We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
847
273
108
48
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
847
273
108
48
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink ladywhaling barcafe la ruebeautiful hotelocean viewlobby barbottle of champagnerooms are smallsan diegocenter of la jollasea lionsscripps parkold schoolthe entire staffluxury hotelan older hotelvalet parking
Filter
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

There is no question this hotel has character and the details required to maintain a historic property are well thought out. The property is clean and well cared for with manicured gardens, fresh paint and something colorful to draw your eye around every corner. The ambiance is elegant with Hispanic old world charm and clearly attracts the well established visitors. Our travel party required a room with two queen beds and the selection available was limited to a room without a view (#207). We were surprised by the small and very old elevator but quickly realized we should be grateful they had an elevator in this old hotel. Our room was lovely but also very loud. We opened the shutters and windows for fresh air and there is quite a bit of street hustle & bustle and what seemed like kitchen/janitorial noise. We tried to drown out the noise with the floor air conditioning unit which helped during the evening hours however come morning we woke to the sounds of trucks pulling up in front of our room to pick up garbage and make deliveries before 8 AM. The worst "pick up" experience was the septic pumping that took place right outside our window at 8 AM. It is unfortunate these dirty details that are normally hidden behind the scenes have to take place in front of the guests when one is paying above average for a room without a view. I do not recommend writing off this hotel completely as it was noticeably "peaceful" when we took a walk through the lobby to the back of the property. That said, I'd highly recommend you carefully select your room and stay away from the building that 207 is in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sducey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear View,
Thank you for the detailed review and comments - I am pleased to see your 5 star rating on cleanliness, location and service; essential. I am sorry that the weekly delivery and facility operation was so impactful during your stay. We do have a handful of Village facing rooms and the majority of the time have no concerns but we do respect and acknowledge that street traffic of differing levels is possible (no weekend deliveries).
Keep in mind that we do offer Ocean and Garden-Village view booking options for the future - please consider a return trip!
Thank you,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is the premier hotel in La Jolla. Gorgeous ocean views and painted a flamingo coral. Happy Hour in the long exquisite lobby with panoramic views of the ocean. Several places to dine. The new Cafe is ok...but just a cafe. Used to be the Whaling Bar and the locals really miss it. The outdoor restaurant on the patio at street level is very good and terrific for brunch. Best place to eat lunch is the long, outdoor patio next to the lobby. You need a reservation for that patio and it is moderately priced.

Hotel rooms are to die for. Very luxurious and probably worth the money if it is special event. Staff is overly accommodating. Valet parking is a must. Locals call it La V's. Located right in the middle of everything and within walking distance to everything. Overlooks the Cove. Don't leave La Jolla without at least having a cocktail in the lobby. You may not want to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Charmer -
We are thrilled that you loved our "to die for" rooms; thank you. La Valencia continues to enhance and improve our iconic hotel and just completed a renovation of our signature La Sala Lounge. The return of Café la Rue is catching on quick with this charming European style café including sidewalk seating. We struggled with the decision to bid the Whaling Bar goodbye but the legend and legacy of this rooms former glory could not be replicated and it was much more respectful to bow out gracefully.
Thank you again for staying with us -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoyed three lovely days here while in La Jolla. The hotel has a mediterranean feel. I was concerned about the construction when we checked in however the lobby was completed by our first evening and we enjoyed a drink and the views!

Our room was a bit dated. We had an oceanview 1 br suite. Our view was amazing however it would have been nice to have an outdoor space to enjoy it from.

The Pull out couch was very uncomfortable . The rollaway was great as it was an actual twin mattress and boxsping.

The spa at the pool was under construction which was a bummer. The yellow tape was up all around it. The pool was very nice. The pool bartender (forget his name) was awesome! Super friendly and accommodating! We enjoyed hanging out there for the perfect view of the sunset.

The bathrooms at the pool were not attended to. The pool was crowded and it seems to not have been cleaned all day. There was toilet paper all over the floor and overflowing trash every day.

The hotel is centrally located to a ton of restaurants and shopping.

While there visit the sky room on the 11th floor for a great sunset view. It is a magical spot which seems under used! It would make a great sunset happy hour location.

Overall we enjoyed out stay and the weather!

Room Tip: Ocean view room--villas if you want to splurge!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Perfect Guest -
Thank you VERY much for the variety of compliments and comments - I especially pleased to see that our staff stood out. I am sorry the spa was under renovation during you stay but I am happy to report it is completed and now converted to a relaxing salt water! We do offer patios or balcony options in our Villas for next time. Thank you for taking time to share your experience and we hope to travel back soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were a walk-in as we decided on short notice to take an overnight trip to La Jolla and picked the hotel from the recommendations on TripAdvisor. It took awhile to get a room as I asked for a balcony (really only a place to stand and take in the scenery... no table/chairs). The first room had not been cleaned from the last guest so we (and our luggage) were back down to the front desk to get a new room. When checking in, I was not asked about room options, it was my request for the balcony... no suggestions for what type of room... higher or lower (lobby is street level and is the 7th floor as the hotel is on a steep hill) or larger etc. The room was small, which didn't matter and only seemed bit cramped as we were packing up in the morning. Clean, neat and an extremely comfortable bed with high quality linens.
The Cafe La Rue was very good... food very tasty and wine just right. Martini could have been a wee bit better as the gin was left in the ice a shade too long.
The location for this hotel is great and the views fabulous, from the small balcony.
The lobby was under renovation and I found it quite noisy in the morning with the window open. The pool was also closed when we were there and that was not mentioned at check-in. The only parking is valet, so be prepared for that or find a nearby parking lot and handle it yourself.
We would go back to La Valencia, however I would make a reservation and get an upgraded, larger room.

Room Tip: I would ask for an ocean facing room... I had only asked for an ocean view room with a balcony. Forgot about the villas and if that appealed, get a higher floor so the view is better.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Canada Guest -
I am sorry if more options were not offered but it may have been because we had limited availability upon your arrival. Overall I am pleased to know that your stay was great. Yes, we love reservations since we sell out every weekend. We actually have 3 room types to choose from - our cozy Vintage rooms, more residential Classic Rooms and you can splurge on a villa. Call us direct and our agents would be delighted to share more details.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel and it is truly a special place. The location in La Jolla right in town makes it so ideal for shopping and dining - and it's only minutes from San Diego. Parking staff were fantastic - loved the convenient spots in front of the hotel when dropping off, the ease of retrieving and the offer of bottled waters! Delicious breakfast on the terrace with fabulous ocean views and gentle breezes, relaxing poolside sipping a cocktail, piano bar in the evening......there is a timeless quality to the experience of staying here. Our room was perfect - we did not have an ocean view and that was fine.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kevin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear NY Guest -
Your comments on a timeless experience are very much appreciated - there is something very enchanting and restful about our property that makes a La V stay both enriching and relaxing. I am also mindful of your note your stay did not include an ocean view - although we have ocean views from 70% of the hotel it is not just the ocean that sets the tone. From our Village and Garden views to our more secluded accommodations, La Valencia is more than just a hotel on the ocean - thank you!
Warm regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews