We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something about pink hotels...”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something about pink hotels...”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I am a SoCal resident many spent summers vacationing in La Jolla growing up but aside from having brunch there, never stayed at La Valencia. So when I had a business trip there recently, I wanted to check it out. I stayed in a suite. The room was of very generous size and overlooked the pool. It had a nice living area, suitable for in room dining with a very nice bedroom and bathroom. I had alway thought of the pink hotel as an old and outdated hotel. I cannot vouch for the standard room and I am leery of staying in old hotels due to the small rooms and outdated bath rooms. I can happily say that La Valencia exceeded expectations. The service was amazing. My stay included several business breakfast meetings which they accommodated in great style. I also had a small get together en suite during which the service from the kitchen and bar were prompt. My only complaint is that there was only a small wisp of blue visible from the room booked as ocean view. Otherwise, convenient to Scripps Park, jogging along the beautiful coast, great restaurants in then village and one of the world's best 'body surfing only' beaches is across the street (Boomers). Uber to the Gaslight if you must, it is 10-15 minutes away. A great choice if you are not cost conscious. If you are watching the budget, stay were I stayed growing up, La Jolla Cave Suites, actually better located but lacking all but the basics. See my review there for details.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Laguna Fan -
Thank you! We are so pleased that La V lived up to your expectations. The villas are a treat and comprise one of our many room type selections. I am especially pleased that you enjoyed our dining experiences, thank you again. Our team hopes to see you back behind our pink walls very soon.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    241
    88
    41
    15
See reviews for
227
586
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

we love la Jolla , last time we stayed at another hotel the pine something ...this time we wanted something that will be more water front.
it was not real water front as it is the street behind the water, how ever this hotel have old ambiance.
classy art classy lobby and to top it all top service.
we got a room over looking the pool which is lush and green with pink and green decor. i loved it.
the room was comfy and the bath room was grand! they really wree spoiling us.
the breakfast was a feast and all together we found the hotel to be clearly in its zone.
what i mean is when you pay for top hotel you want the service to reflect your spending and this hotel mange to service us with many touches like cool bottle water to the road. its all in the tiny details.
clearly great management .
we will come back .

Room Tip: we ended up with the room on the same floor of a club. i will ask for diffrent floor as if they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navawritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear La Jolla Lover!
We are tickled that La V delivered such a great experience for your La Jolla get away; thank you. Our intimate property with 112 acommodations offers a large variety of room types so we have something to suit any travelers needs and expectations. More importantly we have a staff of personable and genuine hospitality professionals eager to make our guests feel comfortable and cared for. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is an historic hotel in the best of best locations! The hotel is incredibly charming with an old world classiness about it. The suite we stayed wasn't missing a single thing. The steam shower was such a nice bonus I've never seen in other 5 star hotels yet. Best shower I have ever had... really!
Room service was far better than I could have imagined and the staff were very professional and attentive.
Highly recommend as stay here... and of course explore the park and beach across the street.. watching the seals and body surfers was awesome!!

The whole stay was just magical!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maze56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Montreal Guest,
Aren't those steam showers great! You obviously stayed in one of our spacious and private Villas! Thank you for the great review and especially sharing that your stay was magical - there is something about La V that enchants and delights our guests . . . and our staff!
Ciao -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

La Valencia is amazing hotel. It's very classy and romantic. We're upgraded to a partial ocean view room. (Wow). We always wanted to stay at La Valencia so our dream finally came true. We went out to Marine Room for dinner and came back and they surprised us. There were chilled champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries were waiting for us with nice hand written card wishing our 32nd anniversary. We were speechless. What a nice surprise! This hotel is high class however not stuck up. They're so generous. I must mention when we checked in at front desk Desere (sp) was so nice. And bell service whose name is Eric was very kind and friendly. I would say everyone we saw here were friendly and polite. We had a great 32nd anniversary at La Valencia. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocean541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Anniversary Guest -
Congratulations on 32 years and a huge thank you for celebrating at La V. I am very delighted to read you wonderful comments on our staff who strive to make magic for our gusts every day. We do hope that La V becomes your anniversary get-away for your 33rd, 34th, 35th and many, many more!
Cheers,
Mark Dibella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is amazing for a variety of reasons... The service, location, Ocean Views & Ambiance are Amazing.. You are in the Best of San Diego... La Jolla, with award winning restaurants and shops... Not to disparage being near the award winning La Jolla Play House... But... To me, The La Valencia is an amazing Hotel that has an amazing caring staff and owners that are willing to go the extra mile... They granted a Wish to a young lady that was only 19 years old... Ashley was dying of cancer... a very deadly Sarcoma!! Her one wish was to see the Ocean... I called a variety of Hotels to see what we could do... Ashley could no longer walk on her own... I was trying to find a Hotel where Ashley could lay in her bed and relax and view the Ocean. The money we had did not seem to go far enough... La Valencia stepped up and took what we could offer and upgraded her room to an amazing Villa Suite with Ocean Views from every room with her own private patio... The Chef and catering staff made it a point to try to tempt her with delectable pastries and food so much so that Ashley felt like she was a princess... All the staff made it a point for Ashley to feel special... The staff even chipped in and bought her an adorable Build-A-Bear!! They made this young lady feel so important and beautiful... Ashley in her young life never had the opportunity to stay in a Hotel such as La Valencia... Never experienced and could have only dreamed that such amazing service or accommodation's were real!! Ashley died within a 2 month period of visiting La Valencia... she spoke about how it made her feel and how much she loved it there, the Ocean Views and especially the Chocolate Pastries!! Amazing Place!! Amazing Staff!!
Thank You La Valencia!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Amazing Angel -
We are humbled and honored to have been participants in this very special time for Ashley and her family. So often we hear about how special and enchanting La V can be but it is such a gift for us when we can help craft some extra magic - knowing that we our team added some heightened level of enrichment during her final sunsets means a great deal to us.
Thank you from all of us at La V for allowing La V to be part of Ashley's remarkable life.
With love and appreciation -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A combination of history and high quality! From long distance planning for a wedding to the actual event was remarkable! The entire staff, including bell boys, valet personnel, manager, wedding planner, chefs, bartenders, were flawless, much above average at their crafts than expected! You will not find a more romantic setting for a wedding! The rooms were perfect, clean, even elegant. I cannot say enough about our experience! In addition the location is ideal, walking distance for outside dining, shopping, walking, proximity to the beach, museum, children's beach area, sea lions, water sports, swimming and the famous "wedding bowl" overlooking the ocean! Our sunset ceremony was gorgeous!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Excellent Bride!
THANK YOU and congratulations on your recent wedding - La V is proud and honored to be part of so many special occasions. I especially appreciate your many accolades on our staff and services. Our setting is stunning but location does not matter without a team of personable, genuine and truly happy staff members who can make hospitality magic.
We hope to see you and your husband for many more events staring with your first anniversary next fall.
Warm regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We held a client event November 4th at La Valencia Hotel and the room was great, the food was fabulous and the people were great. I was worried about the valet taking too long but they have it dialed in and there were no delays. We will use them again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear SD Event Hostess -
We love planning events and absolutely love our planners! We get the privilege of helping to make event truly special. I am happy that you were pleased and of course happy that your worries about valet did not materialize. Our valet team is on point, our valet supervisor has been with La V for 3 decades - how is that for loving your job!
See you soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing