms to relax and indulge in. Thank you especially for the lovely compliments on our staff and their friendly service – they are the real key to La V; the view of the Pacific is just icing. Although “mature” La V is not old but very young at heart and we’re moving ahead to our next chapters of coastal hospitality. Our 112 rooms offers a wide variety of accommodations choices and pricing from the grand Villas to Classic Ocean view rooms and suites in our circa 1926 wing and west wing (recently renovated) and yes, more intimate rooms in our 1928 wing which are being revamped as we speak to ensure that the size is both functional but also comfortable – fortunately the views are exceptional no matter what.
Thank you for choosing La V and we hope to see you back soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel is storied and quaint. Staff were friendly, service was great and the location is amazing but we were disappointed with the tired & stained carpet for $385 a night. It's sad because a little TLC would make it a 5* gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Canadian Guest –
Many thanks for the compliments on our friendly staff and yes, our amazing location. I do apologize for any shortfalls on the carpet concerns you encountered. La V is in the midst of complete guest room renovations and it appears that you were in one of our last rooms to address; again our apologies. TLC is in progress and we are diligently working to ensure that we enhance our 8+ decade legacy while including a marriage of exciting new features. Keep an eye on La V over the next few months – we’ll hit all the stars!
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is an old school hotel, and it shows. Parts of it, like the lobby, are quite charming, but the rest is pretty geriatric. The rooms are small. And I mean really small. The bathroom is big enough for one medium-sized person and no more. The plumbing struggles to cope with a shower and you end up with water up to your ankles. There's also only one elevator so it's most often quicker to use the stairs. Staff are very helpful and friendly, easily the high point of our stay. Happy hour is 4-6pm on the terrace bar and good value.

Overall we're left with the impression of an old fashioned hotel with pretensions of grandeur.

Room Tip: We didn't get one so can't help here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear London Guest –
Thanks for chiming in on your impressions of La V especially La Sala; our grand lobby with massive windows to the Pacific. I’m not certain you took advantage of the rest of La Valencia as our property (many acres) includes terraced mature gardens, patios and decks, petite balconies and a stunning pool with views of the ocean. It seems you also missed our signature Villas and perhaps our lovely assortment of suites and classic guest rooms. From our Ocean View Terrace to Skyroom Restaurant to Med Room and Whalers Bar; we have the best of La Jolla’s iconic dining establishments.
You are indeed right that our main elevator in the circa 1928 tower is small; a product of the era but I would imagine as a UK resident this is not unusual. We did recently complete renovations of the elevator so that the mechanics and cab are state of the art. You room tip seems confusing as you note “you didn’t get one so can’t help here” – did you actually stay at La V? If so I think you missed a few things.
Many thanks,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Tired is the only way to describe La Valencia. I’m sure that once this was a beautiful hotel, and there is no denying that the views out in to the Pacific are truly stunning, but it has definitely seen better days. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing fundamentally wrong with the place. The bed is fresh and clean and the staff friendly, but the bathrooms leave a lot to be desired, there’s scuff marks and paint peeling and a multitude of stains on the furniture in the rooms.

I can’t say yet if there’s a better hotel in La Jolla, but I do plan to find out as I think I’ll probably cut my stay here shorter than planned.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurreyChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Surrey Chap UK Guest –

Our views of the ocean are in fact un paralleled, thank you. I can assure you however that La Valencia is not tired – we are energetic and ready to go! Please know that I understand your impressions as you most likely stayed in one of the last rooms we have yet to renovate with a very intimate bathroom. Rest assured that by the end of 2012 we will have paid full attention to the remaining rooms and details. What is most important to me is that our staff friendliness stood out during your stay. If we don’t deliver on great service then renovations mean nothing. I was also delighted to see your comments on our fresh clean beds; another key factor in the La V experience.
Thank you for your thoughts and comments – we are on the move!
Best regards,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The staff here are very helpful. On arrival our room was not ready but we were upgraded to a junior suite. By the time we relaxed with a drink the room was ready. Views from the hotel over the cove are brilliant and it's central location is perfect. The Whalers Bar reeks nostalgia and is a classy place to try a cocktail or two. Try the signature cocktail - the Whaler - especially if you are relaxing by the pool. Gorgeous. Agree with a previous review that the wi-fi is poor. It let me down when trying to choose seats on the flight back to London because unknowingly it cut off before the transaction was completed. But this did not spoil a fantastic end to our holiday in California.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidrgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Gem Collector!
We are delighted that La V is part of your Gem collection. Thank you very much for your lovely compliments on the hotel and our location. I am sorry to see the your Wi-Fi was not cooperating but please know that we have this on our IT list and have already identified the added bandwidth and router needs.
We hope your travels across the pond were safe and sound and La V looks forward to your return soon.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at La Valencia for 6 days, reserving 2 rooms, one for us and one for our two teenage kids. The rooms had very nice accomodations ,yes the bathrooms were a little on the small side but for me it was fine and the shower heads power was perfect. Every time I called down for something by the time I hung up the phone it was at my door. We enjoyed the restaurants and pool areas with great views. We also traveled with other friends and we all agreed that we had the best experience. Of course the location cannot be beat. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Of course you want a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear NYNY,
Many thanks for making La V your 6 day home this summer and especially for the accolades on our prompt service. I was very pleased to see that you and your guests found La Valencia to be a great experience and our hope is to have you all back every summer as your west coast escape.
Cheers!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing