We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Gorgeous views, wonderful room! I know the bathroom was a bit teeny but we loved the room! We had just come from a meeting at a hotel in Mission Beach that was full of screaming children and this was a relaxing treat! Excellent restaurant and room service. Friendly staff!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room higher up, you won't be disappointed. The lobby (street level) is at...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AZworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear AZ Guest -
Thank you very much for sharing your praise of La V. I appreciate the photos you posted of your room - you have our Vintage rooms, cozy and yes - intimate bathrooms (the views from upper floors are wonderful). We do offer 2 other room types with Classic room or Villa for indulgence. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Ciao -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
There are newer reviews for La Valencia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at La Valencia 20 years ago, and it was a magical time for me and my then boyfriend, now husband. Fast forward to yesterday...my Goddaughter is on vacation in SoCal and she took my advice and booked a night at LaV. This trip for her is poignant in that 1 month ago, her mother, my best friend. passed away at age 57 from Glioblastoma - a deadly brain tumor. 3.5 months from Dx to her passing. My Goddaughter needs and deserves some beauty, peace and joy. So....once I found out that she was indeed staying there, I went to work to see if there was anything I could, based on availability of course, to make her stay there even more special. I was NOT disappointed. In-house reservations staff member, Elvia, worked with me to ensure that my GD had the best room possible, and then Concierge Bree, helped me to send a bottle of wine (on the house...btw!!) to my GD's room for her arrival. Their dedication and passion to ensuring that my GD was well taken care of was top notch, and to me, the signs of a well managed team and property. I can't say thank you enough to Bree and Elvia....they certainly did not have to go above and beyond for me, but they took my requests and ran with them! This is the kind of customer care that ensures that I will be booking at La Valencia as soon as I find a reason...or not...to be in La Jolla! Thank you SO much, Bree, Elvia and la Valencia!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Amazing!
WOW - we really appreciate the kudos on our services and our team especially Bree and Elvia - thank you. Team La V is so honored to have such wonderful guests - that makes creating great service comes easy. Thank you again for sharing your comments and please know that we are ready for your return.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were guests at La Valencia from July 14-16, 2014. Our reservations were booked over the phone, not on the internet. WE stayed in an oceanfront villa (#12) which has a fireplace, balcony, jacuzzi tub, and the best shower we've ever experienced. There is a rain head as well as a forceful adjustable shower head.

The location can't be beat. You don't even need a car. Our friends who live locally came over and couldn't believe how terrific it was and said it will be their #1 recommendation to visiting family and friends.

The staff from check-in to valet to housekeeping were friendly and attentive. The grounds, common area and room were immaculate.

Nearly forgot to mention the champagne and beautiful & delicious chocolate dipped strawberries with a lovely, personalized anniversary greeting.

We WILL be back!

Room Tip: Adored the ocean front room. However, if the sound of seagulls or children at play in the park acro...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sjm4oh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Happiness ++++
We love you and love your friends for believing that La V is #1 - that is a honor we respect and are humbled by - thank you.I am happy that your villa experience was enjoyable and yes, agree that seagulls and children in Scripps Park can sometimes be part of package but I am glad the privacy and luxury trappings of the accommodations balanced the mix.
Thank you again - we hope to see you back at La V soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Although it's a bit pricey, the quality of the rooms and how beautiful the hotel was made us feel it was really worth it.

The location is superb-easy access to the beach and to the shops/restaurants, valet parking (although it's quite pricey), beautiful pool with spectacular views of the sea.

Loved it here and would definitely go back in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Beautiful Guest -
BRAVO and thank you from a grateful and gracious team; we are so pleased that your stay and hotel experience earned us a 5 star review. We hope to see you back again and we will continue to work hard to earn your loyalty.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend for a little getaway. Rooms still dated the new bar area looks nice and what they have done with the outside balcony is cool. Unfortunately that is where the changes for the good stop. The fine dining restaurant... cheaply done poor lighting, really mediocre food. We were here earlier this year the room was just as ugly but at least the food was good. Service: nobody anywhere. Could not find a hostess, no server at anytime seemed to know anything about anything. Truly quite ridiculous for a property of this caliber. This place has really went downhill. I miss the old front area. It's really bleak now. The rooms: lighting horrible, air conditioner from 1982 is noisy, we just tried to leave the hotel as much as possible. Needless to say we will not be back. Thank you La Valencia for destroying yourself. Not sure where we will stay in the future. When we decide to stay in La jolla again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mariano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest -
Naturally we strive for excellent reviews so your comments are indeed disappointing. Our team strives to ensure that our guests received attentive service throughout there stay which includes making any necessary efforts to address concerns or needs when we have the opportunity. I apologize if our restaurant staff were not attentive - that is not acceptable to us. I am also sorry that the thoughtful and diligent renovation of THE MED was not to your liking. For your reference we did retain and restore the rooms original period piece wrought iron chandeliers so lighting has not changed. Our guests rooms were all renovated between 2012 - 2013, the first time in the hotels history that all rooms were renovated in one period.
I am truly sorry that your experience did not earn us an excellent score but distressed that your impressions on the guest room & MED décor as well as hostess issues results in as terrible rating - did you let any of our staff know of your concerns?
We will continue to work hard to earn the business of every guest and will consider ways to make your review a beneficial training opportunity.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our room was lovely! It included an attractive sitting area with sofa ,coffee table etc. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were really nice.
The bathtub was large, spa like, and jetted for ultimate relaxation.
The view from our room overlooked the beautiful pool area and behind that the ocean. It was truly breathtaking!.
The staff were always helpful and very friendly.
The food was delicious, we ate there twice. Also, many other restaurants and clubs were nearby.
For a special occasion it is a real treat!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room with a balcony. Also you will be accommodated if you ask for a refrigera...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hapi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Anniversary Guest -
Many thanks for the great kudos and for sharing your experience with others. We recognize that San Diego has many hotel options to select from and honored that La V continues to be the first choice for many over and over and over again. Anniversaries celebrations come every year and La V will be here to help you celebrate!
Ciao,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This lovely hotel seems to have a great personality of its own: charming, stylish and friendly! It's definitely upscale, so I found the service to be on par with the Four Seasons, but certainly a bit less formal. My room was cozy (yes, small), and clean and it featured an amazing terrace overlooking the ocean that was probably as large as my room -- with two lounge chairs and a table with two chairs, also. I spent a lot of time on the terrace!
I suggest asking some questions when you book a room, because it's an older hotel and they have a lot of different types of rooms and options.
It's right in the middle of town, so even if you are not staying here, I suggest going to the lounge for a drink or the restaurant -- they both feature such gorgeous views of the ocean and La Jolla cove, that you might not want to leave. Their famous cocktail, The Pink Lady is light & refreshing!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Stylish & Seasoned Guest -
We are thrilled to be recognized in the same service category of Four Seasons; thank you. Our goal is to craft a personable and genuine hotel experience a la Southern California - we are so pleased it resonated with you.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience - we are most grateful to have such wonderful guests.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Directore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £240 - £569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing