We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Among our all-time favorites”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Among our all-time favorites”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband grew up in La Jolla and always wanted to stay here. So, for his birthday we made a reservation. I informed the hotel in advance this was a special stay, and they went above and beyond. Greeting us was a lovely card accompanied by a decorated plate with a delicious cake and chilled champagne. Our room was lovely...the view of the ocean and proximity, you can hear the waves. The bed was really comfortable. Hotel staff were always friendly. The pool is a nice size, the business center equipped with the basics which was handy for a bit of work I needed to do. Normally, we like to be out and about and spend little time in the hotel, but here, you do not want to leave.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms have attributes. Loved ours... A corner room, which was also a free upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous3685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear La Jolla Native,
We are thrilled that you joined La V and more importantly that La V delivered for a memorable stay. The charm and enchantment of our vintage hotel spans decades and in 2014 we will continue to work hard to deliver experiences that matter to todays guests all wrapped up in the ambiance of our circa 1920's venue. Thank you for your wonderful and gracious compliments - we hope you return soon.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    235
    82
    39
    14
See reviews for
220
568
29
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The La Valencia is an iconic California landmark built in the 1920's. In the heart of La Jolla Village it is a great location with a charming exterior and old world lobby... but it is mostly downhill from there.

The rooms are very small and the price exceeds any relative value. Simply not worth the price for what you get.

The new La Rue Cafe is horrible. Cold and without any redeeming qualities. The menu leave a lot to be desired and the service is cold and aloof if you can get any. Give it a miss.

There is a veranda restaurant that is lovely on a nice day...great view of the Cove and a good place for a pleasant lunch and a glass of wine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Local Critic -
Naturally we are sad to see your comments on the new la Rue - this exciting bright and open venue was never intended to take the place of the former Whaling Bar - a lovely legend but also one who's time had past. Café la Rue design and décor was inspired by the art of Wing Howard and his paintings (which proudly adore the walls) and were commissioned for the space circa 1947 (Mr. Howard also painted the then controversial whaling mural). Since opening on New Years Eve Café la Rue has been bursting at the seems - we respect that it is not your style but we understand if your memories remain cemented in the previous establishment.
You may be unaware of the diversity of our guest room options at our lovely iconic hotel - room size and rate options begin with our smaller Vintage rooms (Which it sounds like you booked) with prime ocean views to our more residentially larger classic rooms and suites in the original Sevilla and Cabrillo wing to our generous ocean front and poolside villas.
Our staff is very driven to ensure our guests are more than satisfied - I am sorry that we were unable to provide you with a renowned La V experience in which we continues to embrace and adjust to the changes in guest needs and expectations of todays travelers.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at La Valencia for a weekend for our Anniversary/Babymoon. I was very surprised that none of the staff knew what a Babymoon was and even sent us champagne to the room after hearing this. But they did upgrade us to an amazing room with fantastic ocean views. The hotel has been been beautifully restored & modernized, it was hard to leave after the weekend!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear AZ Anniversary Guest -
As you might be able to tell, we LOVE to be part of special occasions - thank you for letting our team help make your anniversary celebration more than just special. A big part of our success is due to the amazing guests who we are honored to host - that includes you both; thank you.
We'll see you again soon.
Warm regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is very old fashioned and very expensive for what it offers. Our room was tiny and you really couldn't 'swing a cat' in it. Even the porter had trouble squeezing in with our bags! We had a shower, tiny basin and toilet in what they call a bathroom but they shouldn't be allowed to call it that. There was no room to even put a toilet bag and had to put stuff on the floor in the shower. The room was so claustrophobic that we asked to be changed and they did so on our second night. This was much bigger and a bathroom that can be called a bathroom but the scaffolding outside our room and the noisy generator made this on par with the previous room. We had dinner which was great but we were pleased to leave this over-priced, old-fashioned place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lux_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest -
I took the opportunity to review many of your almost 30 reviews to better understand your feedback. You have a diverse and varied criteria for satisfaction.
La V clearly markets our iconic 1926 era property and diverse and varied rooms. You booked our best value vintage room in our Tower wing, approximately 265 sq., ft. with king bed, dresser, desk, night stands and club chair - the vintage bathroom is indeed a euro style with large shower with dual shower heads, vanity and toilet - all were just renovated in 2013 to include travertine and period tile. Vintage rooms have 9 ft. ceilings and the majority have stunning ocean views. La V also offered Classic rooms & suites which range from 350 - 425 sq. ft and include bathrooms with shower/tubs - much more residential. Our villas are most indulgent ranging from 450 - 1,200 sq. ft. with generous spa bathrooms. Each category is priced accordingly.
I am personally very pleased that our staff made arrangements to provide you with an alternate room type when you asked; our goal to strive for ultimate guest satisfaction - you received a classic room as more space appeared to be your main goal. I am sorry that neighboring renovation work impacted your stay - the project was brief but understandably not appealing.
I noted in your New York property reviews much more disappointment in rooms, amenities and service but still earning 4 stars. I am sorry that our eager and accommodating staff, well maintained facility and location did not earn similar rankings - this seems out of balance with your disappointment in the room type you booked at La V. If there is more you would like to share with me, please do not hesitate to call me directly at 858-551-3790. We do value all feedback and review it for any opportunity for improvement - we also recognize that each guests perceptions are also their true reality. I am sorry La V did not resonate with your expectations.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This past weekend we stayed at the La V for my husband's birthday. We had a beautiful room, a special picture of him was already in our room upon our arrival. Champs and chocolate was also delivered to him for his special day. In addition, we were upgraded us to a larger room with no charge. I would highly recommend this hotel. It was our first time, and we will be back :).

Thank you Nancy for making us feel special!

R&T

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweety5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Royal Guest -
Happy birthday again and thank you for letting La V make the occasion even more special. Our DNA is soaked in generations of celebrations and we are thrilled that you our enchanting property and engaging staff delivered. Hope we see you back for many more birthday celebrations.
Cheers!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. Just love it. We had plans to go to LA and I had to eek a two night stay at La Valencia in there. From the moment you call to make a reservation, you realize this is a special hotel with a special staff. You actually can have a conversation with a real, live person. The hotel is beautiful Spanish architecture and feels like you are walking back to a gentler time. The pool is gorgeous, the lobby and newly redesigned La Rue bar and grill are both beautifully done.
Nancy Hirsch, the head concierge, saw to every detail if what we needed while we were there. She is a true pro and among the best concierges I have ever experienced in my many years of travel.
We stayed in room 1117. Upper west corner suite with balcony. It was splendid! I've also stayed in an eastern corner which have smaller side balconies but lovely views of the cove as well as the pacific. You can't go wrong with the higher floors.

The bathrooms have been redone since I was last here and carpeting replaced. All very nice. And the housekeeping staff for our room was terrific -- it was spotless!

My husband's first trip to La Jolla and La V and it won't be his last. He loved it too.

Thanks.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dana3putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Grande Guest -
I love reading that La V made you feel like you were in a more gentle time - we agree. With so many high paced high tech hotels, La V works to provide all the current creature comforts in a more relaxed, authentic and comfortable setting - that spectacular ocean view helps! Thank you also for your kind comments on our staff who all look forward to your return.
Happy New Year,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile


Our visit to La Jolla was made exceptional by our stay in this excellent hotel. While it is close to great shopping and dining, the true pleasure is the hotel itself. We enjoyed the first class accommodations with clean, well kept rooms and beautiful ammenities. The wonderfully attentive staff, from valet to concierge to gardeners, were all extremely helpful. The wonderful restaurants with fabulous views of the Pacific Ocean, serve delicious dishes. This was definitely the highlight of our southern California vacation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Kudos Guest -
Many thanks for choosing La V and even more so for recognizing our wonderful staff - they are the main key in our service culture. We do hope that when your plans find you back in La Jolla that La V is your first choice (and I hope your husband enjoyed Torrey Pines golf course)!
Ciao -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing