We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check this off your bucket list soon”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check this off your bucket list soon”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Whew, one more check-off on my bucket list. If you have not had the pleasure of a La Valencia Hotel stay I suggest you try it soon. I will put their beds up against any on the planet for comfort. If you can't sleep with Pacific Ocean waves caressing your ears or the crackling of an in room fireplace then consider staying inland. It's hard to imagine a more romantic location but let me know if you find one better than this classic hotel in downtown La Jolla. Visit soon but don't tell too many people. :) Wendy, Alyssa sp? and bar staff were all great, what a California treasure. Oh yeah, La Jolla means jewel in Spanish I think...makes sense.

Room Tip: If you can swing it in the budget try on Ocean Villa w balcony with ocean view. Most all rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Costa Rica Traveler –

I am thrilled that La V made your bucket list and that we delivered; thank you. You stay in one of our Villas was indeed an ideal setting to enjoy the best of our enchanting setting since these accommodations include some lavish trappings including spa like bathrooms, private patios and balconies and some with fireplaces. I do agree, falling asleep to the sounds of the Pacific makes for a perfect night. Thank you also for mentioning some of our staff; they are truly the jewels in our collection.

Travel safe and we hope you return soon.

Cheers,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    243
    90
    42
    15
See reviews for
232
592
31
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The staff is very attentive and aims to please. Wonderful food in the bar as well as the dining room, incredible grounds and a view that is unbeatable. Ill be returning for another visit next year. La jolla is a wonderful little village with shopping and dining that can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partridge25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Amazing Guest!
What can we say except thank you, thank you and thank you. We are genuinely delighted that La V and our charming village of La Jolla were the right mix for your get away and we’ll look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My husband and I had spent the week in downtown San Diego celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and wanted to take the weekend to splurge and spend a couple of days at the LaValencia...we had heard a good review. We were given a room with a beautiful view, however there was a wedding party 2 floors beneath us that was very loud and disruptive until late at night. We did call the front desk(even though we felt a little hypocritical, after all we were celebrating a 'wedding' anniversary and this was a 'wedding' party), and they said they would have them turn it down but it did no good. Our 'special weekend' turned into wasted money and regret that we had stayed there. However, by the end of the night we did know the names of the bride, groom, and all the wedding party, we could hear all the conversations, (it was that loud!) and that was with the windows closed. I hate to give a poor review, but this was truly a disappointing experience!

Room Tip: Ask if there are any 'special events' near your room before you splurge on this stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Tennessee traveler,
First and foremost, congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary; such a wonderful milestone. I am sorry that the festivities from a wedding celebration impacted your special occasion. As your tip indicates, we do have a wide variety of rooms and locations that can better ensure our guests are in the spot that best suits their plans. La V plays host to wedding celebrations almost every weekend and we do require that all music ends at 10:00 pm in our ballroom (located at the south end of our property) so that the ambiance of the property for the balance of the evening captures our coastal setting. We do hope you consider a return, please feel free to reach out to me directly as I would love to make arrangements for one of our ocean facing suites or private and romantic villas.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

We did not know what to expect but we were more than happy upon arrival. The hotel is a little gem in La Jolla.
The welcoming from the staff was excellent as well as the service during our entire stay. They made us feel like home.
The food in the pub was so and so, we had expected more according to the previuos rating, especially the calamares.
After that we had excellent service in the restaurant where we had brunch, the service and offer in the lounge/bar was better than expected. A lovely pool and the very good location made our stay more than very pleasant. This is a place to recommend to family and friend.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nalle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Wonderful Guest;
Thank for you’re the great compliments on our gem of a hotel; our team feels for fortunate to work at La V. I am also happy to see that your brunch experience was also a hit, thank you. Our “pub” (the Whaling bar) is about to undergo a much needed enhancement as we bring back Café La Rue in the spring so I promise that all dining in the future will be at a high standard.
Thank you again,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I had dinners and happy hours at this hotel for over 10 years when I travel to La Jolla on business. A little old California, good service, no rush and nice meals. Sometimes my friends and me would go to happy hour into La Jolla and come back here for a beautiful view with our meal. Breakfast is wonderful to. If you don't give it a try while in La Jolla, you will be missing out on something special.

Room Tip: I never tried the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReenTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Hello Austin Guest,
Dinners are very delicious and breakfasts also are one of my favorite periods to enjoy the tranquility of our stunning ocean views and relaxed ambiance; our Executive Chef Paul McCabe just added some wonderful new menu items. My favorites are the pumpkin waffles! I am so pleased that you take time to join us and very happy to know that you keep returning. Many thanks,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamhill, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

La Valencia is a lovely hotel with beautiful grounds and a great location. When we checked in, the price they gave us was about $50 more than the internet price. But when we asked to have the internet price, they did give it to us. They had a new employee at the front desk. After we had been standing at the desk for about 15 minutes while she worked on checking us in, she finally got some help from another employee. It seems like they should have given her a little better training and been prepared with assistance for her! We also had a long wait for the valet to bring our car when we checked out. When they know it is busy like that, it seems like they could suggest you wait inside until they can bring the car instead of having a group of people standing in the cold on the curb.
The room service was excellent. Very speedy and great customer service.
The room itself was small, but beautifully decorated. Although there was room for another chair, there was only the desk chair and no place for a second person to sit. Also there was no bedside table for setting a book or glasses. The desk was covered with a large tray of snacks which had to be moved to the floor to make room for put a computer on the small table. It seemed funny to have such normal pieces of furniture missing, and made the stay less enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oregonirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Guest of La V,
Thank you for the great compliments on your room service experience and room décor – it is greatly appreciated. I am sorry for the rate error on arrival and delay in resolving this with a new staff member; we will work harder! Your suggestion on valet staff inviting guests to wait inside when it’s cold are an excellent idea and one we will review.
We do hope that La V will have you back soon.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We hosted 21 guests for cocktails, hors D’oeuvres and dinner at the La Valencia. Before our guests arrived, the director of catering insured that all details of the event were in place and that the staff was completely informed of our expectations. The event started on time and stayed on schedule. The staff treated our guests royally by graciously serving drinks and hors D’oeuvres as they arrived. The dinner was elegant and arrived at our table at the proper temperature. Our guests are still bragging about the wonderful experience they had at the La Valencia. On a side note, having lunch on the La Valencia balcony is like visiting the coast of Italy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Rehearsal Host,
We are thrilled that your very special dinner was a success; weddings and all the trappings are a wonderful part of La V. I absolutely love your description of our coastline view; the scenery does indeed transport you to far off places . . . but we are so close!
See you soon and thank you again.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
945 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing