We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fashioned Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent 4 days at La Valencia. We each had separate partial sea view rooms but some are better views than others. I was very happy with mine. The rooms seemed newly renovated, at least in our rooms ,and everything was really nice, fresh, new, properly working. Little disappointments: the hotel restaurant was undergoing renovations and we'd hoped those would be completed so we could try the new hotel restaurant. But, whatever renovation noise there was. . . we missed it entirely due to itinerary. And, a beautiful grand old hotel like that could have used some really knowledgeable staff to make restaurant recommendations. . . we found our way by ourselves and were not impressed with the suggestions made to us. . .one of which was DREADFUL. The hotel itself was great and I will stay there again.

Room Tip: My partial sea view room had the bed facing the ocean and the view was FANTASTIC. My friend had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodaspoetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Ojai Guest -
Thank you very much for the review and additional insight. Yes in deed all our guest rooms have been recently renovated so La V gleams. 70% of our 112 rooms have ocean views and they vary depending upon the location in either our Cabrillo, Sevilla or Tower wings or our Villas. I do apologize that the dining suggestions you received were not impressive - I would appreciate any insight into which staff member you may have spoken with so we can ensure that the team member is properly informed. Our head concierge has over 20 years of experience in San Diego and expert knowledge of the local region is something we pride ourselves on.
Thank you again - we hope to see you soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    225
    77
    38
    13
See reviews for
212
545
29
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

La Valencia is a beautiful hotel in amazing LaJolla! The staff was wonderful, our room was sparking clean and very comfortable. The pool area was gorgeous!! And thanks to Kevin who made the most delicious San Gria! YUMMY! Although we did not eat at the restaurant, we heard from other guests that the food was delicious. PERFECT LOCATION! Walk out the door and you are on the main street with all shops and restaurants. A two minute walk to the stairs that go down to the stunning coast walk. It is amazing, I could spend hours and hours there looking at the sea lions, seals and birds. Just gorgeous! Oh, BTW we found a wonderful restaurant in town called "Herringbone". Enjoy it!
I would definitely stay at La Valencia again without hesitation!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear NY Couple -
Thank you VERY much for making La V part of your trip and for the great review. Our pool is indeed something from a movie post card and an escape unto it self. The sangria is the perfect beverage to enjoy while watching the Pacific ocean. Thank you also for the compliments on the staff - they are the most important part of our service culture.
See you again -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked in for 3 nights on business at La Valencia via Expedia. Arrived very late - after midnight, but still had a wonderfully warm welcome from the night staff, and was checked in in no time at all. Room couldn't be faulted - booked as a partial sea view room, it actually had a better sea view than I had expected. See photo. Bed and bedding were excellent - really high quality and very very comfortable. The room was very nicely specified - high HD TV, decent coffee machine, iPod dock, extensive minibar, and delightful bathroom. The staff were the really stand out feature of this hotel - and I concur with every other reviewer who sings their praises. The team at La Valencia really understand customer service, and were perfect at every level. Had breakfast in the restaurant a few times, the quality of which was consistent with the rest of the hotel - excellent. Great to see the valet parking guys doing such a good job - parking around the hotel is not great. Truly outstanding stay - looking forward very much to the next opportunity to stay there.

Room Tip: Partial sea view room was good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metaballistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Outstanding UK Guest,
Your review is fabulous - THANK YOU. The recognition of our staff is very important as we strive to ensure that above all, that we deliver personable and efficient service. I also greatly appreciate your recognition of our many features - your list hit them all and then some; again thank you.
I hope that La V remains in your sites should La Jolla travel plans come your way again.
See you soon!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Booked the hotel for 4 nights for a conference that was taking place in town. Checked in around 8pm and found I was given an upgrade for which I was extremely grateful. My first encounter with the hotel was with the valet service - who recognised that I was extremely tired, but wasn't keen on paying $29 for parking and helped find an off street parking spot. Very helpful and understanding. They also explained the parking rules around town. At reception was rewarded with an upgrade - fantastic villa room - and reception staff that also understood that I had come off a long flight and just wanted to crash. They also come up with local suggestions of where to eat that was reasonable and not outrageous as I suspected La Jolla to be. Noted some negative comments about the hotel and bad smells. Can't say I experience anything like this - but the sea air does carry the smells of the local sea lions and kelp - if that helps to explain it !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taiyopapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear UK Conference Guest -
Many thanks for sharing your experience with our readers. I am happy to see that our staff made your weary travels disappear upon arrival and ensured that your were comfortable and cared for. I do hope that the conference was successful and that La V made the meeting environment enriching.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just returned from a fantastic 3 nights / 4 day stay at the La V. From the Valet's, Bus Boys, Front Desk, Maintenance Staff = the entire cast of employee's at this hotel where just so on top of their game = friendly, and attentive. We met right after check-in with Nancy Hirsch the conceierge. Nancy booked us at Georges for Lunch, Eddie V's for dinner, Kyak tour of LaJolla coves, and listed several night spots with happy hours with live music. She couldn't have been more knowledgable, kinder, or welcoming. We have traveled extensively and say with true experience that the staff, hotel history, architectural charm, cleanliness, and amentities of this hotel are second to none. Put this hotel and La Jolla on the top of your, "Must Stay There" - list.

Room Tip: If its in your budget the "Ocean View Rooms" are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nativebostonian97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Native Boston Charmer -
WOW and thank you. I am so delighted to read the great comments about our great staff - they are the true key to our success and our team truly enjoys what they do. Our guests make it easy for the staff to be over the top in service delivery. I am happy to see that your took advantage of the local kayak tour - it is one of the many amazing leisure activities our staff can arrange and only minutes from La V. Please come back soon; there is much more to do!
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Booked three nights at La Valencia through Jettsetter and the price was fantastic. The service at La Valencia was superb and the hotel is historic and beautiful in a great location. The beach right behind the hotel has jawdropping views, which can also be seen from much of the hotel, and there are many wonderful shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Low floors on the street side did have a lot of traffic noise in the AM. We actually moved after the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolahbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Boston Guest -
I love your description of our view - jaw dropping is about right! Many thanks for sharing your experience and more importantly, for choosing to stay at La V - Our team is driven to ensure that guests of our iconic hotel have a relaxing and enchanting stay.
Ciao!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Seated at the window we had a breathtaking view overlooking the pool and the Pacific. Starting with a refreshing mimosa and a warm croissant, this was followed by a perfectly prepared crab benedict. My dining partner ordered apple french toast - flavorful and tasty. The service was attentive and friendly. A wonderful Sunday breakfast experience in La Jolla.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorVDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear La V Brunch Guest -
Ah yes, nothing better than brunch at THE MED with savory cuisine, bubbly beverages and relaxing coastal breezes. We hope to see you back soon for the return of Café laRue this holiday season.
Cheers!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the regions most scenic and stunning coastline, world-class museums, indulgent shopping and galleries, La V is the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel's Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm with contemporary services and amenities in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar with casual Modern European Cuisine or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant featuring New American Cuisine. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing