We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Beach Home”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Second Beach Home”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I got married at La V last year and it was the perfect Fall setting overlooking the ocean - we wanted somewhere that would showcase our poolside, beachside, oceanside, sunny lifestyle, and to rub it in a little bit to our international guests that we live in the most beautiful place in California! La V did it's job - above and beyond my expectations on my wedding day, and again on our first anniversary. The hotel never ceases to amaze me with the attention to detail and bespoke service. I am so grateful La V staff were available to not only accommodate my specific requests, but to personalize our stay in ways that made us feel special and important! The rooms are luxurious, the food is delicious, the staff are incredibly friendly, the pool is a pleasure, and the view makes you feel like a celebrity! Every thing was easy and we walked around smiling. La V is understated glam, and romance at its finest.

Room Tip: Get a full ocean view room with a balcony! It is worth it to wake up with the double doors opening t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Second Home -
You continue to honor us with your marvelous compliments; thank you so much. Our team truly wants our guests to feel at home and to think of La V as theirs - this is especially true of our wedding couples who make La Valencia day one of their lives together. We're so pleased that you spent you wedding day and your 1st anniversary under our roof and we look forward to seeing you both often through the years!
Warm regards -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    238
    84
    41
    15
See reviews for
222
580
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brentwood
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Even though we had messed up our reservation and basically did not have one on a very busy weekend, they accommodated us anyway. Great views, wonderful pool and can walk to a very scenic beach and park.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenclark310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Brentwood Guest -
So happy that we handled the weekend arrival reservation issue quickly and more importantly, that you enjoyed your stay. Next time please call our reservations team direct so we can take care of the details and welcome you back in style.
Warm regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I spent three days there last week for a long weekend. We got a suite that appeared to have been recently renovated. Everything was very clean and neat. There is a lot of history at this beautiful hotel and you could feel it. Lots of charm. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Santa Barbara Guest -
Many thanks for the 5 stars on your stay at La V. Our recent renovations have polished up our iconic hotel and we will continue to make her shine even more in the next year with fresh ideas and more enhancements - we hope you return so we can show off -
Ciao,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

An unexpected treasure right by the waters edge. Beautiful hotel and the room (villa) was exceptional. We were walking distance to beach, restaurant , and shopping. I can't wait to return. I was upgraded to a villa which was outstanding. Very roomy with jacuzzi tub, fireplace, and balcony. Very romantic.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwppart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Understated Guest -
Don't worry, you don't have to leave your room on our account - especially our villas, they are ideal retreats with privacy and comfort. Thank you for the compliments and plan to come back again and feel free to hide all you want (that's why we have room service)!
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la quinta, ca
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I decided to drive down to San Diego for an overnight trip we looked at many hotels online and the La Valencia looked beautiful. We arrived in La Jolla around 5pm on Saturday and it was a bustling little town! We turned on to Prospect Street and wow what a pretty hotel and yes it is pink. One thing we did have a hard time with and it might have been because it was 5pm we could not find the front entrance to the hotel. I called and spoke to a very nice young man and asked for help. So what you look for is the Hotel sign that is on the wall of the hotel they have a valet area and also a unload and load zone. So back to the review! We were greeted by two very nice valet attendants one took care of the car and one helped us into the hotel stayed with us while we checked in and took us to our room. One thing the elevators are small because it was built in 1926. It was clean and efficient. We decided to stay in a deluxe ocean front king room it was just right not huge but not small either. The view was breathtaking We stayed in our room for an hour having a cocktail then decided to go for dinner. There are many restaurants within walking distance (everything is walking distance) we ended up on the terrace at the Med. We were greeted by a nice young man who was our server I wish I could remember his name because he was so attentive to us. We decided to take this trip to relax and to celebrate our 29th anniversary and to unwind from our daughters wedding plans we really needed to relax! Anyway, since we have a wedding in a week and I still need to lose a few pounds we decided to have the baby beet salads and then we shared the halibut it was amazing and they also had a wine list that was large enough to be able to find just the right wine for the evening but not so big it takes you a half an hour to read it. We finished off the dinner with a crème brulee' it was big enough for two people. We took our time on the terrace since hearing the waves crashing was relaxing. When it was time for bed that was the next nice surprise the bed was so soft and inviting so inviting that we woke up around 9 instead our usual 7. We had breakfast in our room since we didn't want to have brunch (to many calories for me) it was all very good. This hotel and its employees were great thank you so much for a wonderful over night trip we will be back.

Room Tip: the deluxe ocean front means that you are facing the ocean! ocean view mean you can see the ocean bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vino4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear 29th Anniversary Romance Guest -
WOW, your review makes my heart soar; thank you. La V is honored to receive such top comments as we see you are a very seasoned traveler and reviewer. There is not much I could add other than gratitude and appreciation - our team is passionate about making "magic" for our guests in services and experiences and I am pleased that this all added up to a romantic weekend. Happy anniversary and we hope to see you for your 30th -
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
290 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our first stop on a visit to San Diego and we were delighted by this hotel. It is in a wonderful location with beautiful views. Classic hotel with an extremely accommodating staff. Everyone was welcoming and friendly. Our suite was beautiful with a breathtaking view of the bay. We had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant which was wonderful. Drinks at the bar in the evening were delicious and the bartender was extremely nice. The hotel is in a perfect location for walking around and exploring La Jolla. Couldn't have asked for a nicer visit!

Room Tip: Suggest a suite with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santucci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Quiet Escape -
YES, we're so pleased that La V provided such a relaxing and rewarding escape. I am especially delighted to read your great comments about our La Sala Lounge (the best view, drinks and entertainment in La Jolla) and dining at our restaurant, THE MED.
We look forward to many more of your returns.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just checked in for a three week stay. I've been staying in the area for a few months and am delighted at switching hotels and coming to La Valencia. Terrific staff, professional and friendly, and the place is delightful. Beautifully renovated old world charm in a area where hotel choices normally mean selecting between functional but rather dull options. If in the area, consider La Valencia. You'll not be disappointed. I'm already dreading my switch back to the corporate dullness of the usual chain hotels in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear First Time -
Thank you for switching to La V - we greatly value your decision to make our home yours. Please know that our staff is tasked to ensure that you are comfortable and relaxed. Please keep us informed of your expectations and our performance!
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
879 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,012 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing