We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at the Hotel. We stayed in one of their villas.
Everything from the rooms to the food was outstanding. The employees have all been very well trained. All without exception were extremely accommodating and friendly!
We travel a lot and we would have to say that The La Valencia would be one of the best experiences we have ever enjoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kemp R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear 50th Anniversary Guest -
Congrats on an amazing milestone and a testament to true love - we are tickled that you choose La V to mark the occasion and our team is most pleased that your stay was enriching and relaxing. We'll be here to help you celebrate your 51st, 52nd, 53rd and . . . well you get the idea!
Cheers -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
There are newer reviews for La Valencia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Greeted warmly by valet staff and checked in. "You don't mind stairs do you ?" "Um no…" "So go down there". After a few tries we found our Villa. A bit musty smelling but big bed, huge bathroom, 2 TVs, separate closets etc. Luckily we were on the second floor overlooking the pool. …so people at the pool didn't look straight into our bedroom.The Villas on ground floor were not so lucky. If you are into privacy this is not the place for you. Unfortunately a "political figure" was staying in the next room so when we went to sunbake on our balcony the "Secret Service" were permanently stationed 10 feet away. We ate at the Hotel on the first night and all staff left us alone on the balcony by 11pm. Yep closed bar, everyone went home. So we ventured out the next night, dinner, comedy club, and yes when we got back at 12pm…our hotel was closed. Great restaurants abound in Las Jolla however most venues seem to close at 11pm. If you want a quiet life it is fabulous..

Room Tip: If going for a villa definitely up stairs away from direct access to pool
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindylou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Top Dollar -
I am sorry that your Villa experience did not include privacy - we did indeed have a recent US Governor in house accompanied by numerous staff. I remained in close contact with the team during the week - please know that had you called our front desk with concerns on your privacy and accessibility it would have been quickly addressed. The villas are indeed very private and hence a sought after accommodation of politicians, entertainers and those seeking to escape. We do offer guests our lovely garden steps as an option path of travel but there is elevator to the villas which are in deed "down" as you note. The main entry already places guests on the 7th floor and La V cascades down towards the cliffs of the park and coast line where our Villa complex resides. The ambiance of our unique property is the varied topography, meandering grounds and history of buildings with the Cabrillo wing dating to 1908 and the villas 2000.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us - next time we keep the politicians at bay!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This old hotel has a lot going for it -- historic charm, views of the coast, easy access to the beach, nicely appointed rooms, many with a lovely view. What makes it stand out above other nice hotels was the service and friendliness of its staff. They manage to strike just the right balance of being very ready to help and accommodate the guest without intruding. Even after I checked out at noon and was waiting around all day for my flight, they charged up my computer, kept my web access open, provided directions, fetched drinks, eats and luggage, and offered kindly greetings at every turn. Their warmth and helpfulness made a nice business trip into a real joy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agricolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Extraordinary Guest -
We are in awe of your exceptional review and grateful for our wonderful guests. Thank you very much for the decidedly great comments about our staff who remain our best feature. We look forward to being of service to you again - very soon.
Thank you!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent three nights at the La Valencia, in downtown La Jolla (an upscale relatively small town adjoined to San Diego, a very pretty area and well worth a visit).
We found the hotel through a last minute hotel search program, and so were allocated a less expensive room. It was in the old part of the hotel, and the room was tiny and bathroom even smaller. The bed was very comfortable, and the AC, although a little noisy was efficient. The room was clean and apart from size, very comfortably appointed.

Service was overall very friendly and efficient, a little brusque perhaps in the pool area, but no matter. Valet parking, at $30 per day compares favorably with Boston and Manhattan, and takes a lot of the hassle of finding somewhere, given the draconian parking controls in the town.

The grounds are very well maintained, and the view from almost every aspect of the hotel was exceedingly pretty, looking out across La Jolla bay.

Common areas are quite striking, and worth a cocktail at the bar. We didn't eat there, as the hotel is so close to many options.

Overall, a favorable impression; perhaps the hotel needs some tender care, but they have done a good job with a small building footprint. If you can get th discounted rates, well worth a visit.....

Take the 10 mile drive to San Diego park (just past the golf course) an area with walking trails, four - six miles total, but gorgeous views up and down the cliff shore in both directions, a real treat....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Elegant Boston Guest -
We are pleased that you located La Jolla and delighted that you found a special rate for La V. Like any hotel, we will occasionally offer a few special rates on non peak dates. These special rates are generally for our Vintage category room. These rooms, mainly in the Tower wing ,are about 250 sq. ft with 9 ft. ceilings and euro-style petite bathrooms. At higher rate tiers we have our more spacious Classic room category and to indulge, our Villa room category. All 112 of our rooms were fully renovated in 2013 and the public areas completed early this year.
Thank you for the positive comments on our staff and service - we will ensure that poolside mirrors the rest of your experience!
When you are ready to return, please contact our reservations office directly or check our website as we're always happy to share some great package and promotion offers.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

At La Valencia, I enjoyed outstanding service from all of the employees. Because we visited on a holiday weekend, the bar/restaurant was unusually loud. The next day, I spoke to guest services at the front desk, and she graciously moved us to a new room. And what a room... we were amazed by the view!

I highly recommend spending time at the pool. The view is gorgeous and again, the staff was amazing. The mixologist went out of his way to find an original drink for me that was amazing. It involved grilling pineapples and a sprinkling of hot peppers. Yum!

I do not recommend using the pull-out bed/couch. It was not very clean, and horribly uncomfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the ocean are worth the extra money. Avoid the rooms above the bar/restaur...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zfamilyvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Best of Texas -
I am delighted our bartender worked his magic to make your beverage experience a delight. Thank you also for noting that our staff went the extra mile to change accommodation locations at your request - we do strive to make all our guests comfortable.
Cheers -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I can't say enough about how lovely this hotel is. Although the drive from Malibu to La Jolla was miserable (4 hours bumper to bumper), once we arrived we were in paradise. It was our anniversary, and the hotel upgraded our room. We had a beautiful view of the Pacific ocean & the Cove. We immediately went to the bar where the bartender poured excellent Martini's & Margarita's, and Ruby sang in her sultry tones in the background. The people were fun & friendly, the hotel staff excellent, and the grounds immaculant.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are relatively small - I wouldn't definitely pay the extra money for an...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskatia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Malibu Anniversary Guest -
So sorry about that 4 hour drive but I am very pleased that we delivered a relaxing end to the long trek. . . next time jump on the train from LA to Solana Beach and we're a 15 minute cab ride away!
Thank you for making La V your getaway - we hope you send more anniversaries with us for many years to come.
Ciao -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in a ocean view suite at La V. Although the hotel has many nice features, we would not return.

The hotel is well-staffed, and the staff is capable and responsive. The gardens around the hotel are lovely as is the pool area, and it is situated in the heart of La Jolla, and is thus, conveniently located. We enjoyed all of the restaurants, the service was good, the food was well-prepared.

The hotel is old. It needs to be gutted and reconstructed. We could hear the conversation of the guests above us, and they were speaking in conversational tones. When kids ran in the hallway above us, our room vibrated.

The screens were bent in our room, the windows did not close completely. The rooms have noisy wall unit air conditioners. We never looked forward to returning to our suite, and we paid more than $500 a night for our room. It simply did not measure up.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CitasDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Professional Guest -
First and foremost thank you for sharing your comments - I am very pleased to read the wonderful reviews on our staff's professionalism and attention. I am sorry that your suite experience did not measure up and in all honestly I am surprised with some of the descriptions. We have not had complaints with noise from upper floor rooms or insulation but we can relate to potential hallway noise - I am sorry that neighboring guest interaction was so obtrusive. Our staff does not shy aware from intervention should we learn of excessive room or public area activity.
Although our suite experience was not a hit you may consider one of our very private villas. These are circa 2000 and there are only 4 units in each building - quite private.
Thank you again, if you re-consider a return please call me directly and I can personally make arrangements for a villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
975 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £236 - £569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing