We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only horrible people could not love this hotel! Next subject: what I tell you!”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
257 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Only horrible people could not love this hotel! Next subject: what I tell you!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Fantastic – Orgasmic - All those !!!!! Yes.. Yes, Joy…Joy, the La Valencia is truly all those things and my, now, friends in this strip can reinforce your preconceived hopes and reservation so much better than I. What can I do??? Well, perhaps get you from point A to B, if you are the one in charge of those sorts of things. One, this is a great but expensive hotel, for me hotel.com took one hundred off and I was worried that we would be sleeping with the janitor in the third lower level, but not true, eight floor with ocean view. Two, there is no parking at the hotel, there is no overnight parking in La Jolla downtown, and hotel valet is $50 per night plus tip to the guy who actually does all the work—USB building down the street (one block north) has parking in the basement levels all night. True, you cannot get your car out after 5:00PM, but also true that we suddenly needed to and they have no gates on their ramps, so sorry sucker we are from Chicago, and went in and out with no one the wiser in the AM. Three, because it is on a hill, really big hill, the street level entry to the lobby is actually the 7th floor of the hotel, if you like to stay above the lobby you need an 800 plus room number. That’s all I got for you right now.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Chicago Joe,
Those are some amazing and unique review descriptions - thank you and WOW.
I would agree - $50 parking is crazy but that is NOT our valet parking rate. La V offers daily valet parking at $30 with unlimited in and out service; your car is brought to you. I would not suggest your self park option down the street (you got a bit of luck last time).
Thank you for sharing your raves - see you back in La Jolla soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    235
    82
    39
    14
See reviews for
222
570
29
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Old hotel that's been updated. It's situated on a hillside which makes the property interesting to navigate as there are multiple levels and many stairs. They are dog friendly and while we didn't find a specific dog area on the property, there is a patch of grass on the side and a park situated behind the hotel. We were in an end room facing the street with no complaints. Bed was comfortable, water pressure was sufficient. Everyone was extremely friendly and responsive, room was well appointed, very clean and quiet. Walk to shopping, dining, galleries and hotel is located on a seaside cliff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuZenMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Phoenix Friend -
I am happy to know that our Pet Friendly luxury hotel served you well. Our entry patio with dining options for Café la Rue and THE MED is our main pet friendly venues. The hotel fronts expansive Scripps Park and La Jolla Village offers ample locations for long walks.
Please come back soon and bring your four legged friend.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

we knew we were in for a treat the second we pulled into the check in parking. The pictures do not do this hotel justice, and will never show the amazing service we recieved from every single staff member while on our very special weekend . We felt so special from the greetings we received from every staff member we encountered. The hotel is a MUST VISIT destination with the great walking distance shoppping and great food at the hotel. As a Chef myself, i was taken back by the homemade sausages, and smoked hams .. way to go La Valencia Hotel , you will definately be seeing us again in the near future

Room Tip: we had room eight twenty one with full ocean views from all windows in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildmaui00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Amazing Guest -
We're so pleased that La V impressed - thank you. I am especially delighted to know that the Chefs' homemade specialties' were both memorable and delicious! Both Café la Rue and THE MED restaurant offer some exceptional dining options.
Thank you again and we'll see you again soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

There is no question this hotel has character and the details required to maintain a historic property are well thought out. The property is clean and well cared for with manicured gardens, fresh paint and something colorful to draw your eye around every corner. The ambiance is elegant with Hispanic old world charm and clearly attracts the well established visitors. Our travel party required a room with two queen beds and the selection available was limited to a room without a view (#207). We were surprised by the small and very old elevator but quickly realized we should be grateful they had an elevator in this old hotel. Our room was lovely but also very loud. We opened the shutters and windows for fresh air and there is quite a bit of street hustle & bustle and what seemed like kitchen/janitorial noise. We tried to drown out the noise with the floor air conditioning unit which helped during the evening hours however come morning we woke to the sounds of trucks pulling up in front of our room to pick up garbage and make deliveries before 8 AM. The worst "pick up" experience was the septic pumping that took place right outside our window at 8 AM. It is unfortunate these dirty details that are normally hidden behind the scenes have to take place in front of the guests when one is paying above average for a room without a view. I do not recommend writing off this hotel completely as it was noticeably "peaceful" when we took a walk through the lobby to the back of the property. That said, I'd highly recommend you carefully select your room and stay away from the building that 207 is in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sducey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear View,
Thank you for the detailed review and comments - I am pleased to see your 5 star rating on cleanliness, location and service; essential. I am sorry that the weekly delivery and facility operation was so impactful during your stay. We do have a handful of Village facing rooms and the majority of the time have no concerns but we do respect and acknowledge that street traffic of differing levels is possible (no weekend deliveries).
Keep in mind that we do offer Ocean and Garden-Village view booking options for the future - please consider a return trip!
Thank you,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is the premier hotel in La Jolla. Gorgeous ocean views and painted a flamingo coral. Happy Hour in the long exquisite lobby with panoramic views of the ocean. Several places to dine. The new Cafe is ok...but just a cafe. Used to be the Whaling Bar and the locals really miss it. The outdoor restaurant on the patio at street level is very good and terrific for brunch. Best place to eat lunch is the long, outdoor patio next to the lobby. You need a reservation for that patio and it is moderately priced.

Hotel rooms are to die for. Very luxurious and probably worth the money if it is special event. Staff is overly accommodating. Valet parking is a must. Locals call it La V's. Located right in the middle of everything and within walking distance to everything. Overlooks the Cove. Don't leave La Jolla without at least having a cocktail in the lobby. You may not want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Charmer -
We are thrilled that you loved our "to die for" rooms; thank you. La Valencia continues to enhance and improve our iconic hotel and just completed a renovation of our signature La Sala Lounge. The return of Café la Rue is catching on quick with this charming European style café including sidewalk seating. We struggled with the decision to bid the Whaling Bar goodbye but the legend and legacy of this rooms former glory could not be replicated and it was much more respectful to bow out gracefully.
Thank you again for staying with us -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoyed three lovely days here while in La Jolla. The hotel has a mediterranean feel. I was concerned about the construction when we checked in however the lobby was completed by our first evening and we enjoyed a drink and the views!

Our room was a bit dated. We had an oceanview 1 br suite. Our view was amazing however it would have been nice to have an outdoor space to enjoy it from.

The Pull out couch was very uncomfortable . The rollaway was great as it was an actual twin mattress and boxsping.

The spa at the pool was under construction which was a bummer. The yellow tape was up all around it. The pool was very nice. The pool bartender (forget his name) was awesome! Super friendly and accommodating! We enjoyed hanging out there for the perfect view of the sunset.

The bathrooms at the pool were not attended to. The pool was crowded and it seems to not have been cleaned all day. There was toilet paper all over the floor and overflowing trash every day.

The hotel is centrally located to a ton of restaurants and shopping.

While there visit the sky room on the 11th floor for a great sunset view. It is a magical spot which seems under used! It would make a great sunset happy hour location.

Overall we enjoyed out stay and the weather!

Room Tip: Ocean view room--villas if you want to splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Perfect Guest -
Thank you VERY much for the variety of compliments and comments - I especially pleased to see that our staff stood out. I am sorry the spa was under renovation during you stay but I am happy to report it is completed and now converted to a relaxing salt water! We do offer patios or balcony options in our Villas for next time. Thank you for taking time to share your experience and we hope to travel back soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
343 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were a walk-in as we decided on short notice to take an overnight trip to La Jolla and picked the hotel from the recommendations on TripAdvisor. It took awhile to get a room as I asked for a balcony (really only a place to stand and take in the scenery... no table/chairs). The first room had not been cleaned from the last guest so we (and our luggage) were back down to the front desk to get a new room. When checking in, I was not asked about room options, it was my request for the balcony... no suggestions for what type of room... higher or lower (lobby is street level and is the 7th floor as the hotel is on a steep hill) or larger etc. The room was small, which didn't matter and only seemed bit cramped as we were packing up in the morning. Clean, neat and an extremely comfortable bed with high quality linens.
The Cafe La Rue was very good... food very tasty and wine just right. Martini could have been a wee bit better as the gin was left in the ice a shade too long.
The location for this hotel is great and the views fabulous, from the small balcony.
The lobby was under renovation and I found it quite noisy in the morning with the window open. The pool was also closed when we were there and that was not mentioned at check-in. The only parking is valet, so be prepared for that or find a nearby parking lot and handle it yourself.
We would go back to La Valencia, however I would make a reservation and get an upgraded, larger room.

Room Tip: I would ask for an ocean facing room... I had only asked for an ocean view room with a balcony. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Canada Guest -
I am sorry if more options were not offered but it may have been because we had limited availability upon your arrival. Overall I am pleased to know that your stay was great. Yes, we love reservations since we sell out every weekend. We actually have 3 room types to choose from - our cozy Vintage rooms, more residential Classic Rooms and you can splurge on a villa. Call us direct and our agents would be delighted to share more details.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing