We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
849
274
108
48
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
274
108
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink ladywhaling barcafe la ruebeautiful hotelocean viewlobby barbottle of champagnerooms are smallsan diegocenter of la jollasea lionsscripps parkold schoolluxury hotelan older hotelvalet parkingvalet service
Filter
Updating list...
845 - 850 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoyed three lovely days here while in La Jolla. The hotel has a mediterranean feel. I was concerned about the construction when we checked in however the lobby was completed by our first evening and we enjoyed a drink and the views!

Our room was a bit dated. We had an oceanview 1 br suite. Our view was amazing however it would have been nice to have an outdoor space to enjoy it from.

The Pull out couch was very uncomfortable . The rollaway was great as it was an actual twin mattress and boxsping.

The spa at the pool was under construction which was a bummer. The yellow tape was up all around it. The pool was very nice. The pool bartender (forget his name) was awesome! Super friendly and accommodating! We enjoyed hanging out there for the perfect view of the sunset.

The bathrooms at the pool were not attended to. The pool was crowded and it seems to not have been cleaned all day. There was toilet paper all over the floor and overflowing trash every day.

The hotel is centrally located to a ton of restaurants and shopping.

While there visit the sky room on the 11th floor for a great sunset view. It is a magical spot which seems under used! It would make a great sunset happy hour location.

Overall we enjoyed out stay and the weather!

Room Tip: Ocean view room--villas if you want to splurge!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Perfect Guest -
Thank you VERY much for the variety of compliments and comments - I especially pleased to see that our staff stood out. I am sorry the spa was under renovation during you stay but I am happy to report it is completed and now converted to a relaxing salt water! We do offer patios or balcony options in our Villas for next time. Thank you for taking time to share your experience and we hope to travel back soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were a walk-in as we decided on short notice to take an overnight trip to La Jolla and picked the hotel from the recommendations on TripAdvisor. It took awhile to get a room as I asked for a balcony (really only a place to stand and take in the scenery... no table/chairs). The first room had not been cleaned from the last guest so we (and our luggage) were back down to the front desk to get a new room. When checking in, I was not asked about room options, it was my request for the balcony... no suggestions for what type of room... higher or lower (lobby is street level and is the 7th floor as the hotel is on a steep hill) or larger etc. The room was small, which didn't matter and only seemed bit cramped as we were packing up in the morning. Clean, neat and an extremely comfortable bed with high quality linens.
The Cafe La Rue was very good... food very tasty and wine just right. Martini could have been a wee bit better as the gin was left in the ice a shade too long.
The location for this hotel is great and the views fabulous, from the small balcony.
The lobby was under renovation and I found it quite noisy in the morning with the window open. The pool was also closed when we were there and that was not mentioned at check-in. The only parking is valet, so be prepared for that or find a nearby parking lot and handle it yourself.
We would go back to La Valencia, however I would make a reservation and get an upgraded, larger room.

Room Tip: I would ask for an ocean facing room... I had only asked for an ocean view room with a balcony. Forgot about the villas and if that appealed, get a higher floor so the view is better.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Canada Guest -
I am sorry if more options were not offered but it may have been because we had limited availability upon your arrival. Overall I am pleased to know that your stay was great. Yes, we love reservations since we sell out every weekend. We actually have 3 room types to choose from - our cozy Vintage rooms, more residential Classic Rooms and you can splurge on a villa. Call us direct and our agents would be delighted to share more details.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel and it is truly a special place. The location in La Jolla right in town makes it so ideal for shopping and dining - and it's only minutes from San Diego. Parking staff were fantastic - loved the convenient spots in front of the hotel when dropping off, the ease of retrieving and the offer of bottled waters! Delicious breakfast on the terrace with fabulous ocean views and gentle breezes, relaxing poolside sipping a cocktail, piano bar in the evening......there is a timeless quality to the experience of staying here. Our room was perfect - we did not have an ocean view and that was fine.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kevin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear NY Guest -
Your comments on a timeless experience are very much appreciated - there is something very enchanting and restful about our property that makes a La V stay both enriching and relaxing. I am also mindful of your note your stay did not include an ocean view - although we have ocean views from 70% of the hotel it is not just the ocean that sets the tone. From our Village and Garden views to our more secluded accommodations, La Valencia is more than just a hotel on the ocean - thank you!
Warm regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We just held a reception and dinner presentation event for 100 people at the La Valencia. As an event planner, I cannot say enough great things about the hotel. Bobby Fader in the sales & catering department was so great to work with. Our banquet captain, Carlos and his entire banquet team were phenomenal as well. There was a couple hiccups with the AV (our fault!) and with some renovations occurring in the main stairway that led to our event but the entire hotel staff handled everything with the utmost professionalism. Not one attendee got lost or misdirected. Everything went smoothly from beginning to end! The staff made us feel like our event was their number one priority. Our post-event survey results of the attendees and participating Partners were just as positive as this review. The food, the view, the hotel, the staff... everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlemasuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Awesome Event Planner -
THANK YOU - your review and comments are energizing and exciting for our team. Bobby is a great part of our event planning and Carlos and team in banquets love to make magic. We hope to have you and your group back for many more great programs.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is an old time hotel. I love it. The room was very spacious, the service is top notch, there's no shortage of help. LaJolla is a great, albeit very pricey little town, and this hotel is right in the heart of it. The concierge is very helpful. And I was there in early April, maybe this isn't the season but I thought the pricing was very fair for a hotel of this quality. Even though my room was close to an elevator and not far from the lobby, it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ncflyer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Ohio Guest -
Love your review and love your compliments on our team; they are the most important part of our experience (of course our iconic property and stellar setting on the coast do help). We greatly value our guests feedback and appreciate your business - please return soon!
Ciao,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews