We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A retreat during the San Diego fires.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A retreat during the San Diego fires.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I, along with our two teacup poodles, found a wonderful retreat during a very stressful time in our lives. The staff was welcoming and very sensitive to making our stay as relaxing as possible. Fruit and lemonade were delivered to our room upon arrival, we were upgraded to a beautiful villa overlooking the ocean and our room rate was reduced as a show of solidarity to what San Diegans were experiencing.
We enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, with our two pups, one of several restaurants in the hotel.
Our many thanks to this grand hotel for their sensitivity and concern during this trying time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Grand Guest -
It is our team who should be thanking your for letting La V be your retreat during such a challenging time. We were so devastated to hear the news as it happened and quickly mobilized to ensure that we could be ready for our worried and concerned guests and their pets. We are grateful that La V could provide a welcome and relaxing escape during this time - we hope to see you again under much more festive circumstances!
Most gratefully,
Mark Dibella,]
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    231
    79
    38
    13
See reviews for
219
556
29
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We held our wedding at La Valencia in La Jolla this month and couldn't be more pleased. The garden is the most beautiful venue for a wedding ceremony overlooking the ocean with beautiful flowers surrounding you. Our reception was in the Galeria room which was incredibly lovely - very intimate and romantic for our small party. They also have larger rooms that are every bit as elegant. Everything about our experience was perfect. Great staff and perfect setting!! The room accommodations were also outstanding. Bobby organized our entire day and helped us plan all the details including the menu and program. He is sensational and such a pro. We couldn't have had a more perfect wedding!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Exquisite Bride,
We couldn't craft our enchanting weddings without our exceptional and beautiful brides and grooms - thank you for allowing La V to make your fist day so special. Added thanks for recognizing Bobby our catering specialist - he loves what he does!
We look forward to celebrating your first, second and every anniversary!
Warm regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
422 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Located in the midst of La Jolla, directly on Prospect Street. Please note that the Hotel is NOT located direclty on the ocean.

Nicce old Hotel that would Need some renovation, in particular Elevators and the rooms. The Lobby Bar is very nice.

The rooms are small and dated. Please be aware that there is only a sliding door to the bath room which gives not full privacy. Please be also aware that Ocean View does not mean full ocean view, but only partial (My first room was facing other buildings and I had to go very close to the window to see a small angle of the ocean...).

Staff: some staff are not very friendly (e.g. front desk) - when I was unhappy about my room the front desk staff told me she could not see if any other room will be available and asked to come back in 2hours after 4 PM (funnily, when I spoke to a Manager she could immediately give me another room...).
Service at the breakfast tends to be slow (I had to wait more than 30 minutes for cereals with berries), despite the fact that there were only 3 tables occupied so they were not really busy.

However the Manager on duty was very friendly and managed well the Situation at breakfast once we complained which was very much appreciated.

I hope they will be able to fix some Service Problems and make some renovations - it could be a nice Hotel with some luxury touch if this is improved!

PS: I am fully Aware there was a wedding which ket the staff busy, however they should still be able to accomodate other guests as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Important Guest,
I apologize for the service misses during your stay but I greatly appreciate the fact that you made note of our staffs genuine efforts to make amends; thank you.
The hotel is indeed not on the sand however we do (and have been since 1926) command a majestic bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean with over 75% of rooms enjoying commanding views of the sea and coastline. Directly below the hotels 11 story Tower Wing is Scripps Park with lovely sweeping lawns and mature trees - we do think the views from La V are outstanding. . . and the beach at La Jolla Cove is steps away!
Many thanks,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Quaint and lovely, it really is a step back in time to a certain era of California living, and it couldn't be better. Came for a wedding, and it was just perfect--especially because I found a Vacationist deal and didn't pay quite as much as my family/friends did.... Staff was great, the rooms were old-school elegance--made me wish I had a little apartment there. Full disclosure, I'm a West Coast girl who is now on the East Coast and miss the Pacific side of things, so I have rose-colored glasses--but the rose colored hotel is fantastic nonetheless!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starryi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Rose Colored Guest -
Your praise for La V is is greatly appreciated. Our location is only slightly better than our marvelous staff who truly help make the La V experience enchanting. No matter what coast you reside on, we hope you make our coast your home away from home.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

La V is a step back in time, a quaint, almost private, hotel - yet amply supplied with all the modern conveniences. Great staff. Elegant but not stuffy. Did I mention, great staff. Comfy beds. Awesome views. Perfect location right smack in the middle of all the restaurants (including 3 of its own), shopping, and shores of La Jolla. Lovely architecture beautifully preserved from the 20's. Rooms are small, but nicely appointed - remember this was built in the 20's. Overall wonderfully romantic experience.

Room Tip: Of course, ask for an ocean front room with a view!!! Watch the sunset and sleep to the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holliferous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Elegant Guest -
Your gracious compliments make us blush; thank you. We hope that the La V experience is an escape from the hustle and rush of the rest of the world but not at the expense and our iconic hotels age. We continue to add to our services and up-grade our amenities for the savvy traveler of today as well as the seasoned travelers of yesterday - both seeking an authentic and personalize experience.
We thank you!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

WE have stayed here before, but it has been undergoing some wonderful renovations. I say "wonderful", but the locals mourn the closure of their dark Whaling Bar. Instead you are greeted by a light filled La Rue with a welcoming staff and great wine list. The Mediterranean room just opened the day we left and did not have a chance to eat there, but it is gorgeous. Views of the ocean wonderful. The main lobby remains largely the same and the side deck has wonderful breakfasts. Try the Philly Cheese Steak omelette. Unfortunately, the Sky Room is scheduled to disappear and our favorite room, 1026, along with it, but this remains THE place to stay in La Jolla.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room with a balcony. Very few, but worth the extra expense. Ours looked up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayHeadTravelinBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Better than Ever Guest -
We are so pleased that our renovation and restoration efforts resonated so wonderfully with you. We greatly value the loyalty of our repeat guests and remain dedicated to ensuring a fresh, inviting, comfortable and welcoming environment greets all our La V guests. Thank you; our Café la Rue has been a refreshing addition in the footprint of the former Whaling Bar. That iconic (and yes dark) room had a wonderful legacy but the bars time had passed. The opportunity to craft this new bistro and bar from the inspiration of the 1947 murals was important to us in respecting the legacy of both venues.
We're truly delighted with your compliments and we agree - La V is better than ever!
Ciao -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We recently spent a week at this hotel. The room was beautifully appointed but small. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens luxurious. The bathroom was small with just a shower. The grounds are beautiful with a pool and ocean view. There is a small gym which is open 24 hours. The location is fantastic in La Jolla, close to the ocean as well as restaurants and shopping. Only valet parking is available and there is a $30 charge per day. We ate at one of the restaurants at happy hour and the food was very good. The big negative while we were there was construction which was very disruptive. It was noisy from early in the morning until early evening. We were told it would only be for a day or so but it was for the duration of our stay. The people at the front desk did not appear to be well informed about the construction schedule. We would stay there again but not if there is construction!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportguy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Toronto Guest -
Thank you very much for choosing La V and providing great feedback. Our La Sala Lounge renovation project was completed on April 16th - we apologize for the intrusion during your stay. Your room description would be our Vintage Room category; smaller and cozy with euro-style bathrooms. We do offer larger accommodations in our Classic category and for more space and indulgence - our villas take the lead. From Vintage to Classic to Villa - we offer 3 different selections at a wide range of rates. Thank you again!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
820 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
806 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing