We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Valencia Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$256
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$231
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$349
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$250
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$396
US$352
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Colonial La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$171
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$464
US$441
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Village Lodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
820
262
97
45
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
262
97
45
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink ladywhaling barcafe la ruebeautiful hotelocean viewlobby barbottle of champagnesan diegorooms are smallla jolla covesea lionsgorgeous viewsold schoolthe entire staffan older hotelvalet parkingvalet service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
728 - 733 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We held a lovey brunch in the garden of La Valencia last weekend for 50 guests. What a perfect event. Working with the catering staff, Nikki Sage in particular, was delightful. The buffet was fresh, delicious and perfectly executed, including a mimosa/belini bar, omelette station, crepe station, and a lovely set up to allow our kids to sing to their grandmother. The staff accommodated our every request, were so friendly and responsive. And, of course, there is no better location than the La Valencia. We had a beautiful view of the ocean, and several guests walked to the unparalleled La Jolla Cove after the brunch. We look forward to future family events at La Valencia, and I am now looking forward to a relaxing get-a-way there! Can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank canniegirl252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Perfect Guest -
We adored celebrating with you and can easily tell that 90 is the new 50 - your mother looked amazing! I appreciate the staff recognition especially for Nikki - we're thrilled the surprise went off as planned. La V will be ready to help celebrate 91, 92, 93 and . . . . well you get the picture!
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel was one of the highlights of our holiday. We stayed for only four nights and wished we had booked for longer. Location is great. We loved La Jolla, it's interesting shops and great choice of restaurants in the evening. The hotel itself exceeded expectations ... Rooms were lovely and with beautiful views, the pool area equally good and the service was excellent - so friendly and helpful. Thank you everyone at La Valencia!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JaynieandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Wonderful -
Thank you for dedicating 4 days of your trip to La Valencia; we are delighted that your stay with us was a highlight of your holiday. From 1 day stays to a very special guest of ours who has been staying at La V for almost 30 years - we are honored to be a home away from home for so many.
Have a great summer and we hope to have you back soon.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A wonderful location..Fabulous service..great pool..And the special caring of Michelle in Reservations,made for a perfect 4 days for a cousins Wedding! The entire staff..Housekeeping included were delightful in every way.

Room Tip: This is an old property,and the King rooms were quite small..If I were to make a suggestion,it would be to include "Hooks" for towels,robes..etc.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAG143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Pretty in Pink -
Thank you for making special note of our great staff including the housekeeping team and Michelle our reservations manager - we appreciate the extra kudos. I am so pleased you had a great stay - it sounds like you booked one of our King Bedded Vintage Rooms. These rooms, with 9 ft. ceilings are the most intimate of our three types. Next time ask about of Classic Rooms & Suites or our indulgent Villas - you'll never want to leave!
Ciao -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel in the Sunset Suite with my two teenagers and my husband. It was beautiful. The service was exceptional . The view fantastic . We could walk to restaurants. It was close to several colleges that my daughter wanted to tour

Room Tip: Choose a room above the 7th floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxmollygigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Sunset Suite Guest -
Our team is very happy that you and your daughters enjoyed La V - that view from the Sunset Suite is pretty enchanting! Thank you for choosing our iconic hotel and for allowing our team the opportunity to serve you - we hope to see you again soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Excellent. But the most prominent person Chef Congierge Mrs. Nancy Hirsch the Angel who assisted us with better and better programmes, tipps for shopping and made friendship in company with us.
Thanks

Room Tip: Garden or Ocean wiev
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20,050,809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Stylish Guest -
Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments and for recognizing the exceptional services of our concierge Nancy - she is priceless. Nancy is such an integral part of our drive and passion to serve - she and all of our team are here to make your stay easy.
See you soon -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews