We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful holidays”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were just for diner but we love it, the view in front of the Pacifique was unreel,but La Jolla is also a beautiful place and so near of San Diego,Hotel is nice but not cheap at all,you are in the middle of town which is very convenient

Room Tip: Rooms in front of Pacifique are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Belgium Guest -
We are so pleased you spent par of your holidays at La V - indeed the Pacific can be an amazingly relaxing backdrop and our vintage hotel is an enchanting setting. We hope to see you back every season.
Happy New Year,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

This beautiful hotel is wonderfully situated right where you want to be...within walking distance to all the wonderful shops and cafes- just a few steps and you're on the beach. The charm of the building and the intricacy of the tile and beautiful floral arrangements make every walk through the corridors a new adventure. There isn't a thing about it that I don't love. The staff is attentive and friendly. If you get a chance to stay here...you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Heavenly Guest -
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and great experience - you are our 505th reviewer and we are very grateful to see the tide of wonderful feedback continue to grow, I am especially happy to read that our friendly staff were a stand out during your stay - they are the key to our guests happiness - thank you!
Have a wonderful News Years celebration and see you again in 2014.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary here and enjoyed every minute of our stay! The rooms and hotel amenities were luxurious and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed. The location was perfect and within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants in downtown La Jolla. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Top Notch Guest -
Many thanks for your lovely review and for letting La V help to make your anniversary special. If we do things really well then La V will hopefully be your annual anniversary get away for decades to come - OK?!
Happy New Year -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Simply cannot say enough good things about the La Valencia. The service was spectacular, we were given an upgrade to an ocean view room and lulled to sleep by the sound of crashing waves all night. We brought our infant daughter and they provided a very nice, clean crib. Soft bed, great pillows, everything very clean. Restaurant was excellent and well priced. The grounds are impeccably kept, and it being Christmas time, adorned in beautiful lights and decorations. The staff is kind, courteous and incredibly helpful. Right in the heart of la jolla. I can't say enough good things about the La Valencia, and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybilsuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Corona del Mar Guest -
I am so happy we packed all the right things under our roof and bravo to you and your family for letting us show you a great time. With so many hotel options around, the team at La V strives to ensure that our coastal vintage boutique hotel remains personable, genuine, authentic and comfortable . . . with a little bit of enchantment mixed in. Thank you very much for the wonderful review and comments on our great staff.
Come back soon!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We had to come down to San Diego to pick up a purchase from a local gallery and decided to stay the night so as to break up the drive to and from LA. We picked La V because of the special rate and other TA reviews and were not disappointed. The staff were incredibly accommodating. We had booked a partial ocean view room, but upon arrival were upgraded to a ocean view suite. The room was impeccably clean, bed very comfortable, and the best pillows of any recent hotel stay. We did not visit any of the hotels restaurants, but did have an an amazing breakfast in our room- which was all but free because of our room rate promotion. We did also have the chance to enjoy the live music in the bar last night and it was wonderful to be there with all the Christmas decorations & great mix of jazz and holiday songs. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will return next time we are in town. Hats of to this very well run and managed establishment.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JennLA310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear LA One Nighter!
We thank you very much for making La V a stop over and for the fabulous review. Our team is thrilled to read such great comments as am I - again thank you. The holiday's make our hotel and the village even more magical and I am glad both delivered.
LA is a hop, skip and a jump away - next time stay for a couple of days . . . or a week!
Thank you,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I recently stayed at the La Valencia for the first time about a week ago and loved it! My villa room was the best room I've ever stayed in! It was so clean and cozy with a view of the ocean! The staff was very attentive and helpful! The hotel is absolutely beautiful and in the best location to walk around La Jolla and down to the water! I would definitely want to stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bsbllrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Fabulous Guest -
Best guests deserve the best of locations and all the trappings of the best hotel - we thank you for joining La V and I am very happy to know that your La Jolla get away experience was top notch. Our team looks forward to showcasing the hotel and village for you many more time in the coming year.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

After a leisurely stroll at La Jolla Cove, my guest and I walked up the hill to the La Valencia for a drink. It was the most cheerful, relaxing place to be after sunset. A bottle of delicious Foley Chardonnay and a juicy burger in the bar by the Christmas tree were about as perfect a choice in all of San Diego. When the jazz vocalist and pianist began to entertain us, we were in heaven.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank patient111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Christmas Guest -
I am so happy to know that our VERY festive hotel set the right mood for your holidays. With hundreds of thousands of exterior lights and dozens of poinsettias along with our 14 ft. fresh cut and elegantly decorated noble fir in the lobby - La V does indeed twinkle for the holidays. Thank you for stopping in a we look forward to seeing you in 2014!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,035 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £218 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing